We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garage Grill & Fuel Bar

Garage Grill & Fuel Bar
202 W. Main St., Northville, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 69 Restaurants in Northville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Garage... is a dining experience on Main Street at the corner of Wing Street in historic downtown Northville, Michigan. The menu is as classic as the circa 1940 service station that is home to Garage.Respectful of the past and stylish by today's trends, the restaurant, the bar and outdoor cafe are visually exciting with great views of the town. A separate "To Go" counter has been created for easy access.An important feature of Garage is the Banquet Room, an 80 seat private room which has a view of an impeccably restored 1930 Ford Model A car that creates part of the overall banquet experience.
Novi, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great potential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The newest restaurant in Northville is still very popular. On weekends you need to get there at 4:45pm (15 minutes before opening) in order to get in for the first seating. The restaurant enjoys a great atmosphere with a great bar area. We ate there twice this week. On the first occasion (Monday night) I order the calimari which was delivered very quickly. It was very good and very moist. We ordered hamburgers for our main course and the delivery was delayed. The waiter kept apologizing and even brought us an extra bread basket. When the burgers arrived they were thick and nicely done. We returned on Saturday night, we got there early and were seatedimmediately with everyone else who arrived for the opening. Having every table in the restaurant seated at the table time, I anticipated slow service. I was wrong. Despite the fact that every table was ordering at the same time, our appetizers arrived quickly and the main course shortly after that. We ordered salmon, lasagna, pizza and tacos. All dishes were well-proportioned but my firend was not impressed with the taste of the tacos although the food was plentiful. Dessert was wonderful as we had cream puffs and chocolate semi fredo. Both were delicious. Although the restaurant was very full with people waiting for tables, we did not feel rushed at all. One detail that needs to be addressed......There are tables set up close to the men's bathroom. When the door to the men's room is opened, patrons can look straight in and see the urinals (and everything associated with that) in the reflection of the mirror. Bottom line...great atmosphere...very good food and a restaurant with a lot of potential

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    19
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place. The atmosphere was unique. The food was really very good. We had Sword Fish in lemon,butter, caper sauce, Potato encrusted whitefish, Firecracker shrimp. It was all very delicious! An evening that was throughly enjoyed. Wednesday at 5:30 was not bad as far as crowds go. Shortly after it was very crowded. I have read the rolls were served warm, however, the rolls were served room temp at our table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun New Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Been here twice and it was great both times. Have heard complaints that it is tough to get in during peak times but if you show up a little later or on a weeknight this is easily overcome. Food is great! Some old favorites and some very unique dishes as well. The decor fits the name and is very creatively done. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had to wait about a half hour for our table, got to enjoy the bar area and all the memorabilia. Our dinner was tremendous, served hot and stayed hot. Nice portions, the Lasagna was very tasty, my wife could eat about half of it. The Whitefish was also very, very good. Salads and sides are extra but they are well worth it, Caesar and House salad, brussel sprouts, just great. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“No reservations for parties less than 6”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Won't be back. We will not drive to Northville if they do not take reservations for parties less than 6. Went there party of 5 and were told 2 hours to wait. Well, that left us with nowhere to go and wait till 9:30pm so will never venture there again. Looked like a nice place though, but I am not the type to stand in the doorway for 2 hours. Everything was closed around there and it was snowing outside so we left and drove to Ann Arbor and had a wonderful meal. Take reservations and then we would try again if not I feel you will only service large parties or people that live close by.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garage Grill & Fuel Bar also viewed

 

Been to Garage Grill & Fuel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garage Grill & Fuel Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.