We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marina Grand Resort to your Saves list
Marina Grand Resort
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia Fields, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Great place to stay while in New Buffolo...fantastic views...great staff...nice large room...comfortable bed with fireplace...Go here if you stay in New Buffalo

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I came to New Buffalo with a group in late October. The rooms were great-- clean, updated. Our 2 bedroom suite came with a full kitchen which was great to bring along food to prepare in the room. The view of the marina was awesome...we were on the 3rd floor. In my opinion this was a great time to be in the area with the fall colors. Great place to stay, would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiTownie520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

A group of us stayed at the Marina Grand for a wedding in October. It was an absolutely beautiful place. The view from the outdoor patio of our 3rd floor room was very pretty, with lots of boats still in the marina in early fall. The room itself was clean, updated, and very, very nicely decorated. I could have moved in and lived there.

In addition to our room, we loved the Bentwood Tavern restaurant inside the hotel. Really delicious, well-prepared food. I would also recommend the rooftop deck for a beautiful intimate wedding ceremony (although the whir of the mechanical equipment up there can make it hard to hear).

I was surprised to see the negative reviews here after such a nice stay. I guess if you're highly price-conscious, you should stay at a chain hotel. However, if you love a great boutique hotel in a unique location, you will enjoy the Marina Grand.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have a better view of the marina. Also, the hallways are VERY long, so anyone wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsforchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My friend and I came to the Marina Grand for an overnight re-charge in the winter. We originally had a normal 2 queen bed room with a harbor view, however, since it was winter and there weren't too many people staying, we asked if we could take a look at one of the loft suites, in case we wanted to get a group together in the summer. Well, needless to say, we walked in and loved it! After we returned the keys, I asked if we could upgrade since it was vacant and the manager let us for only $20 extra dollars.

After settling in to our new digs, which included an amazing bathroom with soak tub and kitchen, we found the game room upstairs and played a few rounds of ping pong! Then we had dinner in the on-site restaurant called the Bentwood Tavern. The atmosphere is great and the food is delicious! We decided to skip the complimentary saki class the hotel offered to go hang out at the Stray Dog bar and grill down the street for some music and drinks.

Later that evening we rented some movies (complimentary!) from the Front Desk and purchased some wine from the little on-site convenience shop. The next morning it was barely a minute drive over to the main drag to have breakfast and shop the local fare. Overall a wonderful experience in New Buffalo!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sminter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding in August. The apartment style rooms were great for a family of 4. Buildings are very close to the harbor, so in a ground floor room the boats were just steps away. Felt a little bit strange to wake up in the morning and step out on the patio and realize there were people in their boats staring at me in my pjs. Would probably ask for an upper floor next time. Beyond that, the restaurant, service etc. was great. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. Would prefer looking at the open lake vs. the harbor but from my research I don't think there are any hotel options in New Buffalo better than this.

Room Tip: Higher floors not quite so close to the boats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisbuffMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

First time visit to New Buffalo, MI ... and we'll be back! We loved the Marina Grand Resort and would absolutely stay there again. If you're deciding between the Marina Grand and Harbor Grand, know that there are no balconies on the Harbor Grand though it's a bit closer to downtown. We visited a week outside the peak season, which is a great time to go: weather is still nice, better rates and the place to yourself. Look for Marina Grand promotions on their Facebook page or sign up for their emails.

We stayed 4 nights in the King suite, which I highly recommend--well styled 2 rooms, 2 luxurious bathrooms, gas fireplace, several large windows, including a balcony with huge deck chairs overlooking the harbor and a complete kitchen with all the appliances & necessities. Room was cleaned promptly each day. It has the look & feel of a modern downtown Chicago hotel without being over the top. Staff was helpful and accommodating.

Great views, though not a view of the Lake. Ladies, the lighting is a tad dark in the bathroom for applying makeup--might want to bring your own makeup mirror. The outdoor pool is small and the pool area could use some sprucing up, not the best landscaping. Indoor pool is nice with a hot tub. Be sure to visit the rooftop deck!

New Buffalo is a boating/vacation community--lots of beautiful condos. Busy in the summers; slow in the off-season. Downtown is small, with just enough options to cover your bases. Shop at Barney's for groceries, prices are higher than average so consider hitting a grocery store before you get to town. It's just over a 1/2 mile walk to town from Marina Grand, certainly doable, but not for everyone. There's also an Amtrak stop in town. Stray Dog is the main attraction--nice pub that will appeal to everyone. Ate at Rosie's for breakfast (average, only takes cash) and Skip's for dinner (average supper club, over 50 crowd, but good steaks). Bentwood at Marina Grand was superb and Redamack's is a great burger joint (also only takes cash). Check out the Fruitful Vine Tours and visit the many wineries in the area, Four Winds Casino (there's a shuttle) & Warren Dunes State Park is a must see. Many of the antique shops were closed during weekdays and off-season.

We've traveled to many places and always read the reviews (and take them with a grain of salt)--this one exceeded our expectations in many ways and all the positive reviews were spot on. Perfect getaway in the Midwest--don't pass it up (but don't tell too many people either)!

Room Tip: 2nd floor or higher gives you a better view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RegulaRay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This place is probably on of the nicest, if not the nicest place where to stay in New Buffalo.
It is quite unexpected in this area to find this chic, actually trendy resort. It is surounding the Marina which gives it a clear holiday feeling. The resort restaurant, the Bentwood tavern is very good too. Most of our meals there where very tasty. Again, quite unexpected, as often trendy places just surf on the fact to be trendy or having little competition, but here, they go all the way.
Rooms are spacious, nice and clean.
You can get a room on the ground floor, facing the Marina if you want to have easy access.
Some minuses, pools are just tiny ... both the indoor and the outdoor ones.

Room Tip: The resort if long, so pick a room closer to the reception desk area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddb-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
0.3 mi away
The Harbor Grand
The Harbor Grand
#2 of 8 in New Buffalo
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 8 in New Buffalo
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
8.8 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Resort

Address: 600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront boutique hotel for overnight and extended stay featuring luxury accommodations, highly personal service and unexpected touches. Amenities include waterfront dining, rooftop deck, swimming pools, game and fitness rooms. Complimentary bicycle and beach chair rentals. Walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. Wedding and conference facilities to 100. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Marina Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Hotel New Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing