We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbor Grand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harbor Grand
Save
You added The Harbor Grand to your Saves list
111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
LAPEER
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The man at check-in was very nice and helped us several times with suggestions and directions.
Our room was large, a bedroom and living area. The air vent was in the bedroom and it cooled down nicely, but the living area was very stuffy. Thank goodness we brought our own fan and placed it in the hall so the cool air could come into the living space.
There was a two-headed shower and we got a little excited about it, but it really wasn't all that special. The water leaked around the bottom. You felt like you were drowning when you tried to shave your legs because there was no little niche to place your toes in. Men have to stop designing showers.
The bed was comfortable but we could hear voices from the adjoining room.
Breakfast came in a little basket at our door. Granola and bagels, yogurt and milk...it held us till lunch.
I am not sure if we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    74
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
130
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great overnight getaway from the Chicago crush. Great beds, breakfast basket, and a fireplace make for great therapy. Harbor view is a must any time of year. The Bentwood Tavern has a great creative chef in their sister hotel next door. Short walk to the beach but the beach is better in South Haven.

Room Tip: Higher the better on the harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile


This hotel definitely exceeded our expectations. We had a harbor view double on the lower level; we had an outdoor patio right by the lawn going down to the harbor. There were tall junipers on both sides, giving us privacy from other rooms. The room was impeccable, the beds comfortable, and the bedding and towels were luxurious. We enjoyed sitting in adirondack chairs near the water, getting coffee or tea round the clock and eating in the hotel restaurant. They serve 'breakfast in bed'. You select what you want a d when you want it the night before. Promptly at the appointed time, a friendly staff member Delia's a basket containing breakfast. It is enjoyable to eat in the room or on the patio.

The location is an easy walk to the beach, and right in the heart of downtown. It is also across from the Amtrak station in the event that is your chosen way to arrive. There are bicycles available free for guests. Each room has a DVD player and the hotel has free DVDs for checkout. The price is very fair for all that is provided.

We will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Harbor Grand and it exceeded our expectations. From check in to check out our stay was flawless. The staff, especially Terry was so pleasant and helpful. We had lots of questions about the area and they were more than happy to help us. We are already thinking about the next time we can visit. We stayed in a king room on the non-harbor side. I think it was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. At our request, they had a little fridge and microwave set up in the room prior to arrival. The hotel offers so many nice, complimentary touches - a breakfast basket delivered to your room, large selection of dvd's and bike rentals to name a few. We rented bikes twice and each time had a great ride through a lovely area of beautiful homes near the water. One of the days we visited the Round Barn Brewery and Lemon Creek Vineyard. We did not dine at the restaurant on site but did eat at Redamak's which was really yummy. After one of our bike rides we stopped at the sister property to check it out and it was really nice. We asked the front desk staff for a casual restaurant recommendation in the area and a super nice employee (Keenan?) suggested Rio's which did not disappoint. We will most definitely be back to the Harbor Grand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Harbor Grand. I wish we could have stayed longer. Our second-floor king room was wonderful, with a great view of the harbor and even a peek of Lake Michigan in the distance. I really enjoyed the warm colors and decor of the room, and the huge bathroom with whirlpool and walk-in shower was amazing!
We had a lovely dinner downstairs at the Terrace Room restaurant. The service was perfect and the food was delicious. Receiving the basket full of breakfast items at the designated time we had chosen the night before was a treat. And, while there's not a balcony off of the room, you can open the doors and there is a gate to close off the opening. We enjoyed having the doors open to see the great view of the harbor while eating our breakfast at the little table in the room.
The location is also great -- the entire area along the harbor is very scenic, and we were able to walk from the hotel right down to the gorgeous beach.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hope to return for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place was amazing! I have stayed at many hotels, and this one ranks near the top! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

This is a small hotel with approximately 55 rooms (3 floors). They do have a restaurant on the bottom level, but it is small. There were only 8 tables inside and I think a dozen or so out on the patio. So, if you would like to eat here you should make reservations.

We had a king room on the second floor that had a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The room and bathroom were SPOTLESS! The room overlooked the harbor and had sliding glass door so you could open it up and get fresh air, don't worry there was a safety gate so you couldn't fall out.
The bed was very comfortable and we slept great both nights we were there. There was a mini fridge but no coffee pot or microwave. The TV was old and outdated, and didn't have Hi-def.

There was an indoor pool with an outdoor sun deck. The pool area was huge, and just like the room spotless! They said they had a small exercise room, but we never looked at it. They have 24 hour coffee and tea down in the lobby. One of the best things that differentiated this hotel from others was that they provide you with breakfast in bed. Each night you get a card and you pick the things you want and the time you want it delievered. The items included: muffins, bagels, hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juices, coffee, tea, and pop.

The customer service was outstanding! I mentioned when I reserved the room that we were visting for our anniversary and to my surprise there was a bottle of champagne waiting on us in the room with a cute little note congratulating us on our anniversary.

The staff was genuinely friendly and would go over the top to make sure you were satisfied with your stay.

The location of this hotel is perfect. They are in the middle of town and within walking distance or a bike ride (they have complimentary bikes) to town or the beach. There is also a shuttle to the casino.

Room Tip: If you want a partial view of lake Michigan get one on the 3rd floor on the west side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just got back from our stay at The Harbor Grand. We tried to reserve a room at the Four Winds but they were sold out.....Thankfully we found this hotel! We had a late check in but everyone we encountered was fantastic! Such a cute little hotel that makes you feel right at home. The room we had was a king "village view" on the third floor. It was very nice and very clean. The windows opened up so we were able to get some fresh air throughout our room. The shower was great, there were two shower heads and it was huge.

The other couple we were with had a balcony "harbor view" and it too was very nice. It seemed that our room was much larger with the sitting area. Our friends room had a nice view but it was above the restaurant on the first floor and the fire pit below had a loud crowd...It only lasted until 11 when the restaurant closed though.

Cathy (the restaurant manager? Didn't catch her title) is fantastic! We chatted with her a while and she was very helpful with telling us about the hotels and what to do.

Complimentary Tea and Coffee in the lobby is very nice! The "breakfast in bed" is very nice too, you get to pick what you would like in the morning and the bring it to you when you request. We were able to enjoy our breakfast in our room in private!

If i had to "complain" about one thing it would have to be the bed. The bed was a bit hard for my taste and the pillows were also a bit stiff. Next time i'm just going to bring my own pillow...problem solved.

The location of the hotel is great....just over the bridge is the beach and right around the corner from the hotel is a strip of shops and cafes. We ate at Brewsters Italian Cafe and it was fantastic! We were told that in the summer you will have to pay for parking at the beach. Good thing the beach is within walking distance!

I would definitely stay here again. We can not wait to come back in the summer!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow if you like softer pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbor Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.