We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
12956 State Route M-28, Newberry, MI 49868   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“basic accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were looking for a cheaper place to stay than the Comfort Inn in Newberry where we usually stay as we literally only sleep there and spend the rest of the weekend with family at a cottage (without enough beds!). This place was a significant savings. But, as the saying goes, you get what you pay for! Complementary breakfast was cereal, toast, juice and a few cinnamon rolls that were cut in half. No tables to eat breakfast on-had to carry breakfast back to the room. Rooms clean. Mattresses on the firm side. Quiet. Nice pool (Comfort Inn doesn't have one). Staff friendly. Nothing fancy and it served our purpose just fine.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swartz Creek, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The horror began when we were trying to check in several rooms. Even though they knew we were coming they had one clerk and the computer crashed. Check in took forever. You had to use a room towel at the pool then exchange it for a dry one and walk back to your room wet. The beds were HORRIBLE. I woke up with a headache! The breakfast was very minimal and served in a hallway with no tables to sit down at and my son got nothing because he went down a couple minutes after nine. But the worst part was at checkout. My daughter was chewed out because she hadn't told them that she had a child in the room. She was lectured about fire codes when we were NOT asked at checkin how many were in each room. Then when I complained, the clerk tried to justify the lecture!!!! Then my brother told them that one room's air conditioning didn't work and he was told that it was okay because it wasn't that hot!!!! We all used our air conditioning that night. This hotel charged almost as much as Comfort Inn down the road but they were too booked to take us. For the money we spent I would have preferred to sleep in the car!!! DO NOT STAY IN THIS INN!!! YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The hotel is very clean, well kept and comfortable. Priced well also. The check in lady apparently was having a bad day, but everyone else we met was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

This is a little gem in the wilderness. Newberry doesn't have a lot to offer in the way of hotels/motels so this is a little gem in the wilderness. It's on the highway but our room was very quiet. Very clean and comfortable. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The complimentary breakfast was great. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we are in the Newberry area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Americas Best was my last stop on my trip around the UP. Being the tail end of fall color season, there wasn't much going on around town. The Inn is very well maintained and has good security and a well-lit parking lot. The pool and hot tub were a nice treat after a week of hiking. Continental breakfast was good! Good value for $62 (the most expensive stay of my whole trip!).
For Newberry being the "moose capitol of the UP" I never saw a moose ;)

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stopped here for one night on our trip around the UP. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We had a smoking room with a king bed and whirlpool. The whirlpool was a relief after hiking and driving all day. There are not many restaurants nearby but we did drive about 15-20 minutes and ate dinner at Timber Charlie's(?) We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monee, Illinois
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I stayed here one night on July 11,2009. Located in the town of Newberry, it looks like a fairly new motel. It's a two story with elevators. Check in was simple and the motel staff were friendly and helpful, actually calling a restaurant in the area to see if they were still serving food. My room was very clean including the carpet, bath and beds.The shower was powerful. The motel has an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Free basic breakfast included with your stay. Plenty of secure parking and well lit. Not many restaurants close by though. The closest being a McDonalds 1 mile away.
I'm glad I chose this place to spend the night and would recommend it to anyone passing thru the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country

Address: 12956 State Route M-28, Newberry, MI 49868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.