We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit with excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbor Grand

Save Saved
You added The Harbor Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Harbor Grand
111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice visit with excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice weekend get away. Great location to the beach and other areas in the
Harbor Country. Breakfast in your room is included daily with an ok selection of yogurt, muffins and coffee/juice. Our room was located next to the pool deck and workout facilities; we didn't have a problem with carryover sound. As a matter of the pool deck felt like our private area to our room. My only compliant was that the plumbing is noisy; you can hear the toilets flushing and our bathroom fan was extremely loud. Also the room had a stale smell to it, but once the window was open it went away. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean upon arrival (sans stale smell) and cleaned by the time we would come back by 2 pm.

Room Tip: Go with a harbor side view. Otherwise, you may get the sound of Amtrak coming through town. The hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    48
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
97
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fantastic weekend stay in new buffalo!

We normally stay at the sister property, marina grand, but wanted to try something different.
We arrived early (around 1:00) and as luck would have it were able to check in. Note the normal check in time is 4:00.

The rooms are starting to show their age and the corridors are quite dark but all in all the hotel is lovely. I do wish that upper floors had balconies since part of the joy of going to a beach town is enjoying the view, but I did like the comfortable bed and separate tub and shower! Note if you book a suite your view is of the parking lot and train tracks!

The harbor grand is an easy walk to the beach and they provide beach chairs and towels. They also have a small pool and hot tub that gets quite crowded busy season. We loved the continental breakfast delivered in a basket to our door and the restaurant downstairs was terrific for dinner.

I think we will return to marina grand next time because of the balconies, the lobby shop and the liveliness of bentwood tavern. But, harbor grand is a nice hotel in the heart of new buffalo and the friendly staff and lovely views made the stay worthwhile!

Room Tip: Third floor has best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a wonderful, romantic getaway spot! Very relaxing and the staff was top-rate! Our room overlooked the harbor and was perfect. Loved the beautiful bathroom with double shower and Jacuzzi tub with thick, luxorius towels. The breakfast basket delivered to our room was delightful and so nice to be able to relax in our robes and eat. We hope to return soon to enjoy the fall color. Lots of activities in the area with the beach close by.The staff surprised us with a complimentary bottle of chilled wine in our room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAPEER
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The man at check-in was very nice and helped us several times with suggestions and directions.
Our room was large, a bedroom and living area. The air vent was in the bedroom and it cooled down nicely, but the living area was very stuffy. Thank goodness we brought our own fan and placed it in the hall so the cool air could come into the living space.
There was a two-headed shower and we got a little excited about it, but it really wasn't all that special. The water leaked around the bottom. You felt like you were drowning when you tried to shave your legs because there was no little niche to place your toes in. Men have to stop designing showers.
The bed was comfortable but we could hear voices from the adjoining room.
Breakfast came in a little basket at our door. Granola and bagels, yogurt and milk...it held us till lunch.
I am not sure if we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great overnight getaway from the Chicago crush. Great beds, breakfast basket, and a fireplace make for great therapy. Harbor view is a must any time of year. The Bentwood Tavern has a great creative chef in their sister hotel next door. Short walk to the beach but the beach is better in South Haven.

Room Tip: Higher the better on the harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile


This hotel definitely exceeded our expectations. We had a harbor view double on the lower level; we had an outdoor patio right by the lawn going down to the harbor. There were tall junipers on both sides, giving us privacy from other rooms. The room was impeccable, the beds comfortable, and the bedding and towels were luxurious. We enjoyed sitting in adirondack chairs near the water, getting coffee or tea round the clock and eating in the hotel restaurant. They serve 'breakfast in bed'. You select what you want a d when you want it the night before. Promptly at the appointed time, a friendly staff member Delia's a basket containing breakfast. It is enjoyable to eat in the room or on the patio.

The location is an easy walk to the beach, and right in the heart of downtown. It is also across from the Amtrak station in the event that is your chosen way to arrive. There are bicycles available free for guests. Each room has a DVD player and the hotel has free DVDs for checkout. The price is very fair for all that is provided.

We will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Harbor Grand and it exceeded our expectations. From check in to check out our stay was flawless. The staff, especially Terry was so pleasant and helpful. We had lots of questions about the area and they were more than happy to help us. We are already thinking about the next time we can visit. We stayed in a king room on the non-harbor side. I think it was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. At our request, they had a little fridge and microwave set up in the room prior to arrival. The hotel offers so many nice, complimentary touches - a breakfast basket delivered to your room, large selection of dvd's and bike rentals to name a few. We rented bikes twice and each time had a great ride through a lovely area of beautiful homes near the water. One of the days we visited the Round Barn Brewery and Lemon Creek Vineyard. We did not dine at the restaurant on site but did eat at Redamak's which was really yummy. After one of our bike rides we stopped at the sister property to check it out and it was really nice. We asked the front desk staff for a casual restaurant recommendation in the area and a super nice employee (Keenan?) suggested Rio's which did not disappoint. We will most definitely be back to the Harbor Grand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel
Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Harbor Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbor Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.