We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Timeout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbor Grand

Save Saved
You added The Harbor Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harbor Grand
111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Timeout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great overnight getaway from the Chicago crush. Great beds, breakfast basket, and a fireplace make for great therapy. Harbor view is a must any time of year. The Bentwood Tavern has a great creative chef in their sister hotel next door. Short walk to the beach but the beach is better in South Haven.

Room Tip: Higher the better on the harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    53
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
106
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile


This hotel definitely exceeded our expectations. We had a harbor view double on the lower level; we had an outdoor patio right by the lawn going down to the harbor. There were tall junipers on both sides, giving us privacy from other rooms. The room was impeccable, the beds comfortable, and the bedding and towels were luxurious. We enjoyed sitting in adirondack chairs near the water, getting coffee or tea round the clock and eating in the hotel restaurant. They serve 'breakfast in bed'. You select what you want a d when you want it the night before. Promptly at the appointed time, a friendly staff member Delia's a basket containing breakfast. It is enjoyable to eat in the room or on the patio.

The location is an easy walk to the beach, and right in the heart of downtown. It is also across from the Amtrak station in the event that is your chosen way to arrive. There are bicycles available free for guests. Each room has a DVD player and the hotel has free DVDs for checkout. The price is very fair for all that is provided.

We will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Harbor Grand and it exceeded our expectations. From check in to check out our stay was flawless. The staff, especially Terry was so pleasant and helpful. We had lots of questions about the area and they were more than happy to help us. We are already thinking about the next time we can visit. We stayed in a king room on the non-harbor side. I think it was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. At our request, they had a little fridge and microwave set up in the room prior to arrival. The hotel offers so many nice, complimentary touches - a breakfast basket delivered to your room, large selection of dvd's and bike rentals to name a few. We rented bikes twice and each time had a great ride through a lovely area of beautiful homes near the water. One of the days we visited the Round Barn Brewery and Lemon Creek Vineyard. We did not dine at the restaurant on site but did eat at Redamak's which was really yummy. After one of our bike rides we stopped at the sister property to check it out and it was really nice. We asked the front desk staff for a casual restaurant recommendation in the area and a super nice employee (Keenan?) suggested Rio's which did not disappoint. We will most definitely be back to the Harbor Grand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Harbor Grand. I wish we could have stayed longer. Our second-floor king room was wonderful, with a great view of the harbor and even a peek of Lake Michigan in the distance. I really enjoyed the warm colors and decor of the room, and the huge bathroom with whirlpool and walk-in shower was amazing!
We had a lovely dinner downstairs at the Terrace Room restaurant. The service was perfect and the food was delicious. Receiving the basket full of breakfast items at the designated time we had chosen the night before was a treat. And, while there's not a balcony off of the room, you can open the doors and there is a gate to close off the opening. We enjoyed having the doors open to see the great view of the harbor while eating our breakfast at the little table in the room.
The location is also great -- the entire area along the harbor is very scenic, and we were able to walk from the hotel right down to the gorgeous beach.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hope to return for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place was amazing! I have stayed at many hotels, and this one ranks near the top! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

This is a small hotel with approximately 55 rooms (3 floors). They do have a restaurant on the bottom level, but it is small. There were only 8 tables inside and I think a dozen or so out on the patio. So, if you would like to eat here you should make reservations.

We had a king room on the second floor that had a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The room and bathroom were SPOTLESS! The room overlooked the harbor and had sliding glass door so you could open it up and get fresh air, don't worry there was a safety gate so you couldn't fall out.
The bed was very comfortable and we slept great both nights we were there. There was a mini fridge but no coffee pot or microwave. The TV was old and outdated, and didn't have Hi-def.

There was an indoor pool with an outdoor sun deck. The pool area was huge, and just like the room spotless! They said they had a small exercise room, but we never looked at it. They have 24 hour coffee and tea down in the lobby. One of the best things that differentiated this hotel from others was that they provide you with breakfast in bed. Each night you get a card and you pick the things you want and the time you want it delievered. The items included: muffins, bagels, hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juices, coffee, tea, and pop.

The customer service was outstanding! I mentioned when I reserved the room that we were visting for our anniversary and to my surprise there was a bottle of champagne waiting on us in the room with a cute little note congratulating us on our anniversary.

The staff was genuinely friendly and would go over the top to make sure you were satisfied with your stay.

The location of this hotel is perfect. They are in the middle of town and within walking distance or a bike ride (they have complimentary bikes) to town or the beach. There is also a shuttle to the casino.

Room Tip: If you want a partial view of lake Michigan get one on the 3rd floor on the west side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just got back from our stay at The Harbor Grand. We tried to reserve a room at the Four Winds but they were sold out.....Thankfully we found this hotel! We had a late check in but everyone we encountered was fantastic! Such a cute little hotel that makes you feel right at home. The room we had was a king "village view" on the third floor. It was very nice and very clean. The windows opened up so we were able to get some fresh air throughout our room. The shower was great, there were two shower heads and it was huge.

The other couple we were with had a balcony "harbor view" and it too was very nice. It seemed that our room was much larger with the sitting area. Our friends room had a nice view but it was above the restaurant on the first floor and the fire pit below had a loud crowd...It only lasted until 11 when the restaurant closed though.

Cathy (the restaurant manager? Didn't catch her title) is fantastic! We chatted with her a while and she was very helpful with telling us about the hotels and what to do.

Complimentary Tea and Coffee in the lobby is very nice! The "breakfast in bed" is very nice too, you get to pick what you would like in the morning and the bring it to you when you request. We were able to enjoy our breakfast in our room in private!

If i had to "complain" about one thing it would have to be the bed. The bed was a bit hard for my taste and the pillows were also a bit stiff. Next time i'm just going to bring my own pillow...problem solved.

The location of the hotel is great....just over the bridge is the beach and right around the corner from the hotel is a strip of shops and cafes. We ate at Brewsters Italian Cafe and it was fantastic! We were told that in the summer you will have to pay for parking at the beach. Good thing the beach is within walking distance!

I would definitely stay here again. We can not wait to come back in the summer!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow if you like softer pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Referred to this hotel by overbooked casino hotel.
Stayed in third floor Harbor View King. Very nice accommodations although furniture a little worn.
Staff was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice, delivery in a basket a special touch.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
Free Parking, P...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Marina Grand Resort
Marina Grand Resort
#3 of 9 in New Buffalo
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
9.1 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#5 of 15 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
23.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Free Parking, B...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Harbor Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbor Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.