We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to a number of locations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Detroit Northville

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Detroit Northville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit Northville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20600 Haggerty Rd, Northville, MI 48167   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Score Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Northville
Lake Leelanau, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Convenient to a number of locations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel has the standard Hampton Inn amenities. The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean and modern. This is one of the few Hampton's I've been in that actually has enough outlets for all the electronics with which I travel.

However, the primary benefit of staying here is its central location. If you need to travel to Lansing as part of your stay, Lansing is only a little over an hour away. The Palace at Auburn Hills is about 40 minutes away. Detroit Metro is about 20 miles away. A very large movie complex is within a mile and the hotel is surrounded by restaurants. So, if you need to reach a number of different locations in this part of Michigan, this hotel works well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We truly appreciate the nice comments. Endorsements from our guests mean everything to us! Looking forward to having you as our guest again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    49
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
27
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel was recently remodeled. Solid stay for business. Clean and efficient. The extra outlets they installed on the night stand are very useful. The workout room has newer equipment. I always hope for 2 treadmills but in this case the 1 was available when I needed to use it. The breakfast choices were good. Brand name cereal etc...I don't love the omlette things they offer at Hampton's lately but it is good to have some non-wheat, high protien items. Overall, a good bed with great pillows in a quiet setting make for a good nights sleep. I did have trouble trying to print in the Business Center. Seemed the computer did not have Microsoft Office on it so I couldn't print a Word Doc and badly needed that day. I understand the computer may have been being upgraded, so that may have been the reason.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We are extremely proud of our new renovations and we're glad that you slept well. For your future visits, please keep in mind that we do have Microsoft Work, Excel and PowerPoint on our lobby business computer. If these are not compatible for your printing needs, please don't hesitate to ask one of our Guest Service Agents to assist you. We would be happy to help! Looking forward to having you as our guest again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The staff greet you and treat you as if you are part of the family. The rooms were cleaned to fit our schedule. They are the best trained staff we have encountered and we have traveled throughout the United States and many foreign countries.We will only stay at this hoter when we travel to Michigan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for such a nice commentary on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We so appreciate your taking the time to let other travelers know about your experience. Looking forward to having you as our guest again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family and I stayed here recently, and I have to say...there is much to be desired. The staff was friendly enough, however, the hotel needs some work. The bathroom in the room was not up to my standards, even for a Hampton Inn. There was peeling paint all over, grout around the tub, a huge stain behind the toilet, and mold on the ceiling. There were also a couple of small black bugs on the floor. Even my six year old daughter was mortified! The rest of the room was okay, but the carpet was frayed and they don't have microwaves or a mini-fridge in the room, which is important for me. In the hotel's defense, they are doing renovations, so hopefully that will help. I wouldn't stay at this particular Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I travel a lot for work and while I am very familiar with the Hampton Inn Brand and the service is always consistently great, this group really stepped it up a notch for me. I felt like I was home. Everyone said Hello to me and most of the Hello's I received, I didn't at first know they were employees. The evening social was an over the top surprise as this is not something I have experienced at other Hamptons. The staff was engaging, energetic, pleasant and ever so helpful without even trying.

They are a must stay and I highly recommend if you have a choice - Choose the Hampton Inn Detroit Northville! A 10+ rating from me, I will most definitely choose this hotel every visit I have to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Detroit/Northville. Your experience reflected what our entire teams lives and breathes...great service and a friendly smile! Looking forward to having you as our guests again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Chose this hotel by the reputation of Hampton Inns and its proximitry to the event we were going to that weekend. We were not disappointed. We were greeted very warmly at the desk for check-in. Our room was a king, non-smoking. The bed was very comfortable with great linens. Would have liked bigger pillows. It was spacious and well designed. The Wi-fi was free and the desk area was well lit. There was a full length mirror and flat screen TV. The bathroom had a very nice large, step in shower and the sink area had shelves below to store items. Plenty of drawer space and a nice sized closet. Only thing I didn't like was the bedside lights. They were angled outward and were very bright. I was glad that the lights were bright, but would have liked to change the angle. Every staff member from maintenance man in the elevator, housekeeping, breakfast room staff were friendly, helpful and thoughtful. Saw that I had flowers to take out into the frigid weather and got a bag to cover them without being asked. I really appreciated that foresight.

Room Tip: King size gives good room space. Fourth floor was very nice and quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks so much for your impressions of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We are glad you had an opportunity to enjoy the quality and hospitality we are known for. Please come and visit us again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here whilst visiting the area for an interview for the job that I now have. Whoo! I arrived close to midnight, I think. Whatever time it was, it was the night shift that was settled in. When I came out for... toothpaste I think it was, the night shift dude also gave me 4 kitkat bars. :D He said 2 for you, 2 for the other guest. (There was no other guest, just someone from the company who walked me to my door with my bag.) So there I was, four kitkat bars richer. He also gave me 2 bottles of water from the fridge in the lobby. I checked later, there was no water. gRR... but the night shift guy was nice to me my whole stay. I just didn't bother with the day shift person.
The room was perfectly clean, comfortable and had the amenities you would expect from any 'ole inn. I particularly liked the rolling desk they had besides the regular desk with the phone and lamp. I rolled it right next to the bed and worked whilst sitting on a bed. And lying down to rest my brain. Awesome.
The bath had a bent curtain rail, which for me is one of the marks of a hotel/inn that tries. And it certainly doesn't hurt that they are literally about 100 yards from a coffee shop (Biggby) and Trader Joes.
I never had their breakfast so have no idea what it's like.
I rarely use housekeeping when I'm travelling by myself so can't really vouch for that either.

Room Tip: Night shift is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit Northville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit Northville

Address: 20600 Haggerty Rd, Northville, MI 48167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Northville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Northville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit Northville 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn-Detroit/Northville has 124 deluxe guest rooms and is conveniently located on the southeast corner of Haggerty Rd. at 8 Mile. Within minutes of Novi, Livonia and Farmington Hills and only 7 miles from Suburban Collection Showplace. Downtown Detroit with 3 major casinos, Comerica Park, Ford Field and Joe Louis Arena is only 30 minutes via expressway. Shopping is within 5 miles of 2 major malls. Over 25 restaurants within a 3 miles radius, with choices from casual to fine dining. All rates include FREE breakfast, FREE wireless high-speed Internet, FREE local phone calls, FREE parking and FREE guest social on Tuesday and Wednesday from 5pm-7pm with food and refreshments. HHonors Rewards Program available. ADA compliant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit Northville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit Northville Hotel Northville
Hampton Inn Northville
Northville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;