We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Country Inn
Save Saved
You added Lake Country Inn to your Saves list
18 W. Merchant Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
at home
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a nice little Hotel/B&B near the beach. We stayed in the orange room and found it well kept and clean. The bed was a bit on the soft side but the pillow a bit to hard so I didn't get a good night's sleep. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Our sincere thanks for staying with us and for the review. We have memory foam or memory foam with gel mattresses in all of our rooms. In general these are very popular; however, they do feel soft when you sit on the edge as they do not have the support along the edge that traditional mattresses have. I will also remind the staff to make sure guests know that we have a lot of different pillows to chose from. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
71
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

High end furnishings and high end constructed. Not only amazing furnishings, but the ultimate quality of bath tile, plumbing fixtures, and bedding. Toni the attendant is very sweet. The resident cat is humanely taken care of and consideration for guests with allergies so cat stays outside. However the fact they reach out to an animal in need is iceing on the cake and speaks for the character of the owners and for Toni who has a heart for the poor outdoor kitty that she even cares for during monts they are closed. Thank you Lake Country Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
We a very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Our resident cat really enjoys the property also. Basically, it likes to watch people and hang-out around the back porch area only. Our cat is never inside the building. Also, the cat is very, very skittish around strangers, and I have rarely seen it let a guest get very close. I have never seen the cat on any of the private porches.
We really hope you will be able to visit us all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I love this place! The rooms are all beautiful, we stayed in the Saffron Room which has everything...walk in shower, balcony and a pleasing color pallet. Other guests and staff were all friendly and respectful of being in an inn instead of a busy, noisy hotel. This is an excellent transition from hotel to bed and breakfast if you're having a hard time convincing your spouse to try the B&B's.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We loved having you stay with us! Lots of people have never tried staying at a small property, so it was great to hear that your spouse enjoyed the experience. It is just more relaxing when you feel like you are staying at a very well kept and beautiful home. Plus, but only if you want to, you have the opportunity to talk with other guests. And we typically have some very cool guests. Thank you for sharing the great picture also. Hope you make it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We having nothing but praise for this hotel, excellent location, nothing too much trouble for the owners, room was lovely (Saffron), and taking breakfast on the balcony was wonderful. We had read an earlier review about pillows being hard and my wife asked for a softer one and this was delivered within minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you so much for your review. I am especially happy to hear that you found the perfect pillow. Again, we have lots of different pillows to choose from if the first one is not a good match. We hope you are able to have a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a lovely place in a great location. Beach not far away, shopping close and a nice restaurant across the street! Met owner and he was very nice, had a nice conversation with him. You can tell he loves the area and is very knowledgeable and helpful! The staff was so friendly! Only drawback was that the air conditioning was way cold in the hallways and the gathering area next to the kitchen which made hanging around in there impossible.

Room Tip: All rooms were nice, but if possible get a room with a patio, just a little extra special way to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and for staying with us. Harbor Country is a wonderful area. The summer sunsets over Lake Michigan can be mesmerizing ( see our Facebook page for lots of examples ).
Each room has its own thermostat. This works great for the individual rooms, but sometimes the hallways and kitchen area get a bit cool or warm. Opening the outside door to the back porch will usually help this.
Really enjoyed having you stay with us. Hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay - very homey, spacious rooms. They had every little item you could need - hair dryer, alarm clock, makeup wipes, a cuddly blanket. The location was great - a 10 minute walk to the beach, a one to five minute walk to area restaurants. The breakfast was light but ample - bagels, granola bars, cereals, juice. They had bottled water available in the fridge in the kitchen. The only downside to our stay was that the pillows were really high and hard. I didn't get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Really appreciate your review, and thank you for staying with us. In response to a prior reviewer who did not find their pillows comfortable, we have stocked the property with multiple different types of pillows. From your review, it sounds like we need to do a better job making sure guests are aware of our " pillow selection" so they can pick-out their " perfect " pillow. Thanks for your help. Hope you can make it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a great find! I had a hard time finding a room in New Buffalo in the summer (imagine that!) and stumbled across this place online. I am so glad that I did. Our room was $165 (week day) and I wasn’t sure what to expect for that price….but it was awesome. We were met in the kitchen and shown, by person, our very large and spacious room. Ours actually had a side, sun room with a pull out couch as well. We had our own front porch with chairs and a table. The room was clean, new, nicely appointed – we even had beach towels if we wanted to walk to the beach (which is just about three blocks away). The kitchen, which is open to guests, is nicely stocked with everything you might need for an evening snack or to open a bottle of wine. There is a lovely, secluded back yard and porch with more chairs. Our room was the first one when you entered the building and I was concerned it might be noisy but I never heard people coming and going. Just the perfect spot, across from a nice restaurant, off the main street but close enough to walk to multiple restaurants, ice cream parlors and the beach. Would highly recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you. We really appreciate being "discovered" by an experienced reviewer. When my wife and I bought the property three years ago it was very neglected, disorganized, and bankrupt. Since then, we have been able to restore the polish and significantly improve the quality of our client base. Really gald you enjoyed your stay. As a physican, I am very aware of the role that rest and rexation have in overall well-being.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Country Inn

Address: 18 W. Merchant Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine room, boutique Inn located in the center of New Buffalo, MI. Short walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, Amtrak, and one of the best beaches on Lake Michigan. Beautifully decorated rooms are quiet and private. Building was built new in 2005. Free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast. Internet TV with free Netflix and refrigerators in select rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Country Hotel New Buffalo
Country Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.