We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a lodge atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Bar & Grill

Deadwood Bar & Grill
18730 Northville Rd, Northville, MI 48168-1848
248-347-4353
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 66 restaurants in Northville
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Northville, Michigan, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food in a lodge atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We live in N'ville so we get to the Deadwood several times a year. The atmosphere is cozy with lodge furniture and art (i.e. taxidermy). Service is usually good and the food is always great - even though I cannot get paste the Wild Thang appetizer. I get one as my meal every time for its sampling of roadkill. Kidding, it include buffalo balls. They make a wicked bloody mary that's on special Sunday mornings. (Wicked, get it?) Get a fresh bone for your dog when they're available. This restaurant is one of a "chain" of five that include: Camp Ticonderoga in Troy, The Moose Preserve Bar & Grill in Bloomfield Hills, Beaver Creek Tackle & Beer in Westland and The Iroquois Club Fine Banquets & Catering in Bloomfield Hills. I've been to two now and besides the zip codes, they were indistinguishable - and that's no problem!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    31
    31
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for relaxing Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were visiting friends in Michigan and our Waterford friend brought us here. It was very inviting. In appearance it reminds me of restaurants in Alaska. Our waitress was on the ball! When our friend told her he was lactose intolerance, she was proactive in making sure his food was OK for him. We had the duck tenders appetizer which everyone devoured! The guys enjoyed their venison chili and I loved my chicken and dumplings soup. (Just wish I had ordered the crock instead of the cup!) The burgers were great - we got beef but could have had buffalo I think it was. My husband got a salad. There is an assortment of game on the menu but plenty of other choices too. Our friend told us he had ordered the "Wild Thing" appetizer on a previous visit and loved it. Check it out for a mellow, different experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cosy, comforting dinner on a cold night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our casual dinner here. The rustic charm and blazing fireplace made for a very cosy ambiance on a cold night. Our food was delicious and served hot and the bar served an excellent drink. The service was friendly and prompt.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good satin..casual atmosphere expect a wait on fridays and weekends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The wife had a taste for a good burger and I was starving for some back woods atmosphere. This place hit the spot. Food was great. She did the burger experience while I did the Roadkill platter which was pretty good. The quail and sauce was excellent. All in al not bad at all and while people would call it $$$ I'd say more $$ Drinks were a little pricey but quality mix and content. A small chain of 4 worthy of your visit.Much better than any of the larger chains.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Family Dining or Afterwork Gathering Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Deadwood has a warm and inviting hunting lodge feel when you walk in with antler chandeliers, mounted deer and moose heads and copious wood paneling. The food is excellent quality with generous portions including a good variety of wild game. Try the "Wild Thing" appetizer. The bar side of the establishment has two pool tables that are free to patrons. Also, try the outdoor patio area in spring summer and fall. You can't go wrong at the Deadwood.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deadwood Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Deadwood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.