We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Weekend - Great Time at Sans Souci” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sans-Souci Euro Inn and Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sans-Souci Euro Inn and Cottages
19265 S Lakeside Rd, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 New Buffalo B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Couples Weekend - Great Time at Sans Souci”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our group of four couples get away every summer for a long weekend. We rented Michigan House and the Green Heron Suite at Sans Souci. The suite is next door to the house which gave us great access all weekend. The house is outfit with all the necessities required for our weekend including a well stocked kitchen and new gas grill for our Saturday night dinner in. The winter garden room of the house was the perfect spot for our dinner. Sans Souci's lake was warm and the water was clear. Plus, the proximity to I-94 and New Buffalo / Exit 1 is very convenient. Angie checked on us a few times over the weekend to make sure all was OK. Good times!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in the green heron suite, it was okay, but in need of updating, thy have wall unit air conditioners, a small tv and no cable. The coffee pot in our room was mismatched and my husband couldn't make coffee. Unfortunately the amenities are few, and we only saw our host when we went in search of her to inquire about checking out. For the money you could stay in town closer to other attractions.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I booked san souci in new buffalo michigan with really not knowing much about it.
We arrived at night and when we woke up in the morning the reflection of the fall colors on the lake by the fisherman's cottage was beautiful. It was so quiet and peaceful. We took your suggestion of having a glass of wine by the lake. We enjoyed the sun setting and the change of colors on the lake. The fireplace was excellent. This was our wedding anniversary. We really wish we could have stayed longer as we were only there two nights. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our first trip to New Buffalo & we wanted to bring our dog. Angie accommodated us well in the Green Heron Suite. The patio doors open off the bedroom to a little area that is nice for sitting out with a glass of wine & reading a book. We could hear all sorts of birds & saw some ducks & geese in the pond. The property is a ways from all the hub bub so it's nice for a relaxing getaway. The king size bed was comfortable, as were the pillows. We didn't even get to use the hot tub in the room but the bathroom was nice size with two sinks. The kitchen area was small, but had a refrigerator, microwave & sink. The TV was small but there was a DVD player. We have no complaints & would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was my first time to New Buffalo, and Sans Souci gave me exactly what we were looking for. It was so nice to walk out our door onto the beach and enjoyed the hike around the lake with our dogs. We felt right at home at this peaceful place. And a quick drive to all the fun wineries, beach, and restaurants of the area. And the trees...it was so quiet here, that the ruffling of the leaves brought more peace to the weekend.

Room Tip: Angie is very helpful with the room that would be best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We did a quick getaway for antiquing and found Sans Souci a perfect hub for La Porte, New Buffalo areas. It is in the country and the Michigan Suite that we stayed in reminded me of a German country house. Two fireplaces, one in the screened look-out deck, plenty of seating for dining, lounging, toys upstairs and new large flatscreen TV, game-enabled for wii (per our teenager) and with DVD player. Internet access (not secure, but no trouble in connecting to it). Kitchen is nicely equipped with all you would need to cook, bake, dishwasher, etc. Plenty of bathrooms, 4 bedrooms our king bed was very comfortable. Would love to come back again sometime!

Room Tip: Michigan House would be great for a large family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We usually stay in New Buffalo at the Marina Grand but this weekend we wanted to try someplace different. This place is very relaxing and quiet. We actually heard birds, lol! There is a deck overlooking a bog and it was great to sit in the sun and watch baby ducks, many birds...even woodpeckers and hummingbirds (i was thrilled, never see them in Chicago!), raccoons and turtles. The breakfast was a surprise! Most B&B's are simple with maybe 2 courses in the serving but here we had a little bit of everything and then some with a VERY nice presentation and served at your own requested time to your room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sans-Souci Euro Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sans-Souci Euro Inn and Cottages

Address: 19265 S Lakeside Rd, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sans-Souci is a nature retreat offering fifty acres of towering trees, groomed landscapes, and a myriad of wildlife, including beautiful waterfowl right at home on our shimmering, secluded lake. Our gated sanctuary tenders family vacation homes, romantic getaway suites, and lakeside cottages for the fisherman. The interiors, of European character and design with wood-burning fireplaces and whirlpool baths, guarantee a niche for the solitude seeking couple, the wedding party, small business group, or family reunion. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sans-Souci Euro Inn and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sans-Souci Euro Inn and Cottages to your Saves list
;