We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Grand Resort

Save Saved
You added Marina Grand Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Grand Resort
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is our second time here this year, we love it for our family outings, the place has everything, the front desk is so nice and always there with a smile and will assist in anything, Inga, Keenan, Will, and everyone who welcomes you with a warm smile. We also like the free items they provide, ice, laundry, use of towels for the beach and beach chairs, free use of bikes.....our boys love the pools both indoors and outdoors....so many things right in the area to do, Warren and Indiana Dunes, Canoeing, the wonderful NB Beach, the wineries and tasting rooms, as well as seems like they are always picking some type of fruit, we picked blueberries this time and they are delicious!! We will be back next month!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    41
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
67
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Being from the Metro Detroit area, before booking this trip, I had never even heard of New Buffalo. After doing some research on the internet for places on the west side of the state, we found the Marina Grand Resort. This place was everything shown in the pictures on their website and more. If you want a nice, reasonably prices, up to date, relaxing place to go, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Went over 4th of July weekend with my boyfriend (ages 25-33) and had a great time. We usually travel to Wisconsin Dells for the 4th but decided to try New Buffalo. The service at the hotel was great, including front desk, cafe, and even housekeeping. Hotel provides free beach crusier rentals and unlimited free coffee- which tastes better than Starbucks. You can also get Ben & Jerrys ice cream around the clock for $5. Restuarant at the hotel, Bentwood tavern, had amazing food- you must try the Kobe burger and handcut fries. Rooftop deck was great for hanging out and the view from the hotel room patio overlooks the marina, which is a great touch. We stayed in a double queen marina view which we felt had plenty of space. The bathroom was surprisingly large and big enough for both of us to get ready in. The fireplace turns on easily with the flip of a switch. The beds were also very comfortable.

Although we had a remarkable stay, the few cons include:
No refridgerator in Double Queen Marina View
Only one small garbage can in bathroom
We could hear our neighbors in the next room over. I am not quite sure if they were just obnoxiously loud or if the walls were paper thin. It was sporadic so I do wonder if the people next door were just talking too loud.
The outdoor pool and sundeck do not face the sun so you need to be creative with the chairs if you are an avid suntanner like myself.

What to know before you go:
This is a peaceful retreat with a predominant boating community. The boaters in the marina share some amenities including the outdoor pool. Everyone seems to know everyone and you get that small town feeling. You can walk/ride to downtown and the beach from the hotel but it is a moderate distance, fine for couples, but may be an unpleasant walk with small children. There is a great restuarant called Jimmy's which is near the McDonalds a short drive from the hotel. I recommend going there for a nice dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011 via mobile

First time here. We had a suite. Great bed. Nice balcony with good view and comfortable chairs. Kitchen with all appliances but missing some expected basics like a full coffee machine and disposal. Nice Televisions. Good service. Rooftop deck too low to see good sunset. Very small pool so don't go for that reason. Walking to town and beach. A bit noisy with some tenants a bit rowdy and insensitive but maybe the hotel wants those types. Pricey for the experience but we may return.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Booked a double queen room and was enjoying the view from the patio when we noticed our a/c temp was going up, so my husband called front desk and they immediately came to check, we were then given an upgrade to a king suite! It was wonderful! Loved the decor, the plush king size bed, etc etc. Only issue was the hike to the nearest ice machine!

Room Tip: Away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison Township, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We love New Buffalo. Marina Grand is awesome! We stayed on a first level suite. The suite was very clean and had everything you could ask for. I would recommend it over Harbor Grand, although Harbor Grand was also nice. Marina Grand offers complimentary bikes and Bentwood Tavern is on the first level of the hotel. Harbor Grand offers a mini complimentary breakfast basket. Bentwood Tavern is awesome, great servers, food, wine and cocktails. If you want live music head to Stray Doy or Casey's (I think that's the name) good times. Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I drove to this resort on an early Tues. morning and liked it so much we stayed until Thurs. an extra day. We arrived around 9am and found the front desk staff was amazing and very accomodating. We were already very impressed when Julie took our reservation over the phone prior to our trip. She gave us allot of advice and promised us a nice room location. We were actually able to check into our wonderful one bedroom loft as soon as we got to the hotel thanks to Inga and Keenan. The view was incredible overlooking the boats and harbor! There is a full kitchen, loft, LR w/ fireplace and DR area and you will love the bedroom and bath with a soaking tub. You also get a balcony with comfy chairs. The Bentwood restaurant there is HIGHLY recommended for lunch, cocktails and dinner. You can eat outside on the patio overlooking the water. Make sure to also visit the nearby Harbor Grand sister resort for a couples massage (or just single) and dinner on the patio as well! There is an excellent coffee bar for free black cofee or lattes worth the $$ and great pastries and snacks. The outdoor pool and fitness room could be better but still were nice to have. Go into town to browse and visit the beach for sure. There are allot of kids and families especially on the weekends but we got lucky because it was not that crowded when we were there. We will definitely go back there once a month if possible.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Resort

Address: 600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront boutique resort on the New Buffalo harbor. Suites include luxury bedding, fireplaces, soaking tubs and European kitchens. Indoor and outdoor pools, rooftop deck, fitness and game rooms, and waterfront dining. Complimentary bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 150. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Marina Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Hotel New Buffalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Grand Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.