We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Choice for Girls Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Grand Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marina Grand Resort to your Saves list
Marina Grand Resort
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Plainfield, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Choice for Girls Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our group of four girls stayed in a standard double queen room. We were on the ground floor with a nice patio overlooking the Marina. The room was nice, with a fireplace and a small refridgerator. The bathroom was large and had a large vanity. There was only one mirror in the room, which was in the bathroom. With four ladies, it would have been nice to have another mirror outside the bathroom. The beds were comfy, pillows not as much, but I am picky about that.

We did visit the fitness center, which had just a couple of machines for cardio and weights. You can easily run or walk in the area for exercise, it's beautiful. The coffee shop which offered free regular brewed coffee in the mornings was a treat. The hotel has a nice rooftop deck with a great view. It was hot in the mornings in July, but would probably be better when the sun was less intense.

The location of the hotel is great. We walked to the beach, about a 10-15 mintue walk. There is a great italian restaurant which is also about a 10 minute walk, Brewsters, where we ate twice. They had great spinach and artichoke dip and yummy blueberry lemondrop martini's. Their menu changes nightly. I strongly suggest reservations or call ahead seating, it was always packed. We also enjoyed the restuarant at the hotel on our first evening. A nice spot for breakfast was The Grateful Diner, short drive away.

This is one of the better places to stay in the New Buffalo area.

Room Tip: All Rooms face the marina. Nice large patios on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    48
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
56
73
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia City, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed here before and we really like it , but our last experience was not good. Check in time is 4 pm , we had reservations , after we had spent the day at the beach my wife and our 3 grand daughters were ready to get in a room and clean up and relax. We arrived at 4:15 and found our room was not ready , about 15 min we were told , no problem it had been busy , said they would call when it was ready. We drove around did some other things for around 30 min. Called back and the girl at the front desk said the room is still not ready , my wife started to explain we had young girls and they were getting tried still had their swim suits on from the beach , she told us I said I would call when the room was ready and hung up the phone. I understand places get busy but I feel she could have invited us in to the pool to wait or at least offered a room that may have been ready , maybe offered a discount for being over an hour past check in , only attitude was offered , by now it was after 5 , called the Holiday Inn had a room and checked in 10 min later no reservation .Customer service was lacking on this day !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Glen, Illinois, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have been visiting New Buffalo for 20 years. The bed and breakfast availability has shrunk considerably. We were referred to the Marina Grand several years ago. These units are owned by others but rented out by the night to tourists by the management. Great rooms, great views of the harbor. Note to all - ask for the best price and try to go near the end of the day. Rates get better!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our family 4th year vacation, weather was a perfect 10, and of course the Marina Grand is all we could ask for and more. Once again the staff, Inga, the front desk, all the staff in the coffee shop, and always with a smile and a greeting. Added a full suite and lock off unit this time to allow for all family to have a space, as always immaculate, super clean, and homey. Our 122/123 units which have so much charm from the owner feels like our own home away from home. We noticed the great upgrade they have done to the lockoff units with its own coffee area and mini frig, although we requested an additional mini frig which they provided immidiately. Bentwood was great, sat on the terrace enjoyed the great breezes off Lake Michigan. If you are looking for a great place to relax, where the staff is super friendly, and well worth the price if your used to above average places to stay. I can never understand the negative reviews when referring to the Marina Grand, I can only imagine these people probably belong in an Econolodge. We just love it here. Already scheduled for our next vacation.

Room Tip: We enjoy the first floor near the restaurant, and close to the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I wish I could give this place a five but I had a few problems. First of all as far as service goes I would expect some help with bags at $350 a night. Secondly we had a loud kids on both sides of us waking us very early in the morning. The rooms were pretty small with no refrigerator. On the plus side the manager took some money off my room for disturbing kids. The restaurant and staff at the restaurant were GREAT! The view from entire property is nice if you like the marina. I never got a chance to visit the pool. I also think they should have at least a few bottled waters in your room. They do have Nice amenities like coffee shop and good decor. Thanks to inga the manger.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I paid nearly $400 for a one night stay, in what turned out to be a pretty small room, with no refrigerator or furniture (other than an old, damaged desk) and a bathroom straight out of the 1950's (no shower, just a tub with a shower curtain). while the place was clean, and the bathroom facilities were fine, I would think you would only pay $150 or so for the accomodation. I have actually stayed in London for less money, and a better room, for gosh sakes. It's about 1 full mile from the not-so-nice beach (really Illinois, Indiana and Michigan residents, we have much better beaches all over Lake Michigan), and the small balcony overlooks a marina, a view that gets old after about 15 minutes. I was extremely disappointed for what this place cost.

Not sure why others are giving it so many good marks.

Room Tip: Unless you get a price of $150 per night or less, avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is very nice, but not outstanding, which was disappointing given the $200 plus rate. All the rooms do have a nice terrace, but don't expect to see Lake Michigan from there. You have to go o the rooftop deck to catch site of the Lake. You are in the harbor so your view consists of large pleasure boats. And it can get noisy when the owners are running their generators.
We also had no hair dryer or ice bucket, and the stool did not work very efficiently.
The onsite restaurant was very good and they do offer free coffee/ tea and a newspaper every morning. There is no breakfast served, but they have breakfast items available for purchase in the little coffee shop.
Also, the game room is very outdated and the elevators are in need of cleaning and updating.
The indoor and outdoor pools are really nice and they also provide free beach towels and chairs, as well as bikes you can use to bike to the beach.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, so you might want a room on an upper floor to get away from noise and poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Resort

Address: 600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront boutique hotel for overnight and extended stay featuring luxury accommodations, highly personal service and unexpected touches. Amenities include waterfront dining, rooftop deck, swimming pools, game and fitness rooms. Complimentary bicycle and beach chair rentals. Walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. Wedding and conference facilities to 100. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Marina Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Hotel New Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.