We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the AmTrack for a get away to the Harbor Grand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbor Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Harbor Grand to your Saves list
The Harbor Grand
111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Neenah, Wi
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Take the AmTrack for a get away to the Harbor Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We wanted to take a short trip on the Amtrack which lead us to New Buffalo, Michigan. We stayed at the Harbor Grand because it was located on Lake Michigan. What a wonderful place to stay. The staff is excellent! The room was very clean and our view of the harbor couldn't be beat. Loved the gas fire place also

It was a slower time of year so we enjoyed the pool and their hot tub. The town is right around the corner and has a good selection of dining places and bars. If someone is looking to do something different.......take the AmTrack to New Buffalo and check this place out. You may want to check out reserving a time for the local cab to come pick you up. Patty that runs the cab service is wonderful. Also, the Four Winds Casino on the other side of town is beautiful and worth seeing also

We had an excellent time in this little city.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    67
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
42
123
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I recently decided to go to New Buffalo, MI to check out the Four Winds Casino and spend the night. The Four Winds casino hotel was sold out, so we decided to stay a nice little hotel in town and found the Harbor Grand. Hotel staff was very friendly upon check in. Liked the Frank Lloyd Wright style of the hotel too. We got a junior suite at a great discounted price (just asked the hotel staff for a discount and they gave me one! pretty easy). The room was nice,large and clean. The continental breakfast came at the appointed time in a cute little basket. We appreciated the special touches of this hotel and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

This was our second stay at the Harbor Grand, and again we had no complaints. We drove to Chicago for the day, then returned to New Buffalo for the night. Check in shortly after 4PM was quick and easy. I had previously booked a king suite with a spa shower, town view. We were given a 2 room suite on the third floor. Some of the furniture was a bit worn, the table had a few dings on the ends. The huge flat screen TV was nice, the livingroom had a comfortable couch, easy chair with footstool and table with two chairs. Middle area was a counter, sink combo with refrigerator. I honestly do not remember a microwave in the room.
Bathroom was large with lots of light. The spa shower is a large walk in shower with two big shower heads on either side. There is a control for each shower head.
The third area of the suite is the bedroom, with a privacy door. The king bed was very comfortable with 5 bed pillows plus 2 more in a closet. The view was of the town, small parking area and train track. We had 2 Amtrak trains go past at a very rapid speed, certainly would not keep anyone awake. There will be a new Amtrak depot stop directly in front of the Inn sometime in the future. There were people working on the new depot Tuesday when we checked out. We would certainly park our car and ride into Chicago from this location.
We enjoyed the breakfast delivered to our room. As other have posted, you get a menu at check in and then pick what you would like delivered to your room in the AM. Check out was a breeze.
We did not see the indoor pool or lower level restaurant and bar this trip. We will certainly return and consider this our get-away Inn.

  • Liked — Classy lodging, quiet, private,
  • Disliked — having to come home.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Harbor Grand three nights for a getaway. Our suite was large and nicely furnished. The beds were very comfortable and the double-head shower was a nice touch. The breakfast was fantastic. We also enjoyed taking the hotel's bikes for a ride down to the beach. The only problem was the cable TV was not working when we arrived, but this was fixed promptly. Overall, it was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

It was my 35th birthday and we stayed in room 311.
We were told the price was a discount, turns out it was not.
The room was not cleaned, the room showed alot of wear and tear and the only breakfast we got delivered to our room was a muffin to share.
We have been to New Buffalo several times and I have to say
the hotel never contacted us about our situation to say sorry or to
refund half of our stay.
I encourage people to stay at other hotels in the area, you will receive a hot breakfast and very clean rooms and still save $$.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Room view and the breakfast.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertKemper, General Manager at The Harbor Grand, responded to this review, October 3, 2008
I am very sorry to hear of this disappointing stay. I will investigate the service failures and correct them immediately. A letter was sent to this guest, but did not reach them prior to this posting. I will try to reach the guest this next week. I am confident that this was an isolated incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

We were in Indiana heading back to Chicago and decided to extend our trip another night. We have stayed in Union Pier a number of times but wanted to stay someplace else that might have a better selection of restaurants/bars. I called ahead and was able to get a good rate. The front desk staff were all very nice and professional. We wanted a harbor view room with a walk out patio. If it wasn't raining, it would have been enjoyable. Ther was a nice semi-private patio with a table and a few chairs. The room was tastefully decorated and very clean. The location was excellent - on the harbor, short walk to the beach, and walking distance to several restaurant/bars. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Room and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at this property 5 times. And everytime it is awesome. The style is very Frank Lloyd Wright, with clean accents and touches. The beds are awesome. And the best part is that they bring you breakfast in bed (standard with the room). They bring you a huge basket filled with whatever you choose. It's simply perfect. They also have 24-hour Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream delivery to the room (they have practically every flavor). And the rooms also offer a DVD player and free DVD rentals at the front desk. The King room (which we always stay in) have a great fireplace and jacuzzi tub. During the nicer months, there is free bike rental so that you can ride down to the beach, which is practically next door. I would HIGHLY recommend this property. It's simply perfect.

  • Liked — Everything....The Harbor Grand is perfect!!
  • Disliked — Nothing. We love this hotel.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Harbor Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbor Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.