We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming - very nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Country Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Country Inn
Save
You added Lake Country Inn to your Saves list
18 W. Merchant Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charming - very nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I traveled to New Buffalo for a short break and stayed at the Lake Country Inn. The rooms were very nicely appointed and the place brought a charm with it that is not common to a hotel stay. Also, this is not a typical Bed and Breakfast as it has been extremely well-done and has a bit of luxury to the charm. The place is in a sunny spot that is very convenient to walking around New Buffalo, and enjoying the Marina and the beach. There are many nice places to stay in town, but I would definitely go back to the Lake Country Inn.

Room Tip: The Blue Room had an adjoining suite with a couch that makes for a good place to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks so much for the review, and for traveling all the way from London to spend some time with us in New Buffalo. This month we have also had guests from Ireland, Scotland, Belgium, Germany, and Denmark. The beautiful interior design was one big reason we became interested in buying the property in 2010. Really glad you enjoyed the stay and safe travels ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
72
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheldon, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We would highly recommend this facility. The owners, employees, and atmosphere were superior. The inn is conveniently located to shopping, restaurants, and beach. Looking for a relaxing experience give this place a try!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We very much appreciate your review. The atmosphere at LCI also has a lot to do with all of the fantastic guests that we have staying with us. We are very grateful for all of the interesting, fun, happy, and polite guests that stay with us while enjoying one of the best beach areas in the country. Hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lake Country Inn. It was just a block from the train and the beach., so it was very convenient to everything. The room was colorful; ample size, comfortable with Ralph Lauren linens and a great shower. The other guests were very friendly and the staff was as helpful as could be. Breakfast was casual and leisurely and gave us a great start to the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. Our location is also only one block from the marina area where you can rent a boat or jet ski. There is also a new sailboat charter in town that offers a sunset cruise. Also, we typically have great guests and they contribute a lot to an upbeat and fun atmosphere at our property. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The place was beautiful and perhaps the cleanliness place I have ever stayed. Great location and great price. Beware of the bottom floor units because if you get an inconsiderate couple above you then you will hear everything. Unfortunately the only bar in town burned to the ground and if you were looking for a nice bar overlooking the beautiful scenery then your out of luck.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the top floor excellent but all rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully in the next several weeks, both Stray Dog and Casey's will reopen. Both of these local bars are very popular and offer live music during the summer. Stray Dog will be in a brand new building that includes a roof top area that is really great on summer nights. Hope you can make it back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Lake Country Inn. Unlike so many inns, with wallpaper borders and gloomy antiques, LCI was bright and modern, yet still charming and inviting. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the location superb. Whether for a week or a weekend, it's a perfect getaway spot.

Room Tip: My friend and I chose the blue room, which had an additional, separate sleeping area with a door for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We really appreciate the review and your decision to stay with us.
While it looks older, our building is a modern design that was built in 2005. Therefore, other things that we don't have are drafty windows, squeaky floors, or thin walls. Some other things we do have include a back-up power generator, tankless water heaters, well lit grounds, lots of windows, and a whole lot or really wonderful guests.
Hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were visting New Buffalo to attend a concert on a Saturday at the Four Winds Casino. We didn't want to stay at the Casino for 2 nights so I found the Lake Country Inn on Tripadviser. After reading the reviews and looking at in online we decided to book it and we were not disappointed. We ended up deciding to book a wine tour but asked it we could park there since our pickup stop was down the street. We on chance decided to ask if our room happened to be available early since we wouldn't be able to check in until later in the evening when our tour returned. The woman there on Friday morning (sorry I don't remember her name) was very friendly and helpful and was able to check us in early, so we were able to just start enjoying our stay. All the rooms we passed by that were open all looked great. I don't think you could go wrong with any of them. We stayed in the Tower Suite and the room was great. It looked even better in person than online. We had a balcony porch which was nice to sit out and relax in and the fireplace was great to have since it was still a little cold out when we stayed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was really nice. There were a lot of windows in the room which made it always nice and bright. There was a nice continental breaksfast and coffee in the morning. The Inn was also in walking distance of the lake and the places in downtown New Buffalo. I would definately recommend staying here and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
So glad you chose us for your weekend accommodations in New Buffalo, and we appreciate your review very much.

The Four Winds Casino really has a great live music schedule at both the Event Center and at the Hard Rock Cafe. Plus, if you don't want to drive, you can catch the free shuttle just around the corner.

However, I think the best show in town is put on by Mother Nature down at the beach around sunset. And again, you won't need to drive to get there. The sunsets over the lake can be unforgettable

Really happy you both enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you can get back to Harbor Country soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I had heard good things about New Buffalo and decided to take a long weekend trip for our anniversary. We decided to take the Amtrak from Chicago which was so convenient. The Inn is located about a block and a half away from the train right off the main downtown street.

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and checked in easily. We had the green room which was on the second floor and it had a really comfy lounge chair along with the cozy bed. The accommodations were perfect and the Inn is centrally located for everything you'd like to do in New Buffalo.

We were able to walk to the Four Winds Casino shuttle. We caught a wine tour shuttle in town. We walked to the beach and to all the shops in town. We've stayed in alot of bed and breakfasts and this is clearly the best we've ever been to. We are already trying to find another free weekend to stay here.

One last note, we had an odd incident our first night there. The people in the room nearest to ours got into a loud, drunken fight. We didn't expect something like that to happen in a nice, quiet place like this. It was after hours so we called the owners, who live close by. They answered our call, came right over and quickly escorted the guests out of the Inn. I doubt this will ever happen to anyone else, but it was very reassuring to know the owners are on top of everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. We especially appreciate your great description of a weekend visit as a guest from Chicago coming over to New Buffalo on the Amtrak train. There are now five, outbound trains everyday from Union Station that stop in New Buffalo, and four inbound. Most trains are nonstop and roundtrip tickets are as low as $20.00. Our property is then only a short walk away, and if you arrive early we are happy to hold luggage until check-in. The shuttle to the Four Winds Casino also departs from near the train platform so it is also close. Finally, thanks for the call regarding the noisy couple. We hope you make it back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Country Inn

Address: 18 W. Merchant Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nine room, boutique Inn located in the center of New Buffalo, MI. Short walk to restaurants, shopping, bars, Amtrak, and one of the best beaches on Lake Michigan. Beautifully decorated rooms are quiet and private. Building was built new in 2005. Free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast. Internet TV with free Netflix and refrigerators in select rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Country Hotel New Buffalo
Country Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.