We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zellar's Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Zellar's Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zellar's Village Inn
7540 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868 (Formerly Super 8 Newberry)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Newberry
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is not what we expected for the price. The room was dingy and old. The toilet seat looked like it had been around forever....it was stained and discolored. The lighting was very dim....probably so you couldn't see how dirty it truly was. There were several smashed bugs on the walls. We were very disappointed with the whole situation. I guess this would be okay for hunters or fishermen, but we like a very clean room and it was not up to our standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    1
    4
    8
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed one night at Zellar's. It was a comfortable and clean motel. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and had no complaints. This motel is acceptable if you are looking for a clean, quiet place to stay and aren't looking for any frills.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Nice folks, good food and service. Ate at the restaurant. Did not stay in the motel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

While the first person we encountered was polite and the building looks new, there is a lot that has been neglected.

The bedding is old, stains on the pillows and saggy mattresses. The room still smells like cigarette smoke, from when smoking was allowed. We were going to try out the hot tub, both the pool and hot tub were cloudy and the hot tub was not hot. When we told the gentleman at the front desk, all he said was that the maintenance man was coming tomorrow.

The front desk person was very helpful in acquiring us a wine key and the breakfast that was included was filling.

The "in room" wifi only works in the lobby.

The vale compared to the price paid does not add up. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I was very disappointed because of the misleading sign in the front of the hotel that has "Super ___ Hotel" sign for once being a super 8 hotel in the front. The building is rotten, falling apart from the restaurant to where the place is run down dirty, and the food was extremely poor to the hotel with the 1" gap at the bottom of the door. My family could hear stomping and banging into the late evening, loud music, and partying. We complained to the girl at the front desk, to not get any silence, we were going to complain again however other guests were lined up complaining as well.. From my understanding the hotel is a local party spot where it is normal for people to group up and get a room. The pool was run down, the water was cloudy and the room stunk of urine. And dogs were in the building, my youngest is allergic to animals. It would have been nice to know. Atleast the kids could enjoy coffee with a muffin in the morning, since juice or water were not optional. Again, keep driving south on Newberry Avenue and stay at the Comfort in. The food is fresh, a full breakfast, and the room and hot tub are clean. Plus, professionals that take pride in customer service with reputation not allowing the building to be a party spot for locals. Additionally, the parking...no lighting and unpaved with hugh mud holes. Not parking security, assure your vehicle has a car alarm if you do stay there. I should have taken photos, demand to look the place over prior to paying.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed at Zellar's from August 17 - August 20 (2007) The rooms were very clean and comfortable. . .quite different from when this was a Motel 8! The accomodations included 2 queen size beds and even had free of charge both a microwave and refrigerator. The inside pool area was busy and everyone was really enjoying their stay here. We were pleasantly surprised with everything here since the motel, and Newberry in general, was very busy due to the U.P. Fire! We would definitely stay here again since it is a great place for the money!

NaplesFla

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zellar's Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zellar's Village Inn

Address: 7540 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868 (Formerly Super 8 Newberry)
Location: United States > Michigan > Newberry
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Zellar's Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zellar's Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.