We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love New Buffalo!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Grand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marina Grand Resort to your Saves list
Marina Grand Resort
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love New Buffalo!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Love the location of Marina Grand Resort! There are so many nice shops and restaurants in New Buffalo, with the Marina Grand Resort being walking distance from them. We were also in walking distance from the beach there.
We stayed in a one bedroom suite which had plenty of space as well as a small kitchen that was very nice. We also enjoyed relaxing on the patio with a good view of the marina. The sister property (Harbor Grand) was very nice too. We had a wonderful dinner at the Terrace Room which was very cozy and comfortable. There was a nice fireplace near our table too.
If you like to gamble, the Four Winds Casino is a short distance away too. The casino is very Las Vegas like, except without the free drinks. You can also get a free shuttle to and from the casino and the Marina Grand Resort if you have some adult beverages.
We can't wait to visit the Marina Grand Resort again soon! Highly recommend to stay at this wonderful property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    52
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
58
78
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent last weekend here for a late summer getaway from the city. It was perfect! The rooms were cheerfully decorated and the balcony overlooking the marina was a great spot for a glass of wine in the evening and a good cup of coffee in the morning. Having complementary coffee in the lobby was a nice touch as was being able to get beach chairs from the main desk. Of course the restaurant on the first floor was excellent. Since we enjoy the beach but like to take a dip in the pool we found everything we were looking for at the marina grand! Looking forward to a weekend away next year! By the way the shops along red arrow highway are not to be missed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our group of four girls stayed in a standard double queen room. We were on the ground floor with a nice patio overlooking the Marina. The room was nice, with a fireplace and a small refridgerator. The bathroom was large and had a large vanity. There was only one mirror in the room, which was in the bathroom. With four ladies, it would have been nice to have another mirror outside the bathroom. The beds were comfy, pillows not as much, but I am picky about that.

We did visit the fitness center, which had just a couple of machines for cardio and weights. You can easily run or walk in the area for exercise, it's beautiful. The coffee shop which offered free regular brewed coffee in the mornings was a treat. The hotel has a nice rooftop deck with a great view. It was hot in the mornings in July, but would probably be better when the sun was less intense.

The location of the hotel is great. We walked to the beach, about a 10-15 mintue walk. There is a great italian restaurant which is also about a 10 minute walk, Brewsters, where we ate twice. They had great spinach and artichoke dip and yummy blueberry lemondrop martini's. Their menu changes nightly. I strongly suggest reservations or call ahead seating, it was always packed. We also enjoyed the restuarant at the hotel on our first evening. A nice spot for breakfast was The Grateful Diner, short drive away.

This is one of the better places to stay in the New Buffalo area.

Room Tip: All Rooms face the marina. Nice large patios on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed here before and we really like it , but our last experience was not good. Check in time is 4 pm , we had reservations , after we had spent the day at the beach my wife and our 3 grand daughters were ready to get in a room and clean up and relax. We arrived at 4:15 and found our room was not ready , about 15 min we were told , no problem it had been busy , said they would call when it was ready. We drove around did some other things for around 30 min. Called back and the girl at the front desk said the room is still not ready , my wife started to explain we had young girls and they were getting tried still had their swim suits on from the beach , she told us I said I would call when the room was ready and hung up the phone. I understand places get busy but I feel she could have invited us in to the pool to wait or at least offered a room that may have been ready , maybe offered a discount for being over an hour past check in , only attitude was offered , by now it was after 5 , called the Holiday Inn had a room and checked in 10 min later no reservation .Customer service was lacking on this day !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Glen, Illinois, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have been visiting New Buffalo for 20 years. The bed and breakfast availability has shrunk considerably. We were referred to the Marina Grand several years ago. These units are owned by others but rented out by the night to tourists by the management. Great rooms, great views of the harbor. Note to all - ask for the best price and try to go near the end of the day. Rates get better!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our family 4th year vacation, weather was a perfect 10, and of course the Marina Grand is all we could ask for and more. Once again the staff, Inga, the front desk, all the staff in the coffee shop, and always with a smile and a greeting. Added a full suite and lock off unit this time to allow for all family to have a space, as always immaculate, super clean, and homey. Our 122/123 units which have so much charm from the owner feels like our own home away from home. We noticed the great upgrade they have done to the lockoff units with its own coffee area and mini frig, although we requested an additional mini frig which they provided immidiately. Bentwood was great, sat on the terrace enjoyed the great breezes off Lake Michigan. If you are looking for a great place to relax, where the staff is super friendly, and well worth the price if your used to above average places to stay. I can never understand the negative reviews when referring to the Marina Grand, I can only imagine these people probably belong in an Econolodge. We just love it here. Already scheduled for our next vacation.

Room Tip: We enjoy the first floor near the restaurant, and close to the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I wish I could give this place a five but I had a few problems. First of all as far as service goes I would expect some help with bags at $350 a night. Secondly we had a loud kids on both sides of us waking us very early in the morning. The rooms were pretty small with no refrigerator. On the plus side the manager took some money off my room for disturbing kids. The restaurant and staff at the restaurant were GREAT! The view from entire property is nice if you like the marina. I never got a chance to visit the pool. I also think they should have at least a few bottled waters in your room. They do have Nice amenities like coffee shop and good decor. Thanks to inga the manger.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Resort

Address: 600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront boutique hotel for overnight and extended stay featuring luxury accommodations, highly personal service and unexpected touches. Amenities include waterfront dining, rooftop deck, swimming pools, game and fitness rooms. Complimentary bicycle and beach chair rentals. Walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. Wedding and conference facilities to 100. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Marina Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Hotel New Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.