We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tirama Su

Tirama Su
146 Maincentre, Northville, MI 48167-1562
248 735-0101
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 70 Restaurants in Northville
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
northville mi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had a wonderful experience and the food was amazing. We ordered the lemon chicken the veal shank. I definitely recommend the veal shank. I can assure you that i will be going back real soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    10
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, ok food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Everything is ala carte here. The way they ask you about soup or salad makes you think it included. My wife had the salad and it was ok. The dipping oil for bread has vinegar in it. Maybe a difference between northern and southern Italy, but I prefer without. Meals were a little small and average in taste.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“If you have a coupon or discount, be prepared to feel like a criminal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have been to this restaurant many times. The food has ALWAYS been great! Everything is made from scratch. Their soups, sauces, dressings....it's all great. Their menu has lots of options with reliably large portions. Given that all dinners include salad, bread and pasta (if it's a meat, poultry or fish dish) their prices are very fair.

It's their customer service that keeps this place from obtaining and excellent rating in my book. It's inconsistent. Some servers are very good, and don't seem to last while their most seasoned staff tend to have a nasty uninviting attitude.

Several years ago I lived in the apartment building directly above where this restaurant is located. As a gift from someone I knew, they gave me many restaurant.com certificates (which never expire) to use at this restaurant. The one time I tried to use a certificate directly from my phone they refused to honor it, despite the website stating they would. Other times they accepted it but the process of verifying it made me feel as if I was attempting to pass a counterfit bill. This is all for a $10 off deal!

If you hit it right and get an excellent server, your experience will be terrific. With so many other restaurants in the area and the limited time we all have, I would say that you will probaby do better going elsewhere. No matter how good their food is, being treated poorly ruins your entire meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tirama Su in Northville, MI..Outstanding Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Dinner Aug 4, 2012, my wife & myself. Extensive menu & wine list. Excellent service. Great presentation and not skimpy on servings...a lot of food per serving. Downtown Northville, MI & easy parking. Recommend Tirama Su.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Glad to find Tirama Su”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were so glad to find this lovely Italian restaurant in Northville. Not only was the food amazing and home made Italian, our server, Nancy, was wonderful and attentive. This was the best food and service we had during our Michigan visit. We started with the mushroom appetizer, stuffed with crab. Fabulous! Our ceasar salads were delicious, very large and full of goodness. For the main course, I ordered "Nancy's favorite dish" the Chicken Cremosa which was absolutely divine. It was lightly breaded served with the most wonderful cream and lemon sauce with homemade pasta on the side. Wow!!! My husband had the Penne Marimonte which had marina sauce with sausage and peppers. He loved it. If you want real Italian cooking and excellent service, this is the place for you!!! We cannot wait to come back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tirama Su also viewed

 

Been to Tirama Su? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tirama Su, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.