We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowmobiling in the UP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halfway Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halfway Lake Resort
Save
You added Halfway Lake Resort to your Saves list
16878 County Road 505, Newberry, MI 49868   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Snowmobiling in the UP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Josh & Nicole,
Thanks for your hospitality. Everything was exactly what we were told or better. Hot tub was a great ending or start to our day. It was nice to usually catch up with you every evening to have you ask about our day or if there was anything we needed. Your cottages were perfect for a group of guys for a week of snowmobiling. Looking forward to bringing my family back for a wonderful stay. Ideal location to hit the trails. Rarely did we ride the same trail twice. Very convenient for gas & drinks. Trail reports from Nicole before our trip were greatly appreciated. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tower, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent one night at a cabin at this resort. Most of the other guests were snowmobilers. We came to enjoy the snow and quiet. Our cabin was equipped with 2 double beds and 2 single beds, (noe very comfortable) a couch table and 4 chairs and rocker. The tv was perched on top of the fridge. The cabin was cold when we arrived so we turned up the thermostat. When the furnace kicked in it was LOUD! We could not carry on a conversation while it was running. and in order to keep the temp at 68 it kicked in a lot. It was quieter in the bedroom, but also much cooler. We spent only one night rather than 2 as freezing rain was predicted. This would be an amazing stay in summer. Our cabin looked out over a sweet little lake and they have boats and canoes and kayaks avail;able for free for the guests. It is a beautiful setting and would be a great place for the clientele they seem to attract. But for a quiet romantic couple of nights maybe not.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Some friends invited me to join them on a snowmobile trip to the UP and I'm glad I went. The cabins were as neat and clean as other reviewers have noted and they are what they are supoosed to be- a nice, clean place to sleep while you enjoy the outdoors. We rented sleds from Picklemans and mine was one that was staged at the resort while the others rented theirs from Pickleman's place in town.
Having the sled there at the resort meant that all I had to do was drive to the resort, ride for a couple of days and leave the sled where I found it. How much easier could it be? We rode about 400 miles in 2 days, saw some beautiful scenery and had a blast.
Josh, Nicole and Co. have a really good grasp on customer service and run a nice operation. I would highly recommend the resort no matter the seaon as there is plenty to do regardless of the season.
We are already in for next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Owner at Halfway Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for posting your review. We are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness and you found our onsite sled rental convenient. We are even more happy to hear that your vacation was the most fun you have had in a while and you are willing to recommend us to your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Josh and Nicole exceeded my expectations again...Clean and comfortable rooms, stove, toaster, microwave, coffee maker, full size fridge and LOTS of snow...who could ask for more! Parking areas plowed. Laid back and accomodating.

Room Tip: Cabin 6 accomodates 6+, 2 bunk beds with a queen in each room. Newly built screen enclosed porch.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Owner at Halfway Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Tony-
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found it to the resort clean, laid back, and accommodating- something we strive for. I hope you can find time to make it back UP before winter is over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We needed a place to stay in the Newberry area for one night and the reviews on Tripadvisor convinced us this was the place. It was perfect. Very, very clean. I loved how the towels and the sheets had a nice clean fragrance. The set up is very nice, wish we could have stayed longer. If/When we do make a return visit, I would bring a small table for added counter space in the kitchen (it is a bit limited) and some type of tv tray/small table to serve as a nightstand in the bedroom. Other than that- could not ask for much more. And just FYI- we thought the bed was fine- not to hard/soft. For the price- it is a fantastic place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Owner at Halfway Lake Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for providing such a great review. We are happy to hear that we met your expectations and you wished you were able to stay longer. We look forward to accommodating you for your next stay. Hopefully you will be able to relax and enjoy a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We really love staying here at Halfway Lake Resort. We come at least four times a year to enjoy what each season has to offer! I'm always so pleased with how absolutely immaculate the cabins are kept, and so well maintained. They're nicely furnished and have a well equiped kitchen. The cabins are very spacious with plenty of room for two couples, or a family. Very cozy and comfortable to spend time just relaxing in a beautiful setting, or this is the perfect location for any kind of adventure in the U.P. This family owned Resort is always so welcoming and we always look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Owner at Halfway Lake Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are flattered that you enjoy Halfway Lake Resort four times a year. We are looking forward to having you for many more relaxing vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Mi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The cabins were built in the late 90's and have been well maintained. Our cabin appeared to have been freshly painted with newer, clean carpet. This resort is as nice as everyone claims. HOWEVER, I was not prepared for NO DRESSERS or SHELVES in the bedroom. There is a peg hanger on each bedroom wall but no where to put folded clothing, your cell phone, eye glasses, etc. We had unit 4 with 2 bedrooms and each bedroom had a double bed and a twin and we used the twin bed to store things we'd normally put in drawers or on shelves. The faucet water tasted very good. Most of the cabins overlook the private lake.

The lake water is very clean. We enjoyed fishing, swimming and kayaking (very good life jackets provided). The resort is quiet and peaceful with very attractive landscaping with lots of gorgeous flowers. The owners own most of the lake and surrounding property so it is very private.

We ate twice at Pine Stump http://www.pine-stump.com/menu.html which has a very limited menu. We had pizza one night (delicious!!!!) and hamburgers another (very good). We also ate at Timber Charlies and that was good too.

I can recommend Halfway Lake Resort as a comfortable, clean and enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: you will need to live out of a suitcase due to lack of dressers and shelves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Owner at Halfway Lake Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to write a review. We are thrilled that you will recommend Halfway Lake Resort as a comfortable, clean and enjoyable place to stay. We are constantly aiming to make improvements. Removing the luggage racks and adding dressers to the bedrooms is something we are hoping to accomplish in the near future. Stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halfway Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway Lake Resort

Address: 16878 County Road 505, Newberry, MI 49868
Location: United States > Michigan > Newberry
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned resort in the heart of the great waters of Michigan's Eastern Upper Peninsula. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halfway Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.