We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burger and Beer joint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poole's Tavern

Poole's Tavern
157 E Main St, Northville, MI 48167-1619
248-349-1715
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 86 Restaurants in Northville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Novi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Burger and Beer joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

They have other stuff, but for me its a good place to grab a brew and a burger in downtown Northville. I cant think of anything outstanding there, but far from bad too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
240 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a burger and beer, this might be the place. We thought food was pricey considering portion size. Deep fried fish was burnt. Very small portion of French fries. Ordered burger well done and it was pink in the middle. Disappointed because they don't offer a baked fish only deep fried. 4 diners and we all left hungry even though we ate all of our food. Like I said, might be the place for a late night burger and fries but not dinner.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelinklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
244 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I love Poole's Tavern, now even more that there is no smoking. The food is great, the atmoshere perfect, service friendly. Typically grab lunch there anytime I am in the area. Highly recommend

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank myworldexperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice and different place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great service, wide choice on the menu.
Good food, nice outside space

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loki2990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great burgers and patio seating and I'd definitely rate much higher BUT....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

even after years at this locale, management has YET to figure out how to turn a table (i.e., keep things moving.) It is quite frustrating to wait for a patio table for over an hour while watching dinner patrons who finished dining long, long ago continue to occupy the table while ordering cup after cup of coffee or nursing drinks long into the night. We have actually walked out more often then we have stayed to dine because waiting for occupied tables that are simply taking up real estate is quite frustrating. The thing is, there really is no excuse for it. Politely and courteously turning a table is elementary to any experienced restaurant proprietor.
I'm really not sure we have any desire to return.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie_MV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poole's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Poole's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing