We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Buffalo, MI ... a hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Grand Resort

Save Saved
You added Marina Grand Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Grand Resort
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“New Buffalo, MI ... a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

First time visit to New Buffalo, MI ... and we'll be back! We loved the Marina Grand Resort and would absolutely stay there again. If you're deciding between the Marina Grand and Harbor Grand, know that there are no balconies on the Harbor Grand though it's a bit closer to downtown. We visited a week outside the peak season, which is a great time to go: weather is still nice, better rates and the place to yourself. Look for Marina Grand promotions on their Facebook page or sign up for their emails.

We stayed 4 nights in the King suite, which I highly recommend--well styled 2 rooms, 2 luxurious bathrooms, gas fireplace, several large windows, including a balcony with huge deck chairs overlooking the harbor and a complete kitchen with all the appliances & necessities. Room was cleaned promptly each day. It has the look & feel of a modern downtown Chicago hotel without being over the top. Staff was helpful and accommodating.

Great views, though not a view of the Lake. Ladies, the lighting is a tad dark in the bathroom for applying makeup--might want to bring your own makeup mirror. The outdoor pool is small and the pool area could use some sprucing up, not the best landscaping. Indoor pool is nice with a hot tub. Be sure to visit the rooftop deck!

New Buffalo is a boating/vacation community--lots of beautiful condos. Busy in the summers; slow in the off-season. Downtown is small, with just enough options to cover your bases. Shop at Barney's for groceries, prices are higher than average so consider hitting a grocery store before you get to town. It's just over a 1/2 mile walk to town from Marina Grand, certainly doable, but not for everyone. There's also an Amtrak stop in town. Stray Dog is the main attraction--nice pub that will appeal to everyone. Ate at Rosie's for breakfast (average, only takes cash) and Skip's for dinner (average supper club, over 50 crowd, but good steaks). Bentwood at Marina Grand was superb and Redamack's is a great burger joint (also only takes cash). Check out the Fruitful Vine Tours and visit the many wineries in the area, Four Winds Casino (there's a shuttle) & Warren Dunes State Park is a must see. Many of the antique shops were closed during weekdays and off-season.

We've traveled to many places and always read the reviews (and take them with a grain of salt)--this one exceeded our expectations in many ways and all the positive reviews were spot on. Perfect getaway in the Midwest--don't pass it up (but don't tell too many people either)!

Room Tip: 2nd floor or higher gives you a better view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    41
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
67
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This place is probably on of the nicest, if not the nicest place where to stay in New Buffalo.
It is quite unexpected in this area to find this chic, actually trendy resort. It is surounding the Marina which gives it a clear holiday feeling. The resort restaurant, the Bentwood tavern is very good too. Most of our meals there where very tasty. Again, quite unexpected, as often trendy places just surf on the fact to be trendy or having little competition, but here, they go all the way.
Rooms are spacious, nice and clean.
You can get a room on the ground floor, facing the Marina if you want to have easy access.
Some minuses, pools are just tiny ... both the indoor and the outdoor ones.

Room Tip: The resort if long, so pick a room closer to the reception desk area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed at Marina Grand Resort for 4 nights. Our one bedroom suite was great: clean, spacious and had everything we needed. Well, maybe having a toaster would make it even better. The service was outstanding, the front desk responded prompltly to every request we made. The beach is a little far, you need to take a car to get there. Parking costs 5 dollars Mon-Thu, and 10 Fri- Sun. You can not come and go, it is one entry fee per car. We went to Tavern as well, it was fine: the food and service. The roof top deck's view was amazing. We really enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley Il
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Our room was at one end of the resort and everything else...lobby, pool ,restaurant, was at the other end of the building. If anyone in your group has trouble walking, request a room close to the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Marina Grand resort over 4th of July weekend and loved every minute of it. We chose this hotel over the sister hotel because we liked the more modern aesthetic.

They let us check in early (awesome for a holiday weekend), the rooms were nice and clean (loved the fireplace), and all the amenities were great. We ate at the Bentwood Tavern on three occasions (breakfast, dinner, happy hour apps) and we liked how laid back the resort is-for example, we ordered a few appetizers and took them up to the roof top deck with a bottle of our own wine and no one even looked at us twice. Very relaxing.

I would recommend having a room that overlooks the harbor and definitely head up to that roof top deck for some cocktails or a coffee. Great hotel and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: ask for a room off the ground level so you have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Even though there were negative reviews, we decided to give it a try. (it was one of the few resorts on the water) Unfortunately, the reviews were spot on. Although we could see boats outside of our window, it really wasn't worth it. We should have stayed at a chain hotel and saved several hundred dollars.

Three of us stayed 3 nights in a 1 BR suite. Fortunately, we brought an inflatable bed - the sofa bed was awful. It was very worn (you could feel the springs through the mattress) and noisy. We brought our own bedding too - another good thing because there was only a thin blanket for the sofa bed.

Our room wasn't ready at the 4:00pm checkin time, so we had to drive around town for over an hour. (there was very little parking at the marina area) New Buffalo is your typical midwest little town. There is a little grocery store at the main intersection (the only stop light in town). Great for supplies! We ended up grabbing some deli items because of the wait at the restaurants.

The indoor pool is a fairly good size, (not large by any means) but the outdoor pool is really tiny - the size of a whirlpool. Although the site says that you can walk to the beach, it really is too far away to haul your items. It's about a mile and you have to walk through the harbor fronts of several resorts, then walk up the bridge (with a very small sidewalk) to get over the train tracks and down to the beach.

We definitely won't be back to this place again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

A group of friends and I rented a 2 BR suite at this hotel for the weekend for $1100. We expected a luxurious weekend for the cost - but it was far from luxurious. Our room was not ready at the time they told us it would be. The room was also not cleaned properly - still crumbs on the floor and wrappers in the room. There is a roof deck for guest use only, but when we tried to use it, we were basically kicked out by a wedding party who was not staying at the hotel or even having their wedding at the hotel. They were just at the bar for drinks and wanted to come to the roof deck to take pictures, so before we knew it, 50 people were up there in a space for about 20 people. For the price that this hotel charges, they should stop trying to be cheap by not air conditioning the hallways. Our room was all the way at the end of the hall and we were sweating by the time we got to it. Also, they need to invest in more than one elevator and they should make the elevator for customers - not a dual use service and customer elevator. Overall, this hotel lacked customer service and details that make it at most a 2.5 star hotel. Don't waste your money. There are plenty of other hotels and resorts close to this one that are superior in customer service and price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Resort

Address: 600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique resort on the New Buffalo harbor. Suites include luxury bedding, fireplaces, soaking tubs and European kitchens. Indoor and outdoor pools, rooftop deck, fitness and game rooms, and waterfront dining. Complimentary bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 150. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Marina Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Hotel New Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.