We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Comfort Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18830 LaPorte Road, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
New Buffalo
1 review
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

All in all the hotel was good. The room was clean and comfy. The carpet in reception could do with a clean - there were some stains but since you just pass through here its not a big deal. This is a great location for a drive into New Buffalo which is a really picturesque town on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    8
    6
    13
See reviews for
19
31
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had a lovely trip to New Buffalo and the Comfort Inn was close to the beach and convenient. The older woman that assisted us initially was fabulous and very helpful..the other employee that was there had her daughter at work with her and she sat on the computer all day. Was there when we left to go to the beach and was there at 9 pm still. The rooms were comfortable and clean...breakfast was good. Overall would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Clean and comfortable. We were looking for a spot to stay after a long drive from Iowa. We decided on New Buffalo. The Comfort Inn isn't fancy, but it is clean. Very affordable. Just down the road from the beach. The staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed for one night. Hotel was lovely. The young woman at check-in was very pleasant and volunteered restaurant information to make our stay more enjoyable. This was probably the cleanest Comfort Inn that I had stayed in for quite a while. Didn't use the pool (a little small), but the fitness room was well equipped and the room was immaculate. Breakfast was the typical inclusive type. Didn't see a breakfast attendant though. Coffee was inconveniently located in the lobby and not the breakfast area. The only noise we heard was a woman talking in the wee hours about how well she slept and a strange bird noise under the window. Beds were comfortable. Furnishings were very nice. Bathroom was modern and clean. Woman at checkout was efficient, organized and pleasant. Two years ago, we stayed at the Holdiay Inn and this was equally as nice, if not better.

Room Tip: Probably, not the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Clean and comfortable, helpful attentive staff. Good rates. Very comfortable king sized bed mini fridge, microwave good tv. Oh and the location is very nice. Free breakfast, though not lavish was fine. The area is great and this motel allows you to save some bucks and enjoy the dining/gambling/beaches in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in back face nice woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAPLES
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just got back from an overnight trip to New Buffalo. Spent the day at the beach, enjoying the sun and the water... needed a place sleep.
My primary requirements were simple. Clean and comfortable.
The Comfort Inn lived up to it's name.
We had a very comfortable king size bed. a mini fridge, microwave, basic shower/tub set up in bath. free wi-fi, and a hot breakfast.
All for under $95.....
which for that market is amazing.
Now I wouldn't stay here for a week, but for a nite or two, it works out great.
Staff was friendly and efficient.
The breakfast was only average, but it was good enough.
There is also a pool, hot tub, laundry facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here this week while I came up for the Collective Soul concert at Four Winds. I figured a Comfort Inn had to be fairly decent.

My first impression was - odd placement. The area is covered in rolling hills and forests. When you get off the highway, there's gas station and a McD's, both of which are fairly typical for Michigan. Just a bit down the road is what looks like a one-story motel...but when you drive up, it almost startles you. It looks like the one-story motel (I forget the name) had part of its property bought up and a Comfort Inn was thrown in there. I'm not sure how to describe it other than the CI looks slightly out of place. Kind of a "we need to put a major hotel chain in here...so let's squeeze it in." The parking lot held maybe 10 cars? 12 at most?

When I first walked into the lobby, there are two sets of doors. In between the doors was this major waft of...only way I can compare it is a combination of Seniors Residence and smoke. If you've walked into a nursing home, you'd know the smell. It didn't phase me, but it stood out multiple times.

The front lobby is comfortable with lots of chairs and such to sit in. I don't know who was working the counter (a lady), but she came across as rather rushed; threw a lot of info at me very quick, like I was bugging her. Barely smiled, either.

When I got to the room - zero complaints. Chair, bed, nice TV, clean bathroom, giant window with easy-to-open windows, fridge/microwave. I loved it.

The hotel is 30-seconds south of town and a five-min drive from Four Winds. It's as solid of a location as you can get; easy access to everything, but not within everything, so it's quiet.

Check-out was a breeze; less than 30-seconds, she smiled (different lady), and all was good.

If you're in the area, and need a good, inexpensive room, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 18830 LaPorte Road, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel New Buffalo
Rodeway Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.