We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the waterfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentwood Tavern

Bentwood Tavern
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
+1 269-469-1699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bentwood Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Berrien
Description: Chef Jenny Drilon's sophisticated spin on pub fare, responsibly sourced and beautifully prepared. A warm, friendly gathering place featuring eight Michigan craft beers on tap and a curated wine list. Waterfront dining with outdoor seating available whenever weather allows. Lunch and dinner daily, with brunch from 9am on weekends. Please be advised that the restaurant is operating on Eastern Standard Time.
Danville, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“On the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Bentwood Tavern is a small restaurant on the waterfront. They do have outside dining on the patio. Limited menu but very good. It is an open style kitchen, which I like. Our service was good and food excellent. We will be returning there this summer to enjoy another great meal. It is family friendly. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    77
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very good food. Accommodating to our dining with a baby. Nice outdoor patio. Excellent service. Would definitely recommend!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were looking for a place for dinner with great atmosphere. We stopped in for an afternoon drink to check the place our for dinner and realized this wasn't lake front but on the marina. After checking out the menu we decided if we wanted atmosphere we might as well go back to the Stray Dog. We did have a drink at the bar and the bartender was super friendly and informative about the area. We had a nice drink and some good company.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Trying too hard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stopped by mid-day for a snack, a drink and some waterfront dining, this seemed to be one of the few places right on the water, even though it is just a marina not the lake or a river. The deck was nice though, and the service was fairly prompt.

The menu was limited at that time of day, but there were several appetizer options, many using terms most people wouldn't be familiar with, and the waiter appeared to be less than well acquainted with some of them as well. We ordered the goat cheese on coulis (marinara sauce) with toasted (blackened) flat bread, ginger lime jicama cole slaw and tartar tuna avocado salad. We finished none of the dishes, but they were interesting and reasonably priced. We passed on dessert.

The waiter got the order wrong but was happy to correct it; he also overheard part of our conversation, questioned us about what we were discussing then offered his opinion and childhood experience on the matter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Food. Great ambience. Server a little full of himself!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We've been here at least 4 times in the past year. The food is really good. There's an innovative menu that's always changing. Love the hip, hectic atmosphere and the bar crowd is highly engaged! We've had the same server a couple of times - Hans? - he's so full of himself. It's like he's doing us a favor to take our order and scoffing at what we do order. Literally prevented us from going back when we were back in New Buffalo in June.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentwood Tavern also viewed

 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Bentwood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentwood Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.