We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and eclectic ambience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentwood Tavern

Bentwood Tavern
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
+1 269-469-1699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bentwood Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Berrien
Description: Chef Jenny Drilon's sophisticated spin on pub fare, responsibly sourced and beautifully prepared. A warm, friendly gathering place featuring eight Michigan craft beers on tap and a curated wine list. Waterfront dining with outdoor seating available whenever weather allows. Lunch and dinner daily, with brunch from 9am on weekends. Please be advised that the restaurant is operating on Eastern Standard Time.
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and eclectic ambience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Cute little place right off the marina--great food and service, not overpriced! Would be a great place to eat in the summer outside on the outside deck!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank transcriber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Wine and appetizers at the bar, so pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ducked in during a rainstorm to wait it out at the bar. By myself, I just got a glass of wine and a couple appetizers. I ordered the mussels, spring rolls and arugula pear salad. It was all delicious. The setting was lovely, and though there was a rainstorm you can see the marina well from the large plate glass windows,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could not be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I read the menu online and had great expectations, from the moment you walk into the stunning lobby you know the night is going to be great. We arrived a half hour early for our reservation, staff was great and got us seated immediately. Vermont old fashion was perfection, the pub chips were good, the duck tacos were great, the goat cheese dip was amazing! Then came dinner, flank steaks, kc strip cooked to perfection and great flavors with depth. The evening's special of Blue Marlin with wasabi and red curry was a surprise to find on the menu, as marlin is a favorite that's what I got - slightly overcooked for my liking but flavors were on point, very happy.
This was a great find - love the decor, staff was a true highlight, could not have asked for more for the meal at this price point. This was a top five dining experience, and though not cheap maybe the best value I have had in a meal. GO HERE - except when I am in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The food and drink was very good, but because of the size and make-up of the room, it was a little noisy. Had the salmon simply grilled and it was delicious!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank melnmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Attentive service and good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Ate here with friends on a Friday night. The restaurant was busy and had a lively atmosphere. Many of us had the individual pizzas which were generously sized and very good. Our waitress was friendly and helpful and gave us ideas for continuing our ladies' night out. The manager was attentive and friendly as well. It is very conveniently located inside the Marina Grand Resort.

Helpful?
Thank PMath5516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentwood Tavern also viewed

 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Bentwood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing