We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Vino's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Papa Vino's
17107 Haggerty Rd, Northville, MI 48168-9542
248-449-4664
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 69 restaurants in Northville
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portage, MI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Wait staff was helpful and well trained. The food is all Italian. We had 5 hungry travelers on a Saturday night and everyone walked away happy. It's hard to find a place to eat in this town on Saturday night without a wait. We are glad we tried it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    13
    13
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One of our favorite romantic places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food is outstanding. The service is really good. Prices are about what you would expect at an Olive Garden or Bravos. They serve hot freshly made bread as an appetizer, and we always eat too much of it. There is an extensive wine list, if that is something you look for. I generally go for the tri-color tortellini. I have had many other dishes, here and all are tasty. My wife really likes the chicken scallapini. We have not had dessert, but it looks like they have recently upgraded their dessert menu, so I may need to change that.
The decor is nice, a bit dimly lit in the evening, but that is great for dates. The seating area to the south of the bar is separate from the rest of the restaurant, and we find it a bit less crowded and more cozy.
James

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Mi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unlimited soup and salad lunch...Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wow! The salad was on a plate that seemed larger than a dinner plate, and heaped as high as they could get it! I had the Papa's salad which had blue cheese and bacon and was delicious! The soup was great, too! It was unlimited, but I couldn't finish what I had!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Declining; Many Better Choices Available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have visited this Papa Vino's many times over the past several years, and it simply isn't what it used to be. After several months away, we returned for dinner on a Saturday evening. In many ways it looks the same, but I must agree with another reviewer that the place seems dusty and in need of a makeover.

The service is acceptable, but can be very hit-and-miss depending on when you go. It seems to me that the waitstaff itself tries hard, but the kitchen sometimes had a hard time keeping things moving.

As for the food, it's certainly not what it used to be, and seems pretty bland anymore. The bread brought as a starter was warm but strangely tasteless. It serves mostly as a vehicle for the oil, which, although there are herbs in the bottle, seems remarkably bland as well.

I ordered the Chicken Fettuccine, which I used to enjoy years ago for the creamy sauce and zesty pesto sauce. Sadly, this is not what I got this time. The noodles were overcooked, and the sauce was--again, the theme of the night--very bland. Overall, it was a very disappointing meal, despite the efforts of our server, who was quite attentive.

If you are in the Northville area, you will find better Italian at Bravo just three minutes away. PF Changs is also close, as is Flemings. You will be far better off to avoid Papa Vino.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food not very good and very dusty overall not clean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

food not very good did not feel it was quality!! the girl who seated us was not nice at all!! the waitress was very good and friendly, and we felt it was not clean saw dust all over and even the floor was not clean would not return!! was very disappointed

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Vino's also viewed

 

Been to Papa Vino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Vino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.