We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbor Grand

Save Saved
You added The Harbor Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harbor Grand
111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Ann-Arbor-MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

We stayed at the Harbor Grand over the Memorial Day weekend and were very impressed with the hotel. The front desk staff was helpful and courteous. We stayed in a harbor view room with a comfortable king bed & fireplace. The room had a nice view of the marina and Lake Michigan off in the distance. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom had a large Jacuzzi tub and nice tiled shower with glass door. The harbor view rooms do not have coffee makers, but there is coffee available in the lobby 24/7. The city view suites do have coffee makers, I was told. We wish that there would have been a balcony in the room. There is a sliding door opening to a faux balcony that allows for a nice view and fresh air. Ours appeared to be the only room that did not have a screen for the slider. We were lucky that it was cool and early enough in the season that bugs weren’t a problem as we slept with the slider open. The fresh air was wonderful. Complimentary bikes are available for guest use – a nice touch. On the morning that we were leaving, the bathroom outlets stopped working. Pushing the GFCI reset on the plugs didn’t help. When we mentioned the plug & screen problem on check out, we were pleasantly surprised to be partially credited for our inconvenience. Being militant non-smokers, it was much appreciated that the hotel was all smoke-free. We would recommend the Harbor Grand without hesitation.
The Four Winds Casino is only a few miles away and is worth a visit. We were amazed by how huge it was and impressed by the construction and décor. While not smoke-free, their air handlers must have been pretty efficient as we didn’t notice the usual casino cigarette stench after returning to our room.
The Stray Dog Bar & Grill is a block away from the hotel. They have good food & drink and roof top dining which was fun and offers a nice view.

  • Liked — The room & views
  • Disliked — No coffee maker in room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    56
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
41
111
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We just stayed this past weekend at The Harbor Grand. This was a romantic getaway for my husband and I to escape Chicago for a bit. From the start, we were extremely pleased with the check-in process. The front desk attendant was very helpful and knowledgeable. We had some questions on restaurants so the attendant gave us a stack of local menus to check out. You instantly notice the overall design of the hotel when walking in: Mission Style Architecture that is comfortable and cozy with lots of dark wood and deep natural colors. We booked a Harbor King room with fireplace & Jacuzzi tub. Upon entering our room, we were very impressed with the quality. The bathroom was awesome with a large 2-person Jacuzzi tub, separate beautifully tiled shower, and nice vanity area (all were impeccably clean and seemed to be very new). The bedroom area was a standard hotel size (did have a nice TV with DVD player; DVD’s can be loaned out free at the front desk) and the bed itself had very cozy and soft cotton sheets. The room reflected the overall Mission Style quite well. I would definitely recommend booking a Harbor view room; the water is very close to the hotel. The view is just beautiful & you cannot beat turning on your fireplace, relaxing in bed, and looking out onto the harbor. Rooms facing the city really don’t face much at all; you might dislike the train tracks that these rooms look onto. Within the hotel, the bar/restaurant is very nice. It is small, and they only serve a couple food items, but it is a very welcoming place. From 5 to 6pm as a guest, you receive a complimentary glass of wine. We did take advantage of this as well as coming back for dessert later in the night…We had a glass of wine in front of the fireplace on the oversized leather couch and asked to take dessert with us back to our room. We were pleased that they did not throw our cheesecake & pecan pie into a plastic to-go box or anything. Instead, they presented it nicely on plates and gave us some linen napkins & forks to take up to our room. The next morning, continental breakfast is served promptly to your door in a charming basket.



We did take a short walk along the Harbor to the hotels sister property, the Marina Grand. We were shocked to enter and see the ultra-contemporary design of the place. We walked right into the Brentwood Tavern for drinks at the bar…we found the place to be so cool that we stayed for a couple appetizers. Before leaving, we asked to see one of their rooms. We looked at a one-bedroom king suite. It was unbelieving chic & contemporary with another amazing bathroom and flat screen TV’s, a full kitchen and living room. When going back to New Buffalo, we will be staying at the Marina Grand with some friends as it is a perfect party place and suits our more modern taste.



If you are into a traditionally styled hotel stay at the Harbor Grand; if you prefer a modern style stay at the Marina Grand. Both properties are fantastic and are the best hotels in the area. Both offer great location, service, and amenities for the little town of New Buffalo . Things to do: Right across the main entrance to the Harbor Grand is a small wine & cigar shop called “Vino 100”…if you buy Champagne (as we did) ask the bartender for some glasses back at the hotel (when you get your complimentary glass of wine) to enjoy your champagne in your room with dessert. For shopping, check out the outlets in Michigan City . For gambling, check out the new Four Winds casino (it is the nicest casino in the Midwest now – make sure to check with the front desk on catching the shuttle to the casino). Food: Check out the Stray Dog right across from the hotel (next to Vino 100) for a lively atmosphere and do not miss dinner & drinks at the Brentwood Tavern.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

We stayed at the Harbor Grand for two nights and just loved it. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was well appointed and the fireplace is a nice touch for a winter stay.

Breakfast is ordered the night before and promptly delivered to your door at the indicated time.

We used the Harbor Grand as a base to visit the two local casinos, shop the outlet mail, visit a couple of local wineries, and then take the commuter train from Michigan City to Chicago for the day.

As an example of their attention to detail, we had about three inches of snow fall overnight. When we went out to our car, of course the parking lot had been cleared, but they even hand shoveled between the cars so we didn`t have to walk in snow to get to our car.

Winter rates averaged $125 for a Thursday/Friday stay.

  • Liked — The fireplace, the service
  • Disliked — web reservations not functioning
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

This was my second stay at this hotel, the first time was with my kids probably not long after it opened. So, I remembered it was nice with excellent romantic potential. Unfortunately, a few incidents this time around marred my first good impression.

We checked in, picked up our room key and headed up. It was pretty dark in the room and flicking on the lights revealed someone's hiking boots next to the fire place, a suitcase, etc. Eeeek! I am so glad no one was there when we had walked right in. I have never had that happen, so I was pretty freaked out. We went down and explained the problem to the young women at the desk and received new keys for the room next to the one we had just been in and a mumbled explanation about the system having been down.

Well, about fifteen minutes later in our newly assigned room, there was a knock on our door and I yelled "coming". As I headed for the door, trying to figure out why someone would be there, it was opened by another young lady who appeared to be an employee, who had entered. She apologized, backing out, saying she did not think the room was occupied. Was I glad we had not been doing anything that did not bear walking in on!!!

Since it was our first time away together, neither of us wanted to to make a scene-we were here for a pleasant, relaxing time that the Harbor County area provides. But, looking back, I was pretty shocked that this happened. In all fairness, the rooms are indeed beautiful, although the fireplace can quickly push the temperature up to the 80's, so watch that. Right now, there is contruction all around the hotel. The banging noise of heavy machinery goes on until about 5 PM and can be heard in the room. Our breakfast order in the basket was off, but the blueberry muffin was very delicious.

Would I go back? Maybe because I love the area and don't always want to stay in an inn or B & B. But I have stayed in both the Best Western and Holiday Inn in town and they are pretty good. And I have never be given the keys to someone else's room or had someone walk into mine in either!

  • Liked — It is beautiful.
  • Disliked — Mistakes the staff made.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

My husband and I picked the Grand Harbor for a midweek getaway in June. We were so pleasantly surprised with the hotel experience! When we arrived, the staff had put champagne and Vosges chocolates in our room (for no special occasion.) We booked a fireplace room with a harbor view, and it was so lovely. The view of the harbor was gorgeous! The bathroom was amazing, including the large jacuzzi tub! And even though it was June, it still got a little cool at night with the windows open, so we had the fire going, which was so cozy. We really want to find an excuse to go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

We nearly missed staying in New Buffalo. This would have been a tragedy because this beautiful little village was one of the highlights of our road trip. And the Harbor Grand proved to be the best hotel we stayed in.

We were driving from Chicago to Detroit so arrived on-spec without booking. The lady on the desk could not have been more helpful. Rather than list all the amenities of each room on offer, she simply prepared a number of swipe cards and told us to take our pick. We settled on a village view suite which was ideal for us. Never have we been made to feel more welcome - or come across staff more friendly and accommodating.

The room was well furnished with excellent bedding. The bathroom was clean and very modern - with a double shower.

When we chose not to eat in the hotel, they showed us menus of all the local restaurants so we could check them out first. The kids were shown the free DVD collection - and invited to help themselves to drinks. Nothing new - perhaps, but it was the manner of the staff more than what they did.

Breakfast is selected from an option card and served in the room at the time of our choosing. It's complimentary so there's nothing to complain about. Basically, cereal, rolls, fruit and yoghurt. Certainly good enough to start the day. There are local cafes if something more substantial and cooked is required - but this was more than adequate.

After much thinking, it was hard to find a single fault. If there is one, it's the train line that runs past the village side. Very occasionally, you'll hear the hoot of a train as it flies past.

We only stayed one night - but left feeling that we'd like to have stayed longer if there had been time. We will be back.

Local recommendation: Brewster's Italian restaurant. Superb!

  • Liked — The staff and the comfort of the rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was perfect.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

I stayed one night as a part of a business trip. This hotel was clean, the rooms were very well-appointed and the beds very comfortable. The view of the harbor was pleasant. The patio off the room on the lower floor was very nice. The rooms were not overly large but adequate. Good coffee in the lobby-not just the usual watery stuff. Hotel delivered a continental breakfast to the room which consisted of a freshly baked muffin, juice, a pot of coffee. It was just right. I'd stay here again as a first choice for the area. Price was 139.00

  • Liked — Quiet, comfortable, pleasant setting
  • Disliked — Restaurant wasn't open.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Harbor Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbor Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.