We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hospitality - a real haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halfway Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halfway Lake Resort
Save
You added Halfway Lake Resort to your Saves list
16878 County Road 505, Newberry, MI 49868   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“wonderful hospitality - a real haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed here on the back of the reveiws previously written and were not disapionted. We emailed in advance and the owner swiftly replied and did all she could to accomodate us. The place is a little hard to find so take note of the directions well! But once there it is heaven - so peaceful. The Lake is beautiful and there is a host of wildlife including eagles nesting nearby. Canoes, kayaks and boats are available to borrow free. The Lodges are very clean and comfortable - we had one with a lake veiw and two bedrooms. There is a little kitchen off the main room with comfortable sofa and dining table. The bedrooms both had a double and single in. The location is perfect for visiting several of the nicest areas in eastern U.P. and Newberry has a good supermarket and plenty of smaller shops, restaurants and bars, although we didn't eat out whilst here. Wireless internet is available in the office but is weak at best in the lodges. The welcome we received was absolutly wonderful and our only regret is that we are very unlikely to be able to return given the distance from our home!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, MI.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We weren't familiar with the area and contacted Rick Capagrosa(sp) the editor of the Great Lakes Pilot for some recommendations and Halfway Lakes Resort was the first one I called. Muskallonge Lake State Park was having an Agate exhibition and we wanted a place to stay that was clean, close, and comfortable. Plus, we had originally planned on taking our little dog as dogs are allowed here (with restrictions) but we decided we would have more freedom without her. We could have gotten a cheaper room right in Newberry but I'm glad we stayed with our first choice. For other people not familiar with this area, the closest restaurant is 12 miles and I would have brought meal preparations had I known. Our cabin was well equipped for cooking .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.E. Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

When planning our trip the the U. P. of Michigan, we set our sights on Newberry because of it's central location. Since we had never been to the area, I contacted a few of the "chain" hotels for pricing and information. Then I stumbled across a link to the "Halfway Lake Resort" website. It looked and sounded terrific - clean, beautiful scenery, friendly atmosphere. I decided to call and found the price was VERY reasonable. We are so glad we decided to make Halfway Lake part of our vacation. Although we had many destinations already planned, Delane had other suggestions for us. Sometimes it was just a stop along the way. She and her brother (who happended to be visiting from FL) were very kind and always helpful but never nosey. Canoeing the lake each morning before venturing out was a wonderful way to start our day. The lake and surrounding property will take your breath away (and any stress you wanted to leave behind)!
We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin. It had a kitchen, bath, and living area. Towels, sheets, blankets etc. were all provided. It was VERY clean. Not just the kitchen and bath, but the carpet and furniture as well. Nice job, Robin!
We hope to come back for a longer stay in the spring and have already recommended "Halfway Lake Resort " to friends, co-workers and family. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

The Hosts were very helpful with showing us where to find fun/ touristy things to do around the Upper Peninsula. The lake and surrounding property was beautiful and we loved the peace and quiet. The location was perfect. There was a lot of driving that we had to do to get to the things we wanted to see, but none of us minded because the scenery was so amazing. The little town of Newberry is right in between Sault St. Marie and Munising so we were able to take in the "Soo Locks" and "Pictured Rocks" on our vacation. The cabins each have their own kitchen and bathroom so we had our own space all to ourselves. Having 2 separate bedrooms in the cabin was a plus! The kids loved playing on the play scape and kept very busy all week long.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Some friends and I reserved a cabin after seeing the website. We were wondering if it would be all that the website claimed. It was more!! We all absolutely loved it and are already planning a trip back. The cabins are very clean and well furnished. Everything was well maintained and the owners could not be more friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful location and there are plenty of canoes and kayaks, and other equipment for guests use. We will defintely be returning!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — It was a little difficult to find.
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Cabins – Very clean, neat furnishings, queen beds, two bedrooms, TV, full kitchen with pots, pans, etc. Bathroom has lots of storage, with clean, hot showers. Dog friendly and they have 3 onsite dogs that kept our dog company. You have to have cash or check – no credit card for payment.

Snowmobiling – great location for getting on the trails north of Newberry. Sometimes Newberry gets way overused, so being a little north works great.

Parking – lots of parking available for your truck and trailer where you are not crammed.

Location – close to everything in Newberry by car. Lots of other things to see in Eastern UP like : Tahquamenon Falls, White Fish Point, Curtis Winter Fest, Lake Superior, Grand Marais and lots more.

Doug and Delain are great hosts. If you are looking for a party place, this is not it. Very family oriented. We enjoyed our stay and like to settle in at night instead of having to bundle up and go out to eat. Same for breakfast. We eat a quick breakfast at the cabin, so we can sled all morning. Other sledders are always friendly and share ride info. Our neighbors even shared their breakfast with our dog!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halfway Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway Lake Resort

Address: 16878 County Road 505, Newberry, MI 49868
Location: United States > Michigan > Newberry
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned resort in the heart of the great waters of Michigan's Eastern Upper Peninsula. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halfway Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.