We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, Awesome breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road to your Saves list
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   169 Loop Road, Commerce Township, Novi, MI 48390   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Norton Shores, Michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice, Awesome breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed one night here for a friend's wedding and really enjoyed ourselves. When we arrived it was 3pm, check-in time so the front desk was busy but we were greeted and helped fairly quickly.

Upon checking into our room the first things I noticed were (1) a tie from the last occupant, (2) a broken leg on the bench at the end of the bed and (3) TERRIBLE drapes in an otherwise comfortable and well decorated room. My fiancee loved that the TV was HUGE!

The hotel provided the shuttle to and from the wedding which I thought was great! It was running slightly behind on the way there, but the driver said the bride and groom were aware and would be delaying. If you wanted to come back to the hotel before scheduled shuttle times all you had to do was call, also a great plus! And the driver was extremely friendly and safe.

The next morning we went down to the lobby for a delicious HOT breakfast, they had everything you could ask for which was impressive. We had a swim in the pool, with attached work-out room (looked small, but equipped) and took a nap before the drive home thanks to check-out being at noon!

Should also mention the cleaning staff was extremely friendly when we encountered them. Loved the do not disturb BUTTONS instead of door tags. However, I recommend you bring your own toilitries because the shampoo, conditioner and body wash were all TERRIBLY low quality.

And I can't say much about the location because we only drove there for the wedding and didn't do anything else while in town, except for go to Ikea (15 minutes away!) but it was located in a small complex with nearby Wendy's, Chinese and other small stores/restaurants.

Room Tip: Elevators were painfully slow so I'd request a 1st floor room! Adjoining rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    53
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
94
42
13
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My toddler son and I stayed here for three nights while he attended a local speech camp.

PROS:
Got a great corporate rate!
Beds and pillows super comfy.
Plenty of room with two double beds.
Love the free wifi.
Appreciated the microwave, minifridge and coffee/maker.
Clean, room always well-stocked by housekeeping.
Breakfast not bad!
My toddler slept through both cons below.

CONS:
Wedding party/guests stayed at the hotel over a weekend night. Hotel made no effort to keep their activities to a dull roar. Our room faced the front and center of the hotel, guests congregated under our second-floor window screaming and yelling from midnight-5am. Guess who didn't sleep? Me.
Random wakeup call at 3:21am the second night we were there. Guess who couldn't go back to sleep? Me. Spoke to the front desk about it the next morning and the young woman behind the desk was completely blase about it and didn't even apologize.

Room Tip: Don't face the front/center where the smokers congregate at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
689 reviews 689 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
836 helpful votes 836 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Attended a family event over the weekend with a block of rooms reserved by the party hosts. Walked into the BIGGEST MESS i''ve ever seen. From the moment you walked into the door they were tearing things apart with yellow tape blocking the door way. The noise of the jack hammer working on tile was deafening. Construction dust was everywhere. You could trip on uneven areas on the floor. It even went into the elevators. We were dressing up to attend events and walking through a total constructon nightmare. If I had been told I would NEVER have stayed there. One of our group was on the first floor next to the mess and had to enter the room outside because the hallway was closed to get to their room. They had 2 small kids that needed to nap and the noise was horrible. I told the GM you should have closed this hotel during the construction instead of subjecting paying guests to this mess. Totally inexcusable and a very poor way to run a business. They scammed the hosts of the weekend because they were never told about this beforehand. We complained and received on free night because of the 100% satisfaction that Hampton Inns offer. Didn't cover the aggravation of the experience.

The suite was one large room no divider to separate the bedroom with sitting area. Shower pressure was not strong. Beds were comfortable. Cooling system cycled loudly and distubrbed sleep. If you turned the temperature up one degree it would kick on the heat! Totally messed up system.

Breakfast was nice and plenty of choices. Staff was friendly. Couldn't sit long due to the construction underfoot and the noise level.

Place might be nice once completed, but right now it's terrible and the management of this hotel should be totally and completely ashamed of the manner in which guests were exposed to this construction nightmare!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hampton Inn Detroit/Novi. On behalf of the entire staff at the hotel, we sincerely apologize for the renovation construction of our lobby that began just prior to your arrival. We tried to do all possible to minimize any inconvenience to our guests by making sure the construction equipment did not begin until after breakfast hours and completed by 5 PM. Your satisfaction is very important to us and I’m happy to learn you received a complimentary night stay due to our 100% satisfaction guarantee. We appreciated your comments about our friendly staff and good breakfast. We hope you will consider staying with us again as we would love for you to enjoy the improvements we made to our property. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Cheryl Cox
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and it was very comfortable. The hot breakfast was awesome & the bed was real comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Nice property; very clean; friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was included, very average typical serve yourself small buffet but changed some selections every morning which was nice.
Hallways felt like the building was not strongly built, could feel "give" and heard noises like it was wood sub floors which is unusual in a multi storey newer building.
Price was very competitive, close enough to Novi and lots of shopping and dining.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have stayed their when the power was out in my home. The service is good but the room was not clean and the carpet was dated. Their are better options in that area of Novi.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is a newer hotel and one of the nicer Hamptons Inn I've stayed at. Room were extremely clean, esp. the bathroom, and staff was friendly, courteous, and professional. Internet access was also strong and reliable. The room also came with a microwave and a mini-fridge, which I also appreciated.

I was a little concerned about potential noise since I'm very noise sensitive and the hotel is located on a major intersection. Based on previous reviews, I asked for a room facing the pond and did not have any problems.

There are restaurants within driving distance and a movie theater within walking distance. Target/Meijer and some other stores are about 5 minutes down the road. Easy highway access to get to Tweleve Oaks Mall and other destinations in Novi.

There was a mix-up with my bill during my stay, and the clerk at the front desk was very apologetic and even offered me a $25 gas card for the inconvenience. He wasn't able to resolve the issue and the manager was not available, but I believe he went the extra mile to try to remedy the situation. (And the billing error did get resolved).

Although I stayed here on vacation, I'll keep this property in mind for future business trips as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pond away from the interstate if you're noise-sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road

Address: 169 Loop Road, Commerce Township, Novi, MI 48390
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Novi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Novi
#2 Business Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within just a few miles of our Hampton Inn® hotel in Detroit/Novi at 14 Mile Road, you'll find plenty to do-from the diverse shopping of Twelve Oaks Shopping Mall to golf courses, waterslides and skiing at Kensington Metropark. We are also located minutes away from some of the top companies in Michigan, including the Nissan Technical Center, Ryder, Kroger Company, Jalpak, Farmers Insurance and many more. All in all, we think you'll agree our hotel in Novi is a novel place to live and work. Here at the Hampton Inn Detroit/Novi at 14 Mile Road, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional. Whether you're planning a corporate meeting or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi At 14 Mile Road Hotel Novi
Hampton Inn Commerce
Commerce Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.