We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Theater” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tipping Point Theatre

Tipping Point Theatre
361 E Cady St, Northville, MI 48167
(248) 347-0003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 attractions in Northville
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
N Myrtle Beach
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Local Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I enjoyed it enormously. Small theater that makes you almost feel like you are part of the play. My only regret is that I'm not in town more often. I'd catch every event there if I could.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Small Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Small, intimate theatre in the round. Good productions. Located in beautiful Northville and within walking distance of great restaurants.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Theatrical integrity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The work produced in this charming facility is first-rate. Intimate seating in a versatile space that can go from black box to proscenium in minutes. An inviting setting with front garden and lobby where in good weather patrons can await the house opening. A rotation of photos streams on the inside lobby wall. Once seated, with the house lights dimmed, you'll be treated to some of the sharpest acting you'll see in any theatre, regional or otherwise. A mix of Actors' Equity and non-union professionals who deliver with intelligence and elan. Haven't been disappointed yet. If you love live theatre, hie yourself to Tipping Point. Most recently saw The Cemetery Club (playing through June 17th.) Uniformly polished cast hit every note in this hilarious, poignant, and wise play, where comedy drapes like skin over a framework of loneliness and loss. Standing O, matinee, well deserved.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very intimate professional playhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Small theatre, roomy comfortable seats all with great views of the stage. Seating on three sides with small stage in the center. A good value. The acting and production are always top-notch with about 6 productions a year. As with any show, some are not appropriate for young children. Location in downtown Northville also a plus, several restaurants and bars within walking distance. Free parking.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipping Point Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Tipping Point Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipping Point Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.