We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burger and Beer joint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poole's Tavern

Poole's Tavern
157 E Main St, Northville, MI 48167-1619
248-349-1715
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 80 Restaurants in Northville
Cuisines: Barbecue, Delicatessen, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Novi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Burger and Beer joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

They have other stuff, but for me its a good place to grab a brew and a burger in downtown Northville. I cant think of anything outstanding there, but far from bad too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    30
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
193 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a burger and beer, this might be the place. We thought food was pricey considering portion size. Deep fried fish was burnt. Very small portion of French fries. Ordered burger well done and it was pink in the middle. Disappointed because they don't offer a baked fish only deep fried. 4 diners and we all left hungry even though we ate all of our food. Like I said, might be the place for a late night burger and fries but not dinner.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
190 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I love Poole's Tavern, now even more that there is no smoking. The food is great, the atmoshere perfect, service friendly. Typically grab lunch there anytime I am in the area. Highly recommend

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice and different place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great service, wide choice on the menu.
Good food, nice outside space

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great burgers and patio seating and I'd definitely rate much higher BUT....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

even after years at this locale, management has YET to figure out how to turn a table (i.e., keep things moving.) It is quite frustrating to wait for a patio table for over an hour while watching dinner patrons who finished dining long, long ago continue to occupy the table while ordering cup after cup of coffee or nursing drinks long into the night. We have actually walked out more often then we have stayed to dine because waiting for occupied tables that are simply taking up real estate is quite frustrating. The thing is, there really is no excuse for it. Politely and courteously turning a table is elementary to any experienced restaurant proprietor.
I'm really not sure we have any desire to return.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poole's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Poole's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poole's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.