We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cooking in a humble setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guernsey Farms Dairy

Guernsey Farms Dairy
21300 Novi Rd, Northville, MI 48167-9742
248-349-1466
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 69 restaurants in Northville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Fast Food, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert
Description: Guernsey Farms Dairy has been family owned and operated since 1940. Our products are made using only the finest ingredients. Guernsey's award winning ice cream.Just outside the restaurant is our carry out ice cream parlor. Here visitors can view the 48 flavors that we serve on cones everyday.
Northville, Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good cooking in a humble setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just tried for the first time. Food was good. Service was pretty good as well. Wide variety of items on the menu. The broasted chicken smelled amazing. Nice small place. Prices were reasonable. Was too full to try any of the desserts. They offer a ton of ice cream choices and desserts.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    26
    26
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“fantatic ice cream and good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The ice cream cones bring you in and the chicken will bring you back. Dinners run between $5-$12. The chicken dinner was very good. The store sells dairy products and 1/2 gallons of ice cream. You can get a cone or a sundae to go or sit in the restaurant and relax. Kids have got to climb the rock out front- it's a long time tradition.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Love the Chicken (and the ice cream)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

When we visit Michigan in the summer, we always plan at least one dinner at Guernsey's in Northville. The Broasted Chicken is great, very moist and flavorful. The food here is simple and straight-forward, but always of excellent quality. Of course, the main attraction is the ice cream. Forget the single scoop that is included with dinner. It's really worth it to pay extra for a sundae. I love the butterscotch caramel. Service is always friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My first taste of Guernsey Ice Cream.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My first ever taste of the Guernsey Pint Ice Cream was bought here. I've never head better chocolate fudge ice cream any where. I now only drink Guernsey ice cream and milk bought at my local grocery store. I did not dine here so I don't know about their service or atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A childhood favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I have been going here since the 60's. We loved it when Mom & Dad would pile us in the car and head for a Sunday drive, this often meant a visit to Guernsey Farms, the ice cream is heavenly and I still buy my Guernsey Milk in local grocery stores, definitely a family tradition

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Guernsey Farms Dairy, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your memories, Gio! We're so glad Guernsey is still a family tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guernsey Farms Dairy also viewed

 

Been to Guernsey Farms Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guernsey Farms Dairy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.