We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location. Beautiful beach on Lake Michigan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbor Grand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harbor Grand
Save
You added The Harbor Grand to your Saves list
111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location. Beautiful beach on Lake Michigan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel. In room complimentary breakfast very nice touch. Right across from Amtrak station proved to be no problem and very convenient. Indoor pool with outdoor deck. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    75
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
132
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at The Harbor Grand for one night before the busy Labor Day weekend (we were told by many that New Buffalo gets very busy over the holidays). The hotel is at a great location in New Buffalo. We ate dinner at The Terrace Room for dinner and sat outside. It is right on the harbor, so views of boats, but nice location. Food and service were good, maybe a little pricey. The room had a nice view of the harbor and Lake Michigan in the distance. Room was a nice size, updated bathroom and very clean. It had a tv, dvd player, mini refrigerator, fireplace, spa tub but no balcony. The hotel is within walking distance of bars, restaurants, the beach, etc. We did a couples massage at this hotel. It was set up in what used to be a bedroom. So not very fancy but it was a nice massage and I would do it again. I was very pleased with the service and our overall hotel stay. We plan on staying her again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visit New Buffalo at least once every summer, but usually rent a house. This time my boyfriend and I stayed at the Harbor Grand. We arrived early and did get early check in which was great. Although, we opened up our door to find an old small outdated room. We stayed in the king harbor view on the 2nd floor. There are NO balconies which was so disappointing only a sliding door. The view was very poor a huge tree took up most of the harbor view. The tv was old and you could tell the room and hotel need updating. For almost $400/night I expect more.

The only positive was the location- walking distance to the lake and downtown area. The staff was also very courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor harbor may have a better view but still no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for a couple of days to celebrate the return of our kids to college--and peace!. The rooms are well appointed and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent---you can walk to fun shops and bars and restaurants. The hotel restaurant is excellent, with both inside and outside seating. They have adirondack chairs on the lawn looking over the harbor--great place for a martini! Breakfast is delivered in a picnic basket---a fun change! Not inexpensive, but worth it. We will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice weekend get away. Great location to the beach and other areas in the
Harbor Country. Breakfast in your room is included daily with an ok selection of yogurt, muffins and coffee/juice. Our room was located next to the pool deck and workout facilities; we didn't have a problem with carryover sound. As a matter of the pool deck felt like our private area to our room. My only compliant was that the plumbing is noisy; you can hear the toilets flushing and our bathroom fan was extremely loud. Also the room had a stale smell to it, but once the window was open it went away. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean upon arrival (sans stale smell) and cleaned by the time we would come back by 2 pm.

Room Tip: Go with a harbor side view. Otherwise, you may get the sound of Amtrak coming through town. The hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fantastic weekend stay in new buffalo!

We normally stay at the sister property, marina grand, but wanted to try something different.
We arrived early (around 1:00) and as luck would have it were able to check in. Note the normal check in time is 4:00.

The rooms are starting to show their age and the corridors are quite dark but all in all the hotel is lovely. I do wish that upper floors had balconies since part of the joy of going to a beach town is enjoying the view, but I did like the comfortable bed and separate tub and shower! Note if you book a suite your view is of the parking lot and train tracks!

The harbor grand is an easy walk to the beach and they provide beach chairs and towels. They also have a small pool and hot tub that gets quite crowded busy season. We loved the continental breakfast delivered in a basket to our door and the restaurant downstairs was terrific for dinner.

I think we will return to marina grand next time because of the balconies, the lobby shop and the liveliness of bentwood tavern. But, harbor grand is a nice hotel in the heart of new buffalo and the friendly staff and lovely views made the stay worthwhile!

Room Tip: Third floor has best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a wonderful, romantic getaway spot! Very relaxing and the staff was top-rate! Our room overlooked the harbor and was perfect. Loved the beautiful bathroom with double shower and Jacuzzi tub with thick, luxorius towels. The breakfast basket delivered to our room was delightful and so nice to be able to relax in our robes and eat. We hope to return soon to enjoy the fall color. Lots of activities in the area with the beach close by.The staff surprised us with a complimentary bottle of chilled wine in our room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbor Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.