We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Answering Your Survey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Detroit Northville

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Detroit Northville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit Northville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20600 Haggerty Rd, Northville, MI 48167   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Score Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Northville
Rio Rancho, United States
1 review
“Answering Your Survey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Above average food. Same old stuff, different day. Price was right, though. Get HBO! Lousy view to parking lot. Front desk clerk was friendly and was clearly eager to please. The TV selection was annoying - had it on local. Did not have local Detroit Free press, but, instead had the McNews - USA Today. When in Rome ... Support local newspapers! Detroit Free Press / News. Bad part was that you couldn't even buy a "Freep" there even if you wanted to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    49
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
27
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are Hilton Honors members and Hampton is our hotel of choice.

The staff from the manager, front desk to breakfast worker were all very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was well stocked.
The fitness room had a nice selection of equipment.

So, why the average rating? Very disappointed with the cleanliness.

When we walked across the room a couple of times in our sock feet, our socks became very dirty on the bottom. I have come to expect better from Hamptons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Lansing
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed for a weekend travel soccer tournament. Staff was friendly at check in and the lobby, although small was fresh and newly painted/decorated. Breakfast options were limited and the hot entrees (scrambled eggs one day, cheese omelet the next) were cold and inedible. Note, there is no outdoor pool, it was too cold to swim. Fortunately, we walked to the Trader Joe's next door for food items and the staff allowed us to keep restaurant leftovers in their fridge which we took home when checking out. Overall, a decent, clean hotel with easy freeway access and shopping and dining options nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We appreciate your feedback and always discuss guest comments with our team to learn and grow. Looking forward to having you as our guest again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've stayed at many Hamptons and comparable hotels during this year and this by far was the top one in terms of service, cleanliness and staff support. I would recommend this site for any staff in the Metropolitan Detroit area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thanks for the terrific review regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our great team. Come see us again soon...safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago northside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a nicely run hotel. Every staff member was friendly and accommodating. All the areas look fresh and clean. The breakfast area has a great employee who makes sure everyone is serviced, ie waffle making. The only negative is the room doors are heavy and unless you hold it while shutting, the door slams loudly. This sound is magnified in the morning when people are leaving their rooms. Its location was perfect for restaurants and grocery stores. It is one of the higher rated hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We're glad your stay was great. Regarding your comment on the doors beling loud, please keep in mind that they are weighted so that they will automatically close on departure. This is for our guests security so that their room always closes all the way when they leave and they don't come back to an open door. I know sometimes it can noisy, but the security of our guests always comes first. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were here for just one night but everything was great. Service was fast and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was just what we needed before getting back on the road. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks so much for the terrific review regarding your stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. Our goal is to provide a home away from home atmosphere for all our guests. Please come and visit us again soon and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

One of the best Hampton Inn's I have stayed in. Great customer service, great breakfast, and 2 of the 5 days I stayed there they had free beer, cookies, Sloppy Joes, and chili! Room wasn't large but was adequate and clean. Same with the bathroom. Nicely decorated as well. Internet worked great and the work desk was nice with plugs conveniently located on the desk. Awesome location with tons of restaurants, shopping (Target, Kohl's, Home Depot, etc...), grocery stores, and convenience stores and the surrounding area was very nice (unlike Detroit). I was very surprised at how nice it was based on the horror stories about Detroit you hear on the news. Once you get out of Detroit proper things change for the better.

Four places I discovered that you may want to check out if you are an outdoorsy person.

1. Drive down the road that goes through Hines Park. The north end of the drive is maybe 10 minutes from the hotel. Gorgeous scenery.
2. Kensington Metropark. Beautiful park with a large lake, hiking trails, paddle boats, and a working farm that you can tour for free and see all the animals. Probably a 20 minute Drive.
3. Nichols Arboretum on the University of Michigan campus. Hiking trails with hills and beautiful foliage located on the banks of the Huron River. Probably a 30 minute drive from the hotel.
4. Heritage Park. Not as big as the previous 3 parks, but a short drive from the hotel and again, amazing scenery. Kids can play in the above ground water park (no need to swim here) and there are quite a few trails, one of which crosses a small river over a wood bridge. Plenty of deer walking around and I believe it has a visitors center geared towards kids. Once you get in it, you would never know you were in a big city.

Downtown Plymouth is a great place to walk around with plenty of restaurants and shops. If you like sports, check out the Ironwood Grill. Great pizza!. Downtown Plymouth is also close by Hines Park.

Room Tip: The walls are soundproof, but the doors do let some sound in. So don't get a room near the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We appreciate your letting other travelers know about the Hampton Inn-Northville and the surrounding area. You're a great tour guide! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit Northville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit Northville

Address: 20600 Haggerty Rd, Northville, MI 48167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Northville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Northville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit Northville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn-Detroit/Northville has 124 deluxe guest rooms and is conveniently located on the southeast corner of Haggerty Rd. at 8 Mile. Within minutes of Novi, Livonia and Farmington Hills and only 7 miles from Suburban Collection Showplace. Downtown Detroit with 3 major casinos, Comerica Park, Ford Field and Joe Louis Arena is only 30 minutes via expressway. Shopping is within 5 miles of 2 major malls. Over 25 restaurants within a 3 miles radius, with choices from casual to fine dining. All rates include FREE breakfast, FREE wireless high-speed Internet, FREE local phone calls, FREE parking and FREE guest social on Tuesday and Wednesday from 5pm-7pm with food and refreshments. HHonors Rewards Program available. ADA compliant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit Northville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit Northville Hotel Northville
Hampton Inn Northville
Northville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.