We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garbage” 1 of 5 stars
Review of O'Brien Inn & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added O'Brien Inn & Resort to your Saves list
O'Brien Inn & Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11539 O_Brien Court, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
KY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Garbage”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Run, pay the extra to stay somewhere else! Filthiest hotel I've ever been in. Sons bed broke, come to find out it had been duct taped 2gether. Pool looks like swamp water, look for gators to inhabit the pool soon. Floors are sticky, water smells of sulfer/well water, carpet has mold smell, water ran all nite in the bathroom. Our rooms were not cleaned for two days, and I had to go after our own towels they had stacked up on the clerks desk. Manager refused to tell me his name. I later got it from a cop's wife, who had a horrible experience with him as well. Door keys did not work. Pool combination password was null. Was told "the maid'' got sick and went home, only to learn there were 5 maids, and no one got their rooms cleaned. I asked for a discount, manager said ok & wrote something down behind the desk...upon ckout, the clerk showed me where he wrote "no discount" for our room!
The clerk continued to tell me she had a lawsuit against the hotel, yet was still working there....puzzled on that one. We contested the bill with our credit card. The hotel failed to reply to our written complaint, so we paid nothing for the wkend stay in hell! There was a line of 6 or 7 ppl with complaints as we checked out, all of which filled out a complaint form about the nasty service we all received and the attitude of the manager, Kyle. I am shocked this hotel is still operating. The health dept should shut it down, as well as osha. When we come back to Michigan we will be staying elsewhere. I even stood there & told the clerk I was not paying for our stay, that I would contest the charges, she told me she would do the same thing!

Room Tip: runnnnnnnnnnnnnn, don't even come close to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    3
    5
    28
See reviews for
14
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is HORRIBLE. The hallways and rooms all wreak of carpet cleaning chemicals. Our bathroom was filthy and the water was a brownish yellow color, smelled of copper and left your skin smelling metallic after showering. Even worse, our bathroom was infested with fruit flies!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Please do not stay here, this place is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Screwed up reservation, manager not on sight on Labor day weekend, place stunk. Hotel linens were dingy and old, blanket stained, towels were rough and shabby. Everything about this place sucks and we had the best room in the dump. Sorry I did not read more on hotels in the area, next time I will be staying at the casino know matter what the price. We were told this Presidential suite normally cost $250.00 we got it for $109 since they messed up our reservations. The place was old, Jacuzzi was disgusting, dirty, smelly, old carpeting, old furniture, old t.v., noisy vents, dreary old curtains, bed was tilted and linens felt dirty like they were not changed. Have never commented on a place other then to praise it but felt the need to be honest about our experience. STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!! Really should be shut down.

Room Tip: Sure, no such good room at this location. Doesn't exist.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I must say I was excited to hear they had a pool and a free breakfast! But then I walked into this outdated junk yard and wished I hadn't made reservations, with their non existent cancelation policy! Our beds were nice in the fact that you could bounce on them and our room was somewhat clean! Our television was broken and the bathroom was gross! This place could be great if the right ownership invested into it! The pool was outdated but somewhat clean! The pool toilet was never cleaned and looked nasty! If you can ignore rust stains, nasty floors, broken everything, 1970 style junk, dirty bathrooms, and a below breakfast then this place is for you! Or you can save money for the casino and sleep in your vehicle! Run!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

please do not stay here. i am so sorry that i didn't read the reviews first. I spent $128 for such awful accomodations... hallways smelled of cigeratte smoke, overall feel of place was unused ...dumped.
smelly water in shower and slick...
towels so small and thin...
my husband was competining in 1/2 marathon and it was labor day weekend and everything was booked...

Room Tip: choose any where but here... a tent outside would have been a bit worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandoote
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Thanks to the poor reviews on this site, we canceled our reservations. No a/c, smelling of unine, funk and as* , rotten egg water and bugs did it for me. For the hell of it we did drive around the building and it's far from a resort. It really looks old and dumpy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The room they offered us was not clean, smelled of urine and funk. The floors were sticky (possibly from the urine) one of the beds broke when my 4 year sat on it. The door wouldn’t close or lock. There were no micro waves or refrigerators. I can’t see how anyone would spend the night there. Within an half hour of arriving my wife asked for our money back. We know of three families in the half hour we were there that demanded refunds and left because of the filth. The manager was rude and only agreed to refund half. One cannot be tired enough to stay at this garbage dump. There is no doubt in my mind the comment about bed bugs is true.We went up the road a bit and stayed at a super 8 for $10 more, it was clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Find a different place to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Brien Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Brien Inn & Resort

Address: 11539 O_Brien Court, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Brien Inn & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing accomodations while visiting New Buffalo, Michigan. O'Brien's Inn & Resort welcomes you to share in our 98 Guest Rooms,wireless internet, small conference room,outdoor courtyard and sunning patio, indoor swimming pool, deluxe continental breakfast and welcoming staff. Conveniently located 1/2 mile from Four Winds Casino Resort and Whittaker Woods Golf Course, one mile from New Buffalo's quaint downtown and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your O'Brien Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Brien Hotel New Buffalo
o`Brien Inn And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Brien Inn & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.