We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Find in Northville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Table 5

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Table 5
126 E. Main Street, Northville, MI
248-305-6555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Table 5 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Northville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Center Street
novi,mi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Find in Northville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

There's a cozy feel when you enter by the bar where I had a lovely Lemon Drop Martini. We sat at the "kitchen table" which is an elevated booth between the bar and kitchen. It was quieter than the main dining room that is both contemporary and cozy with it's brick walls and bold art.

Our server was perfectly attentive, not hovering but there when needed. The food was very very good. We had mussels as starter, and scallops, panko crusted halibut and the filet as entrees. Everyone cleaned their plates.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“A Northville Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What was until early 2008 the very popular brick-walled café, Mackinnon's of Northville, is now the home of 'Table 5', opened in late 2008 by Mishelle Lussier and her husband, John. While I was very sad to see proprietor Tom Mackinnon's place closed, 'Table 5' get a '5 Star' applause from my tastebuds!

This was our second time at Table 5's center-of-town bistro, and despite it being a 35 minute drive from our home, this little Gem will be frequented in the future! When we arrived, we were shown a four top in the middle of the small dining room; I noticed an empty table by the window, and inquired of the hostess if we might sit there instead. (This was in fact the very window table where my wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary, ten years ago, while at Mackinnon's.) Our guests had not yet arrived, and after the hostess checked with the manager, we were very courteously seated at the preferred table. Our server, Jeff, introduced himself and had splendid full martini's in our awaiting paws within minutes! When our guests arrived, Jeff again had them served with libations, and with my request, we were allowed a pleasant 'chill' time with several memorable 1st courses, before ordering entrées.

The wine list is not very extensive, however when I asked about a listed Clos Du Val Cab, Jeff noted that he had several other bottles not noted on their wine list. He then brought to the table a CDV Stags Leap that was off the charts delicious - and at a very reasonable price mark for an eatery.

We each ordered different entrées, including Filet, wild caught salmon, sea scallops, and lamb shank. My salmon presentation looked like a piece of art, and tasted equally marvelous; moist yet firm, with the skin removed, and (with apologies to my dear mother who claimed such a term was redundant,) absolutely no 'fishie' flavor. Absolutely brilliant! And every one else at the table expressed total gastronomical satisfaction over their choices.

The restaurant itself is quite small and cozy, with the bar scene on one side of a separating brick wall and the fine dining on the other side. Prices overall are very reasonable, especially in consideration of the culinary preparation and overall quality. Kudos to Chef Brandon Wolschleger! Table 5, you are indeed a Northville Gem!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great birthday dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Four of us ate at Table 5 for my birthday. The service and food was fantastic. The restaurant is cozy and comfortable, but a bit warm for my taste. They could turn the heat down a bit :) Every table was full and we also enjoyed a drink in the bar. If you don't get a seat in the bar, there really isn't any room to enjoy the drink before being seated. This isn't their fault, just the structure is limiting for the popularity of this nice restaurant!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Place and Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is my second time at Table 5. Nice and cozy with tables that overlook downtown Northville. Fairly small menu, but it has something for everyone. The service was very attentive and the place filled up fairly quickly on a Friday evening. Waiter was abreast of the menu and explained all of the "fancy" labeling. Food was good, but not great. Prices a bit high for the amount given, but it's Northville.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place is hopping!!!!! Every table full, bar overloaded, hostess turning people away. Happy and high energy place. Friday night. Party of 6. Superior service: friendly and accommodating. Menu is not large, but something for everyone. Each item detailed is exactly how it is served...you clearly know what you are getting. The bread is served warm with two choices of custom mixed, gourmet butter. Our table had the fish special and spaghetti squash "pasta".......delicious! Salads are crisp and flavorful even without the dressing: pears, pine nuts and prosciutto...wow!!!! Butterscotch apple cobbler and berry bread pudding were fabulous desserts. Wine was wonderful. Mixed drinks were definitely mixed by a skilled bartender.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Table 5 also viewed

 

Been to Table 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.