We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in New Buffalo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Marina Grand Resort to your Saves list
Marina Grand Resort
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in New Buffalo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were fortunate to stay here twice in the past year, once for recreation and once for a wedding. Both stays were fantastic! The rooms are very modern, clean and spacious. They also have a balcony with chairs and all of the balconies face the marina, full of boats. Take a walk up to the top floor, there is an outdoor patio that overlooks the whole marina and out to lake michigan. The restaurant in the hotel is very good! Also, there is a free shuttle that picks up at the Marina Grand and takes you to Four Winds Casino! My only complaint was that, I was un-impressed with the pool, but everything else is so great! This place is only about 80 minutes from Chicago and has a close proximity to all of the awesome Michigan wineries! I highly recommend Marina Grand Resort!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    47
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
72
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia City, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently and were very happy with our stay. Nice place , staff was friendly will be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed for one night with my husband. Marina Grand has really great specials off-season. We loved our room, modern and very clean overlooking the marina. The restaurants in the hotel had great service and great food! However, I did not feel very welcome when I checked in. The woman at the front desk was NOT FRIENDLY AT ALL. SHE DIDNT EVEN SMILE. Luckily the lady that checked us out was friendly. I filled out a comment card and mentioned this but never heard back from the resort. I think people in the service industry should always at least smile and be a little friendly. I would go back but I would hope not to have to deal with a cold welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

We made our reservation late on a Friday night after a change in plans. We were hoping for a better deal as it was late & off season but took a chance anyway. We were delighted to find our room had a fireplace and a balcony. It was a European style mid class hotel, on the marina and a few blocks from the public beach. All rooms face the Marina. Confusion @ check-in had nothing to do with us but resulted in our getting a free pint of Ben & Jerry ice cream. Free coffee and free bikes were added pluses. Just enough shopping on Main St. Nice coffee shop & restaurant on the premises. Sister hotel down the street had us for a delicious dinner one night. Great weather topped off the weekend. We were so happy with our last minute reservation that we will return again, in the off season.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Marina Grand is a very nice condo/hotel in the beach town of New Buffalo. We are three friends from college (in our late 60's) who make an annual girls' getaway. We stayed in a loft suite and it was great for the three of us. Fireplace was very welcome as the weather (early Nov) was damp and chilly. Staff is very good - welcoming, helpful. Good complimentary coffee from coffee bar in the morning was also a welcome amenity. Beautiful view of the harbor.

A few negatives: while the master bedroom with King bed had a lovely, large bath, the half bath off kitchen is not very serviceable for three women - no place to put toiletries and such. Even a shelf would be helpful. Full kitchen is nice though we did not really use it; but it is well stocked if one should choose to eat in.

A major flaw in the design of the hotel is the very long corridor leading to rooms. There are elevators at either end, but none in the middle of the building. Makes for a long haul with luggage, etc. to reach one's room if it is situated inthe middle of the building as ours was. As there are no ice machines on the 3rd floor (our floor) nor ice maker in the unit's refrigerator the long trek down those long corridors is an inconvenience.
The location of the hotel is good - close to town which is helpful since the restaurant in the hotel does not serve breakfast (though there are breakfast pastries, etc. in the coffee bar off the lobby). The hotel restaurant is excellent as is the restaurant in the sister hotel nearby - Harbor Grand. We would return to the Marina Grand and make sure we requested room closer to the elevator!

Room Tip: Request room closer to elevators, especially if traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Fields, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Great place to stay while in New Buffolo...fantastic views...great staff...nice large room...comfortable bed with fireplace...Go here if you stay in New Buffalo

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I came to New Buffalo with a group in late October. The rooms were great-- clean, updated. Our 2 bedroom suite came with a full kitchen which was great to bring along food to prepare in the room. The view of the marina was awesome...we were on the 3rd floor. In my opinion this was a great time to be in the area with the fall colors. Great place to stay, would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Resort

Address: 600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront boutique hotel for overnight and extended stay featuring luxury accommodations, highly personal service and unexpected touches. Amenities include waterfront dining, rooftop deck, swimming pools, game and fitness rooms. Complimentary bicycle and beach chair rentals. Walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. Wedding and conference facilities to 100. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Marina Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Hotel New Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.