We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China Cafe Only Gets Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Cafe

China Cafe
24299 Novi Rd, Novi, MI 48375-2403
248-449-4888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 156 Restaurants in Novi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“China Cafe Only Gets Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've eaten at China Cafe more than a few times and it just seems to get better on each visit. Our latest was on a cold Sunday evening and the restaurant was full which speaks to the quality and variety of the food. The Chinese menu is varied from "traditional" to some unusual preparations to Korean. We've sampled many and found them very good, though they tone down the "spicy" dishes for American palates. The noise level is manageable thanks to the sound-aborbing walls. China Cafe is not just around the corner from us, but always worth the trip, particularly if you're in the Twelves Oaks shopping area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great top notch food, much better than average Chinese. It is more on par with PF Chang, but significantly less cost. We had lettuce wraps, General Tao Chicken, and Firecracker Chicken and all were fantastic.
It doesn't look like much from the outside, but he restaurant is very well appointed, nice bar area and tables in the main dining area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Top Pick In The Northwest Detroit Suburbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

China Cafe, just down the road from the sprawling Twelve Oaks Shopping Center in Novi, is our usual destination after a day of shopping. China Cafe is not large, but there is usually ample space without a wait, except maybe on Friday or Saturday evenings ... and then it has a nice bar area to make the wait easier. The menu transcends the usual and leans toward the Hunan and spicy side of Chinese cooking. But they are quite able to adjust the "heat" index for just about any palate. The combination beef/shrimp in a tangy sauce is our favorite. Service is great and friendly and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sanilac, Michigan
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very,very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We often meet family here. Food is good quality and well prepared. We have always been happy with our selections and we've tried just about everything. Definitely not a run of the mill Chinese restaurant! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Better than P.F. Chang's. A bit pricey.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very good quality. Most entrees $ 10-15 and up. Almost all Ala-carte menu, so soup is extra. No rolls served with dinner, only won-ton crisps. The lettuce-wraps were very good. (For a slightly-better price, try P.F. Chang's "fixed" price menu. It comes with lettuce-wraps, soup and a small dessert.) Otherwise, this is a good local alternative to B.F. Chang's and the food might even be a little better. Very busy when we were there. Does not appear to offer carry-out, but not sure. I assume that lunch is a little cheaper.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Cafe also viewed

 

Been to China Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.