We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Grand Resort

Save Saved
You added Marina Grand Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Grand Resort
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Grand !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Enjoyed an extended golf/wine (sometimes golf + wine) extended weekend in October. This was our second stay at THG. The breakfast brought to your room in the morning is a great, small-town, family-feel. Room was plenty big for us. Nice and quiet. We borrowed bikes and tooled around the small town. Casino and tons of wineries very close. Plenty of golf close by. Try Whittaker Woods - nice but demanding.Tons of restaurant choices in town. Service at THG was super. We like the slightly understated feel - there aren't bellhops falling all over themselves to help you but there is available help if you want it.
Another great stay at THG. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    44
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
51
69
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We love staying at this hotel every time we visit New Buffalo and the Four Winds Casino.
This place is perfect for a girlfriends trip, they are able to accommodate your every need!
The staff is always nice and helpful. The suite's are large, clean, and have beautiful views of the marina. Wake up and enjoy a wonderful cup of coffee and muffin down in the lobby shop then go for a bike ride with a assortment of bikes that awaits you outside in front.
Bentwood Tavern inside the Marina Grand was a pleasant surprise, we didn't expect such a wonderful meal with a beautiful view, only wished we would have checked it out sooner. Claus gave outstanding service and the bartenders here really know how to make some awesomely good cocktail's, especially a variety of yummy martini's girl's, we had so much fun.
Walking distance to the beach and downtown shops, it doesn't get any better.
I love my visits to Michigan and even more, staying at The Marina Grand !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The room was very clean, and the hotel was pleasant. I was disappointed with the lack of room service, we have stayed at the Harbor Grand where breakfast in your room is included, and I wish the Marina Grand had a similar service, even if there was a charge for it. The balconies in the rooms are very nice, and we would have enjoyed eating breakfast out there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

About one hour outside metro Chicago, stayed here for a weekend getaway and winery tour. From the outside this hotel looks unremarkable, and then, the minute you walk in you experience a beautiful lobby and warm service from a great staff. The rooms are an excellent blend of modern and quaint. With decks overlooking the marina, it is a very peaceful experience. The restaurant is fantastic, for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or just drinks, it was a pleasant surprise. There is also a great coffee shop/deli which serves excellent coffee products, baked goods, and snacks. This is a tremendous property that I will definately return to in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at the Marina Grand with my sisters to catch up and relax which we did. Check in was hassle free and fast. Room was clean and had a harbor view with balcony and fireplace in the room. We wanted to check out the Michigan wineries which we did with the help of directions from the front desk. Overall our visit was great, will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at Marina Grand Thur-Monday with my sisters and my mom so we could get away, relax, enjoy good food and catch up.
We had a great experience checking in with Keenan. He told us about everything that was happening in the area.
We were able to do everything we wanted! Stayed in and played games in the evening, walked into town in the morning and went on short trips during the day to local places.
The resort is perfect-- location is fun-- right on the marina. There is much to offer right on the resort: balcony for sunrises, rooftop for sunsets, Ben&Jerrys on demand, Free coffee and great onsite restaurant. Close to town and Amtrak station.
we loved it and will be back!!!

Room Tip: room on the corners are quiet and get great sunshine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great (albeit too short) stay for a friend's wedding. Great size room that was clean with strong internet and awesome balcony overlooking the marina. Modern lobby with good energy and attentive staff. First trip to New Buffalo. Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Resort

Address: 600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique resort on the New Buffalo harbor. Suites include luxury bedding, fireplaces, soaking tubs and European kitchens. Indoor and outdoor pools, rooftop deck, fitness and game rooms, and waterfront dining. Complimentary bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 150. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Marina Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Hotel New Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.