We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
12956 State Route M-28, Newberry, MI 49868   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Pakenham ON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel is over priced given the facilities and services provided. The rooms were nothing special and the pool / spa were just OK. The continental breakfast was pathetic, we took a look at it and left. The dining choices nearby is limited, so for any variety one would have to go elsewhere. It would be OK if it was 20% less.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
14
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for five days while in the U P of Michigan, and even though it takes a while to get anywhere in the U P, because it's so dense with wild land, this was a convenient location. The only caveats to keep in mind are: there are very few King rooms and they fill up quickly. This is nice; however, because no families are allowed in the King rooms and they're in the far section of the hotel - nice and quiet. There are no balconies, so if someone smokes, you have to go outside. The place is pretty old, but they keep it clean. The room coffee is pretty bad, though. :) For the money, it's a pretty good value - they have an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. There is a good restaurant right next door for lunch or dinner, and down the road you can get more delicious food and sundries. All in all worth it for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Pay attention to the criticisms in the other reviews of this hotel. They are accurate. The worst part of this hotel are the beds. I can't remember the last time I slept in a bed this uncomfortable in a hotel. The furnishings and linens are very low quality. The breakfast bar is a joke. Powdered creamer for the coffee?? Come on, even my dentist does better than that. No orange juice, not even any milk for the cereal. They aren't even trying. On the plus side, it was relatively clean and the hotel is easy to find. This hotel is definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We paid $87 for the night including all taxes and I found the hotel to be pretty decent. The only issue I saw was with the bed sheets and the blankets. The blankets looked faded and the beds were way too stiff. For a night's stay, I would recomment this hotel, not if some one plans to stay for a longer period.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Loved our stay! Newberry has very little in the way of hotels/motels and we really appreciate the accommodations made available to us! Comfortable-firm beds, very clean rooms, and a very nice pool/hot tub. It's a family run business, so minimal but very friendly staff. Very small breakfast options, but again, its very well priced for accommodations offered, and there are several small diners in town that offer some delicious alternatives. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Check in was smooth, the room was not only clean, but spotless! The staff was friendly and very helpful. There was a hugh back yard to walk our dog, which was great to get some exercise after site seeing in the car all day. Thanks Irene for you helpful and great attitude.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were looking for a cheaper place to stay than the Comfort Inn in Newberry where we usually stay as we literally only sleep there and spend the rest of the weekend with family at a cottage (without enough beds!). This place was a significant savings. But, as the saying goes, you get what you pay for! Complementary breakfast was cereal, toast, juice and a few cinnamon rolls that were cut in half. No tables to eat breakfast on-had to carry breakfast back to the room. Rooms clean. Mattresses on the firm side. Quiet. Nice pool (Comfort Inn doesn't have one). Staff friendly. Nothing fancy and it served our purpose just fine.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country

Address: 12956 State Route M-28, Newberry, MI 49868
Location: United States > Michigan > Newberry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.