We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Country Inn
18 W. Merchant Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great location, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay - very homey, spacious rooms. They had every little item you could need - hair dryer, alarm clock, makeup wipes, a cuddly blanket. The location was great - a 10 minute walk to the beach, a one to five minute walk to area restaurants. The breakfast was light but ample - bagels, granola bars, cereals, juice. They had bottled water available in the fridge in the kitchen. The only downside to our stay was that the pillows were really high and hard. I didn't get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Really appreciate your review, and thank you for staying with us. In response to a prior reviewer who did not find their pillows comfortable, we have stocked the property with multiple different types of pillows. From your review, it sounds like we need to do a better job making sure guests are aware of our " pillow selection" so they can pick-out their " perfect " pillow. Thanks for your help. Hope you can make it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a great find! I had a hard time finding a room in New Buffalo in the summer (imagine that!) and stumbled across this place online. I am so glad that I did. Our room was $165 (week day) and I wasn’t sure what to expect for that price….but it was awesome. We were met in the kitchen and shown, by person, our very large and spacious room. Ours actually had a side, sun room with a pull out couch as well. We had our own front porch with chairs and a table. The room was clean, new, nicely appointed – we even had beach towels if we wanted to walk to the beach (which is just about three blocks away). The kitchen, which is open to guests, is nicely stocked with everything you might need for an evening snack or to open a bottle of wine. There is a lovely, secluded back yard and porch with more chairs. Our room was the first one when you entered the building and I was concerned it might be noisy but I never heard people coming and going. Just the perfect spot, across from a nice restaurant, off the main street but close enough to walk to multiple restaurants, ice cream parlors and the beach. Would highly recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you. We really appreciate being "discovered" by an experienced reviewer. When my wife and I bought the property three years ago it was very neglected, disorganized, and bankrupt. Since then, we have been able to restore the polish and significantly improve the quality of our client base. Really gald you enjoyed your stay. As a physican, I am very aware of the role that rest and rexation have in overall well-being.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We come to New Buffalo every summer for at least one weekend, hopefully more. We have always wanted to stay at the Lake Country Inn. We finally had the opportunity to do so and were very happy! We will make this the place to stay from now on. Beautiful and comfortable accommodations, affordable price and friendly staff. Owners were very friendly and approachable.
Looking forward to going back for another relaxing get-away!

Room Tip: Private porches are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review. We are very pleased you were able to get a room and that you had a great visit. As our occupancy during July and August is very high, it is always good to book early if dates are known. Otherwise, the reservation page at lakecountryinn.com will show what rooms are available; or an inquiry can be sent to info@lakecountryinn.com and we still might be able to find you a room if someone cancels a reservation. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been staying at the Lake Country Inn since it opened years back as The White Chapel Inn. This has been by far our top pick in the area until our last stay this past weekend with the new owners! We were badgered, bothered, and berated the entire weekend. We checked in and paid with a check the full amount...almost $800 for 3 nights. We then get the owner pounding on our door at 11pm telling us we are in violation of hotel policy. Seriously? The young girl who checked us in took the check (we have always written a check here) and somehow we should have known the policy over the girl working there. Then we were followed around and accused of sneaking our 11 year old son in?! It was just horrific and the worst customer service ever. We were leaving at 12:05 pm and the other owner banged on the door again telling us to leave that we had to be out by noon! OMG! I wish I could share the entire awful experience in writing! We will NEVER EVER go back and honestly cannot believe anyone could go back twice. It was 3 days of pure hell!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
When guests checked-in for their three night stay, they requested that the sleeper sofa be made up in their room. As this would now allow for three people to stay in the room and add an additional $40/night charge, our staff asked if occupancy for the room was now three instead of the double occupancy that was reserved. Guest stated that they were just " traveling companions" who did not share a bed and that there were only two people.

While this seemed a bit hard to believe, we gave them the benefit of the doubt until they started asking for extra towels. We asked about occupancy again and we were told they just " like lots of towels". Finally, staff directly asked the woman where the child they were now with was sleeping. Guest simply gave no answer and walked away. After that point, our guests became very evasive and started to get abusive with our staff.

When they started intimidating our staff, we became concerned about where this was headed. Also, the expired credit card they used to book the room and their initial insistence on paying with a personal check were red flags.

I personally went by the Inn Friday night to ask yet again how many people were in the room. I waited for the guests to return for the night and knocked on their door shortly after their return.

Finally, they admitted to having three in the room and that they owed an additional $120, but they were outraged by the additional charge. They kept referring to the prior owners policies even though he went out of business over three years ago. They repeatedly threatened a "bad review", apparently feeling this would further intimidate us.

Looking back, I should have insisted that they leave earlier as they were destructive, incredibly rude, and abusive for the balance of their stay.

If anyone has any questions regarding property policies, please refer to the Policies page on our website or email us at info@lakecountryinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everything you want in a bed and breakfast. The rooms were great as was the service. The porch outside the bedroom was perfect for relaxing or eating breakfast in the morning. We're definitely going back.

Room Tip: Definitely try to book a room with a balcony/porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Very much appreciate your review. The Yellow, Orange, Saffron, and Tower rooms all have great private porches that are really popular in the summer. There is a link on our Facebook page to a recent video interview that includes some shots of the porches. Really happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I recently searched online for a place to stay in New Buffalo, Michigan. We settled on the Lake Country Inn based on their helpful online photos. We were extremely pleased by the cleanliness and up-to-date furnishings. The weather was very hot at the time, and the Inn was well air-conditioned. In addition, each room had it's own thermostat. The rooms are well appointed with WiFi, cable TV and Netflix. The Inn offers a lovely continental breakfast as well. We will definitely return again and have already recommended the Inn to our friends who frequently visit Michigan.
Kind regards,
Michele and Bill

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. You were fantastic, upbeat guests that brought positive vibs to the whole property. We are very happy that you found the property to your liking.

We have lots of cooling capacity at the Inn for those hot summer days. Also, we have a back-up, natural gas generator that can run the entire property so a power outage from a summer storm will never disrupt your vacation.

Thanks again, we really appreciate your visit with us. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This place was just perfect for our trip in new Buffalo. It is right across from what I think is the best place to eat brewsters. I enjoyed our room the yellow one with its porch and small adjoining sitting area. The refrigerator came in handy for my desserts. The bed was very comfortable as were the linens. It was so private I felt like we had a house of our own. We have something to compare it to as we spend our third night in town at the marina grand. If you want to pay double for less room and less privacy go there. If you want a quaint beautiful shady street that feels like a real getaway then go to the lake country inn. Loved it. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we very much appreciate your review. Our theme here is " your place at the lake". So it is wonderful to read the description of your visit and know that you felt at home while you were here. The yellow room with its porch and bright color is a great summer hang-out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Country Inn

Address: 18 W. Merchant Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine room, boutique Inn located in the center of New Buffalo, MI. Short walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, Amtrak, and one of the best beaches on Lake Michigan. Beautifully decorated rooms are quiet and private. Building was built new in 2005. Free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast. Internet TV with free Netflix and refrigerators in select rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Country Hotel New Buffalo
Country Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Country Inn to your Saves list