We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stayed one night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Grand Resort

Save Saved
You added Marina Grand Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Grand Resort
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Saint John, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Only stayed one night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hotel is beautiful with awesome views of the water. Staff was great recommending 2nd floor since we have 2 small boys and there is nothing to keep them in the patio on 1st floor and water is just steps away. Pool was nice but we kept getting locked out because the room key would not work to get back in, which seemed to be a problem for several people because others tried to help us. Price was a little much for us but we were desperate at the time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    40
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
48
67
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Elgin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at this resort because it was close to the booked up Four Winds Casino. I was nice. Modern, very clean, and the people were very service oriented. All of the rooms looked over the marina with only a few glimpses of Lake Michigan from the roof deck. One problem, this 3 story hotel only has two elevators that are very far apart. If you are on an upper floor you may be in for a very long walk. Do I think it was worth the pricey room rate? No!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor unless you dont mind the walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

2nd visit to the Marina Grand. This time the amenities are a little better, and the Bentwood Tavern does not disappoint. The staff is very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice resort.. Nice livingroom and also big bedroom with very good beds. The kitchen with fully equipment. A nice balcony with a nice view.Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have stayed in New Buffalo 4-5 over the past 3 years. We have always stayed at the Harbor Grand resort. When the reservations were made it was for the Marina Grand in error. Was I happy that we made the mistake! We arrived and were greeted by the most friendly young man, Jarvis. He was so helpful and check-in was a breeze. We were fortunate enough to be given an upgrade to a one bedroom suite. The room was gorgeous. One of the greatest things was that there was a 1/2 bath. This was fantastic!

The restaurant on site was delicious. We had dinner there on Thursday night and the place was full. We had brunch there on Saturday as well. Yum!

I still like the Harbor Grand, but I think I will choose the Marina Grand from now on.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

They are so accomodating and the rooms are very nice! I love stepping out and hearing folks on their boats talking...yes that's how close you are to the Harbor!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here several times. We always get the one bedroom suite, great because there is a 1/2 bath I can use while he is in the big bathroom. The balconies are perfect for morning coffee overlooking the marina.
The restaurant, The Bentwood Tavern is delish, love sitting outside. Also, they have a rooftop you can hang out at and have a cocktail before dinner.

We love this place, the location is great, they have bicycles too that are complimentary.

The only drawback to this resort is the outdoor pool. The pool is small and separated from the resort a little bit. Only gets sun on one side, and the people that have boats in the marina also have access to the pool. I know that this is really a beach town, but sometimes you don't want to make an "event" out of lying in the sun.

Overall, we love this place!

Room Tip: Stay close to the lobby on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Resort

Address: 600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique resort on the New Buffalo harbor. Suites include luxury bedding, fireplaces, soaking tubs and European kitchens. Indoor and outdoor pools, rooftop deck, fitness and game rooms, and waterfront dining. Complimentary bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 150. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Marina Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Hotel New Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.