We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great but hotel is nothing to write home about.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
13954 State Hwy M-28, Newberry, MI 49868   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Metro Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Location is great but hotel is nothing to write home about.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Location is a plus here & makes up for some negatives, since it's a wonderful surrounding area to explore including Tahquamenon Falls & wonderful Shipwreck Museum at Whitefish Point. Hotel was a bit pricey. We had clean, spacious corner room on 2nd floor. But bathroom was like an after-thought..everything crammed into one very small room, definitely a one-person space. AC in room was very noisy. Fortunately we didn't need to run it. New flat screenTV offered few channels, always a disappointment. Room had fridge & microwave. Beds & linens were OK & we slept well so that was a plus. Breakfast fare was pretty standard. Pizza Hut just across the parking lot was handy since hotel is located 3 miles out of Newberry Not a lot of choices to choose from in this area so hotel was full both nights. Overall OK for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are sorry to hear you stay was not all you were hoping for. Our bathrooms are a little small and unfortunately we can do very little to change that but we are happy to know the rest of your stay was nice and you did have a good night. The breakfast is complimentary and we hope you filled up before heading out on the road. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
31
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Joseph MO
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because I have always felt that Comfort Inn treated their customers good. Our stay for one night was uneventful until we left the hotel the next morning. We had parked our motorcycles near a rear door out of the way of others in the parking lot. As we readied to leave, a truck pulled in and blocked us from leaving. A man got out of the truck and refused to move saying "I am the laundry guy and you can wait until I leave". We informed him that we would gladly move as we were leaving anyway and he refused stating again "NO you can wait for me to get done" and walked away. I did call Tom the manager of the hotel to inform him of this rude encounter with his contractor. While he apologized, all he did was offer a $20 off on our next stay in his hotel. I really expected better of Comfort Inn. DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL! They do not care about unhappy customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I had called ahead to make sure they had a gym and was told yes they did, They had a treadmill and other items to use. I had to go to the front desk to get the key for the gym. The gym ended up being a hot little room (about 80 degrees) with no air that had a old broke Equipment No treadmill. The bed was clean but the air freshener was strong The person at the desk was not helpfull at all, It was a waste of money would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We wholeheartedly apologize for the mis- information you received. But in response to your review we now offer certificates to our local wellness center for anyone who stays with us and is not content with our equipment. As for the heavy perfume smell, we realize it can be quite strong to some people. We offer an in room air purifier for those who may not appreciate our air freshener. We welcome your reviews as a way to help us provide a more comfortable stay for each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

We where able to get one last snowmobile ride in for the year! Breakfast was GREAT !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for helping us finish out the snowmobile season in style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We got the last room the night we came here. Breakfast had waffles and toast as well as yogurt and other nice things. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly, computer in the entrance hall for you to use. Internet was not working at all, which was annoying, though it was working in the entrance. Little pricey at $100 as there isn't much around

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Rooms are ok,strong air freshener smell in the room, small bathroom. Internet was down for the 2 days that i was there. Beakfast was basic.Very friendly staff. It's an older Comfort Inn. There are many small motels in Newberry, i may check them out on my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Room, location, check-in were all OK. Breakfast was below average primarily due to Hot Dishes (Eggs, and Biscuits and Gravy were terrible).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 13954 State Hwy M-28, Newberry, MI 49868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Newberry
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Newberry
Newberry Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.