We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bentwood Tavern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bentwood Tavern

Bentwood Tavern
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
+1 269-469-1699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bentwood Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Berrien
Description: Chef Jenny Drilon's sophisticated spin on pub fare, responsibly sourced and beautifully prepared. A warm, friendly gathering place featuring eight Michigan craft beers on tap and a curated wine list. Waterfront dining with outdoor seating available whenever weather allows. Lunch and dinner daily, with brunch from 9am on weekends. Please be advised that the restaurant is operating on Eastern Standard Time.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Bentwood Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great food and killer vodka martinis in a nice atmosphere. May dine al fresco, weather permitting. Wood-fired pizza, good salads, and salmon. Definitely make a reservation if you are going on a weekend night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    76
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sea Bass 'Swonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Chef Jenny has been offering Chilean sea bass on the first Friday of each month for some time. This visit was our fourth visit, and the food was as terrific as it always has been. Located in the Marina Grand, a very nice and clean condo-hotel on Lake Michigan, we were greeted warmly and drinks were served as we waited. Reservations were full, but we waited thirty minutes and the wait was well worth it. Although the kitchen was busy, we were served promptly with great service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I had dinner there on Sunday Sept 30th and as always had a wonderful dining experience! I had the duck and my wife had the seared scallops. Our server was Elisha and she was delightful and charming! Thanks for a wonderful experience and we will be back in New Buffalo in January.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extremely slow service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We went in for lunch today. We were seated at a dirty table even though there were plenty of clean, empty tables available. We waited 20 minutes to place our order. Twenty minutes later we still were not served even though other folks who were seated after us had been served. After 45 minutes still no food...and we had just ordered salads. Finally walked out and had a great lunch at Nanis cafe in union pier

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best service, food, and atmosphere around!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Went in for lunch and we were greeted with a smile right when we walked in! We sat inside the beautiful dinning room and Micheal was our server! He was a pleasure to have as our server. He recommended the tuna tartar as an appetizer which was excellent. I was in the mood for breakfast, so he suggested the steak and eggs! My steak was prepared exactly how I asked. Overall amazing time, and Micheal made our experience fun and relaxing. There was one other server Kathy who even came to refill our waters! Great staff at the Bentwood Tavern and excellent food as well! We will definitely be back soon!! Thank you for the great lunch!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentwood Tavern also viewed

 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Bentwood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentwood Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.