We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive service and good pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bentwood Tavern

Bentwood Tavern
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
+1 269-469-1699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bentwood Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Berrien
Description: Chef Jenny Drilon's sophisticated spin on pub fare, responsibly sourced and beautifully prepared. A warm, friendly gathering place featuring eight Michigan craft beers on tap and a curated wine list. Waterfront dining with outdoor seating available whenever weather allows. Lunch and dinner daily, with brunch from 9am on weekends. Please be advised that the restaurant is operating on Eastern Standard Time.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Attentive service and good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Ate here with friends on a Friday night. The restaurant was busy and had a lively atmosphere. Many of us had the individual pizzas which were generously sized and very good. Our waitress was friendly and helpful and gave us ideas for continuing our ladies' night out. The manager was attentive and friendly as well. It is very conveniently located inside the Marina Grand Resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    77
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MICHIGAN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“View, Food, Drinks, Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had fish tacos for lunch that were so delicious. Also had one of their $10 martinis made with pomegrant juice. Worth taking a trip to New Buffalo for lunch or dinner and brunch on the weekends. In good weather you can be outside on their patio. Prices are a little high, but worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first time at this restaurant. The ambience was lively and cheerful with tasteful nautical decor. We had a great waitress who anticipated our needs and was patient while we had trouble deciding what to order because several things sounded good. There was a variety of prices from medium priced on up. If you go during daylight there is an excellent view of the harbor.

We both ordered off the specials menu. I had the walleye and my husband had the flounder. We aren't big fish eaters but it sounded good and we were so glad we did. There wasn't a fishy taste to any of it. It was perfectly done. The sides were delicious too! For dessert we had the profiteroles with vanilla ice cream and hot fudge, awesome! This was one of the best meals we've had in a long time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We used to dine at Jenny's restaurant years ago on red arrow highway and had no idea that she was at bentwood tavern. The place has a great bar and once we got seated the food was wonderful. We went on a Saturday in the middle of October not thinking we needed a reservation, wrong! We waited about an hour at the bar which we were told it would take that long but we didn't care. The food and dessert were outstanding and can't wait to go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Bentwood Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great food and killer vodka martinis in a nice atmosphere. May dine al fresco, weather permitting. Wood-fired pizza, good salads, and salmon. Definitely make a reservation if you are going on a weekend night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentwood Tavern also viewed

 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Bentwood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentwood Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.