We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Country Inn
18 W. Merchant Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Archbold, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had the Green Room and it was great. Location is right in town but quiet. Arrived early and room was ready. They have an all season room to read or play games. We ate our breakfast out there and they even turned on the fireplace for us. You really can't go wrong staying here!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks so much for the review and for staying with us. Thank you also for posting your picture. The Four Seasons room is separate from the main building/guest rooms, and is located in the back of the property. It is a great spot to take breakfast, play games, or just hang out. The space also works really well if you are with a group. The room has multiple large windows and glass patio doors so it has a very open feel. Fireplace is getting used more now with cooler temps returning. Hope you can return soon, and congrats on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay; the room's decor was lovely and the entire property was very well maintained and clean.We had a nice conversation with the owner who clearly takes pride in his business.The staff were very friendly and always accommodating.We would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. Helping someone have a great vacation is our goal, and it really feels good knowing you enjoyed yours. Check out our new video interview posted on our Facebook page and on our home page, lakecountryinn.com. The video has some great footage of the property and area, as well as some personal comments from myself. Really glad you stayed with us-- hope you can make it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a nice little Hotel/B&B near the beach. We stayed in the orange room and found it well kept and clean. The bed was a bit on the soft side but the pillow a bit to hard so I didn't get a good night's sleep. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Our sincere thanks for staying with us and for the review. We have memory foam or memory foam with gel mattresses in all of our rooms. In general these are very popular; however, they do feel soft when you sit on the edge as they do not have the support along the edge that traditional mattresses have. I will also remind the staff to make sure guests know that we have a lot of different pillows to chose from. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

High end furnishings and high end constructed. Not only amazing furnishings, but the ultimate quality of bath tile, plumbing fixtures, and bedding. Toni the attendant is very sweet. The resident cat is humanely taken care of and consideration for guests with allergies so cat stays outside. However the fact they reach out to an animal in need is iceing on the cake and speaks for the character of the owners and for Toni who has a heart for the poor outdoor kitty that she even cares for during monts they are closed. Thank you Lake Country Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
We a very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Our resident cat really enjoys the property also. Basically, it likes to watch people and hang-out around the back porch area only. Our cat is never inside the building. Also, the cat is very, very skittish around strangers, and I have rarely seen it let a guest get very close. I have never seen the cat on any of the private porches.
We really hope you will be able to visit us all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I love this place! The rooms are all beautiful, we stayed in the Saffron Room which has everything...walk in shower, balcony and a pleasing color pallet. Other guests and staff were all friendly and respectful of being in an inn instead of a busy, noisy hotel. This is an excellent transition from hotel to bed and breakfast if you're having a hard time convincing your spouse to try the B&B's.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We loved having you stay with us! Lots of people have never tried staying at a small property, so it was great to hear that your spouse enjoyed the experience. It is just more relaxing when you feel like you are staying at a very well kept and beautiful home. Plus, but only if you want to, you have the opportunity to talk with other guests. And we typically have some very cool guests. Thank you for sharing the great picture also. Hope you make it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We having nothing but praise for this hotel, excellent location, nothing too much trouble for the owners, room was lovely (Saffron), and taking breakfast on the balcony was wonderful. We had read an earlier review about pillows being hard and my wife asked for a softer one and this was delivered within minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you so much for your review. I am especially happy to hear that you found the perfect pillow. Again, we have lots of different pillows to choose from if the first one is not a good match. We hope you are able to have a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a lovely place in a great location. Beach not far away, shopping close and a nice restaurant across the street! Met owner and he was very nice, had a nice conversation with him. You can tell he loves the area and is very knowledgeable and helpful! The staff was so friendly! Only drawback was that the air conditioning was way cold in the hallways and the gathering area next to the kitchen which made hanging around in there impossible.

Room Tip: All rooms were nice, but if possible get a room with a patio, just a little extra special way to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and for staying with us. Harbor Country is a wonderful area. The summer sunsets over Lake Michigan can be mesmerizing ( see our Facebook page for lots of examples ).
Each room has its own thermostat. This works great for the individual rooms, but sometimes the hallways and kitchen area get a bit cool or warm. Opening the outside door to the back porch will usually help this.
Really enjoyed having you stay with us. Hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Country Inn

Address: 18 W. Merchant Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine room, boutique Inn located in the center of New Buffalo, MI. Short walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, Amtrak, and one of the best beaches on Lake Michigan. Beautifully decorated rooms are quiet and private. Building was built new in 2005. Free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast. Internet TV with free Netflix and refrigerators in select rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Country Hotel New Buffalo
Country Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Country Inn to your Saves list