We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded my expecations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46080 Grand River Avenue, Novi, MI 48374   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gold Passport Offer
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Novi
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“exceeded my expecations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

You get a pretty decent suite, which is the stand room for this hotel at a very decent price. You won't regret staying here. The hotel is new and very clean; for a person who travels a lot, I don't usually don't have to say good things about most of the hotels. I will stay here in the future, no doubt.

Room Tip: it's not for romance; you'll get a parking lot or a highway view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligia P, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Ms.Anita,

We are thrilled we exceeded your expectations. That is goal we set for ourselves for each guest we serve, and are so happy we did so during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    18
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
7
1
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel was very clean. It was kind of hard to find because it is in the same complex as the showcase. Once you see the sign you have almost pass the entrance. Once you are in the parking lot as well it is still tricky to find just exactly where you should park.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligia P, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience! Please accept our apologies for the difficulty in finding our property. We are currently working on adding better signage, and hope to have it up in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We just came back from 2 weeks stay in Michigan to visit my family, we were set to stay @ the Hyatt Place Novi for the entire duration, but had to check out a week into our stay and move to another hotel.

Let me begin by saying the hotel itself is very nice. It's new, clean, cute and modern. Looks a little different from other Hyatt Places i have stayed in, rooms are a bit smaller, but beds are bigger (for the double beds rooms, they have queen beds, other Hyatt Place has double beds not queen beds), i also like the lay out of the room better with the bathroom being on the "living room" side of the room rather than the "bedroom" side of the room which is the case with all other Hyatt Places.

I have called in the hotel to make reservations (it wasn't done online), told them i have 3 kids and we are staying for 2 weeks. Again, upon arrival, the room was clean and pretty. Breakfast is typical for a Hyatt Place.
We would leave the hotel first thing in the morning and not return until the night for bedtime. A week into our stay and around 10:30 at night, my kids are sleeping, my husband and i are trying to fall asleep, the people staying in the next room to us decide to have a party, coming in and out, slamming doors, horrible, to top things off, we hear this loud crazy barking coming from one of the rooms at the end of the hallway probably dogs were set off by all the noises coming from the party, 20 minutes in, crazy barking, we call the front desk and let them know what's going on, they say they know they have been getting calls about it, they are trying to locate the owner of the dogs, long story short, 40 minutes later the barking stops (this is not like a dog barking at someone, this is like a dog being attacked by someone and barking their tails off), room next door are having a more of a quieter party. It was a tiring horrible night to say the least. The next day we call the manager to see why in the world would they put us on a the same floor as people with dogs when we are staying for 2 weeks with kids and the hotel is a ghost town to begin with and had made my reservations plenty of time ahead.
The manager acted all surprised and she actually said that this is the first she hears about what happened the night before, she said sorry, no offer to change our room to another floor, no offer make it right, nothing, at this point i was really insulted because of the way she dealt with it and told her we would like to check out early, she said she understands and gave us late check out.
This is probably one of the worse customer service i have received at a hotel. The dog barking and party next door not directly the hotel's fault, yes, but, why would you place families on the same floor as people with dogs? Especially when you have the whole hotel empty! The way it was handled later, or the lack of i should say, was very disappointing. Last thing i wanted to do was pack up 4 bags and 3 carry ons and move hotels in that cold weather but i felt like if they don't appreciate my business, then it would be my bad if i stayed any longer.

If traveling with a family, keep in mind that this hotel is connected to the convention center or whatever it's called, but we went during the Xmas break so there were no events or conventions taking place but i would imagine it would be very busy and noisy during such events. Also make sure that you ask NOT to be on the third floor, which is the floor they keep people with dogs (what we learned later), as long as you have no issue during your stay, i'd imagine you'd have a pleasant stay at this hotel because if you do encounter any problem, don't count on the staff or the manager to solve it.

The hotel itself gets 5 stars from me but customer service, not so much.

Room Tip: Ask that you don't stay at the third floor, it's the floor they keep people traveling with d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligia P, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review on your stay. Please accept our apologies for not providing you with the experience you should have received at a Hyatt Hotel. This is definitely not typical for our hotel and are saddened we couldn’t provide a solution while you were with us. If you would like to discuss returning to our property to experience Hyatt Place with the great service that is our standard please contact me at 248-513-4111 ext.5102.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A very nice new, modern, clean, comfortable hotel. The staff were pleasant and offered us a briefing on the amenities on arrival. The room was awesome! A very nice bathroom, comfortable bed, and had a couch in the room which was great.
Unfortunately, on arrival in the evening we drove past the entrance because there is not a lit sign and the sign that is there is much too small to see. The hotel shares the entrance with the Suburban Collection Showcase center and you cannot see the front of the hotel from the road, so look for the Suburban Collection Showcase center and not a hotel. Perhaps Hyatt should add this to the driving directions on the website? A larger and lit sign would have helped and saved us a lot of time.
Our schedule did not let us take advantage of the amenities at the hotel like the pool and the complimentary hot breakfast, but they looked wonderful and wish we had been able to.
We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan, Usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is new, opened in August 2013, and feels new, up-to-date with the latest traveler favorites. The rooms have a living room and a partitioned off sleeping area. Very nice bathroom with a refreshing shower. The bed was so comfortable. The cafe is open 24/7 with a nice choice to get a bite. The included breakfast has lots of choices. The hotel is connected to the Suburban Collection Expo Center and makes a great place to stay for a meeting or planning a weekend to attend one of the many interesting events held there. The staff was very helpful, pleasant and attentive. I received way more than I expected.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is superb! The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and so well decorated. The beds and bedding are comfy and plush. Breakfast is well stocked and has a nice variety.

We stayed here and were part of an exhibit at the attached conference center. It was the ideal place to stay as we were able to walk to the show daily without having to go outside. I'd strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Book this through Hotels.Com. I knew it was close to Tanger in Howell and since we were going for our Annual Black Friday, I thought what the heck.

It was very a dark area and drove by the hotel twice. No signage on the street. Finally found it and we found the Hotel to be an excellent choice. Staff were nice and the hotel was clean.

Breakfast was plentiful and staff provided more food when it was low. The hotel is connected to the mini convention center so if anyone attends a function at the convention center than this is the hotel to be at.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligia P, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept my apologies for difficulty you had finding our hotel. We are definitely taking your suggestions and will be working on getting a larger sign. Although finding us was difficult, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our complimentary am Kitchen Skillet breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi

Address: 46080 Grand River Avenue, Novi, MI 48374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi has 126 guest rooms, and is connected to the Suburban Collection Showplace. The stunning two story gallery area enhances the guest experience while enjoying the relaxing music, aromatic scents and pleasing décor. Complimentary hot breakfast is served daily along with a variety of delicious lunch and dinner items available for purchase 24/7. Hot baked items and prepared sandwiches and salads are always available at the "Grab in Go” counter along with made to order Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.