We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy hotel with a staff that goes above and beyond to please!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbor Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Harbor Grand to your Saves list
The Harbor Grand
111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Minooka, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very cozy hotel with a staff that goes above and beyond to please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

What a nice place! Everything was very clean and the hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay (it was not difficult as we were one of the only couples there). The area is wonderful and all of the ammenities are great! Some of the highlights for us were the 24-hour Ben and Jerrys delivered to your room and a breakfast brought right to your door in a charming picnic basket!! The night before you fill out exactly what you want and at what time...very nice complimentary touch! The pool was slightly cold but the hot tub worked just fine. A regular room is a two room suite with two tvs, a couch, and spa shower. All in all a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    61
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
118
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I have visited the Harbor Grand twice this year. My first visit was with my daughter and two young grandchildren. We stayed in a two room suite and it suited us just fine: room with a tv and couch and a separate room for sleeping. Our expectations were for comfort and clean and those were met.

Second visit was in October when I met with a friend who lives in Michigan and we had a girlfriends visit. Harbor View, two double beds..quite comfortable and fresh..and breakfast in bed. The staff was friendly but not overly so...I think that if I had come with my spouse with the intention of a romantic visit, I would have been sorely disappointed.

The interior needs attention and cleaning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We arrived without a reservation on a very wet, cold rainy night. The Harbor Grand staff could not have been nicer. We went for the handicap room with two queen beds next to the elevator equipment as it was a larger room. We heard a little noise but nothing to complain about. The beds were comfortable and the linens excellent. The shower was huge with good water pressure. The food and service in the lounge were also good. Breakfast was served in a basket the next morning. It was actually nice to eat in the room without having to get dressed. Overall a nice place to stay.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Touring through the lower Michigan area adjacent Lake Michigan we needed accommodations for the night. There are many B & B's around there, but this WATERFRONT Hotel has them all beat! New as of 2005 this 4 start hotel's rooms have fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, great comfortable beds, flat panel Tv, mini frig, and a wonderrful view right on the harbor overlooking the marina. There is a restaurant , pool and jacuzzi too! Free Wifi - a must- is included! A morning breakfast picnic basket is also included. No reservation & midweek we got a great rate!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here on a Sunday night using their promotional special (about $150, half of what it costs in the summer). We thought the hotel was OK, but not worth the money.

Pros: location is great. If they open the Amtrak station across the street, it will be even better for Chicago travelers. Rooms are nice and quiet and breakfast delivered to your room is a nice bonus. The bikes you can rent for free are fun to ride around town.

Cons: Staff was just OK. When I pay this much, I like to get recommendations. We felt bad for another couple checking out when we were - they asked about local wineries. The front desk couldn't give any recommendations, which is a shame since many people visit the area for wineries (we helped them out as we frequent them). Room view was of the harbor, but no outdoor deck or anything. Loud noises in the morning from deliveries to the restaurant. Workout room is LITTLE - one bike and one treadmill and a little weight machine. The staff really, really lacked information on the local area. We asked for the hours of a wine store across the street from the property and the front desk staff person said he had never heard of it and didn't know the hours!! It's across the street! That was really the biggest disappointment - lack of local knowledge by the staff.

Room - The room was nice with a fireplace and jacuizzi tub, but it wasn't as big as I thought it would be. Small table in the corner, mini fridge, no microwave.

We've stayed at the sister property - Marina Grand - before for the same price and were blown away by the rooms and service. We felt the Harbor Grand was just OK.
We would not stay again, but would stay at Marina Grand again. Marina Grand is more modern, but we felt the staff knew more there and the rooms were much bigger with full size kitchens, living areas, etc.

To the hotel manager: I highly recommend you work with your staff on educating them on local events and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We have stayed at the Harbor Grand numerous times and we have never been disappointed. Our last visit was in August. The hotel was booked to capacity but still service was outstanding and our room was very quiet. It is a beautiful hotel with all the amenities you could ask for. We have always had a harbor view room which offers a great view of the harbor and the lake. The hotel is right in town and there are many restaurants nearby. The Stray Dog is a favorite of ours. If you are looking for a romantic week-end getaway the Harbor Grand is the place. We wish the bar area was open later than 10:00 p.m. Also the bartender didn't know how to make a martini which we thought was odd. We can overlook that considering how great everything else was.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on a Friday/Saturday. This was our second time we stayed at Harbor Grand. We like this hotel because it is small and located so close to town and the beach. The services provided are wonderful: breakfast basket, free bikes and beach chairs. The staff is VERY kind and friendly. When booking this time, I thought I booked a whirlpool room, but when we arrived and saw the room, it was a village view suite with just a tub/shower. The front desk kindly switched us without a question and they were very accomodating. The only downside is the cost... but you get what you pay for...This hotel has the service of a bed/breakfast! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Harbor Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbor Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.