We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oswald's Bear Ranch

Oswald's Bear Ranch
Highway H-37, Newberry, MI 49868
906-293-3147
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Newberry
Attraction details
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was glad that we went, but I won't be adding this to the list of things to do every year. I was hoping to be able to pet the bear cubs, but after seeing it was $10 decided not to. We spent a good hour walking around the property though.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    55
    23
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

It's a good stop if your in the area I would strongly suggest stop if your in the area don't make it a point to go. It's not far from the falls so if your headed there stop in

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oswald's Bear Ranch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Oswald's Bear Ranch was a total waste of time. Their brochure advertises and shows visitors on the ground holding bear cubs. If that were true, the $20.00 per vehicle spent would be well worth the price. $20.00 got us into the ranch. Another $10.00 got us a group picture with a cub sitting on a chair taken with my own camera. We had to wait until the owner handed me a spoon with what looked like fruit loops. Once the cub started eating the cereal, we could place our hands on him or her. Once the spoon was emptied, we were to remove our hands and exit the cage immediately. They had a couple of other caged areas -- one which held the boars, another held the sows while another held older cubs. All in all, not worth the 2-hour drive from our cabin in Brevort, MI, and the $30.00 we spent for literally not more than the 20-minutes we were there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice bear ranch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We took a drive over to the bear ranch from our cabin in Paradise because it sounded so interesting. It was a nice surprise when we got there-not sure what I was expecting. It was a little further of a drive than I thought it would be. It was very interesting to see the bears at the different ages that they have. I thought the entrance fee was a little high for what you saw-although you do not see bear everyday. The cubs were adorable and the older bears were cute as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Over the Moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was and still am over the moon in love with these bears. It was so awesome to pet a cub bear. She was so cute

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oswald's Bear Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Oswald's Bear Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oswald's Bear Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.