We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dinning option when in New Buffalo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stray Dog Bar & Grill

The Stray Dog Bar & Grill
245 N. Whittaker Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
+(1)269-469-2727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“great dinning option when in New Buffalo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We saw good reviews for this restaurant and decided to try it out. After a wait (45min at 5pm on a Saturday), we were seated. It is a cute and fun atmosphere and the food was delicious! Appropriate for families, couples, or friends. There is rooftop seating, but it did not open until 8pm. I would highly recommend enjoying dinner here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    106
    36
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stopped on our way home from visiting Chicago after using the trip advisor nearby feature. We sat at the bar - excellent sliders, French dip, guacamole & chips & hot dogs! My family was mad at me for stopping then apologized & thanked me for the find!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place, but expect a wait for seating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Really enjoyed our trip to the Stray Dog Bar & Grill, but waiting for seating is insane. Often 45 min to 1hr.30minute waits. If you are with children, it can be very trying. If you are all over 21 yrs. old you can sometimes have a shorter wait for a table upstairs on the roof. The atmosphere was great. The food was good, but can't say it was one of the best meals we have ever eaten in a restaurant. It is in a beach town with a lot of traffic both cars & pedestrians. Would highly recommend a stop here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Michigan Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Every time we visit New Buffalo Michigan we visit the Stray Dog. Each time we come here we try something new off the menu. We started off with the homemade southwest egg roll appetizers. They are TO DIE FOR! I had chicken tacos and my husband had a burger. Both were excellent.

The decor is very rustic with a modern twist.
The customer service is excellent. We came during the Ship and Shore Festival (one of the busiest times for them) and we had no problem getting a table in the bar even with a very long wait for the restaurant.

We highly recommend this place!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Went on a double date with friends. Waited forever to get a table but it WAS Saturday evening! Drinks on the rooftop while we waited were awesome and when we finally got food, it was DELICIOUS!!!!! Our server was great and very attentive despite a packed place!! Can't wait to go back!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stray Dog Bar & Grill also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to The Stray Dog Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stray Dog Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.