We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing getaway!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbor Grand

Save Saved
You added The Harbor Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harbor Grand
111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Orlando, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing getaway!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel while on business. Not wanting to stay at a chain, we opted for this beautiful place. The staff is more than accommodating and very pleasant. We had a king bed with fireplace and a view of the harbor. I'd highly recommend this room if visiting in the cooler months as we did, the fireplace kept us nice and warm! The bathroom has a whirlpool tub and separate large walk in shower-very nice! The biggest surprise was the breakfast delivered in a basket to our door, great start to the day and adorable! We asked for a late check out and due to the slow season could stay as late as 2pm, again, very accommodating. Highly recommend this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    54
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
106
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We visit Michigan often and this was our second stay to the Harbor Grand with two teenagers. You seriously couldn’t ask for anything more. The vicinity of the hotel is perfect. You’re within walking distance to the beach, the downtown, restaurants, etc.

The inn has plenty for kids/teens - a great pool and hottub, free bicycle rentals, free DVD’s and free smores in the evening. Breakfast delivered to your room is also included, as well as free coffee and/or tea 24/7 in the lobby.

If you’re traveling with kids, be sure to reserve a village view suite, as it has a separate bedroom and TV along with closet. The other room has a pullout bed and enough room for an inflatable bed and a second TV. The room does not overlook the harbor, but both the deck of the restaurant and pool has balconies which you can utilize anytime.

We ordered wine at their restaurant, but visited their sister hotel, Brenwood Tavern at the Marine Harbor, for dinner which was excellent. Brentwood Tavern has great outdoor seating, weather permitting.

Other area restaurants not to be missed include Brewster’s (great Italian food), Stray Dog (bar food and local hangout) and Redamak’s (famous burgers).

Wine tours and the Michigan City casino and outlet mall are all in close proximity.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was our second stay at Harbor Grand and it just keeps getting better. The service, amenities and staff are great. Complimentary ammenities include bicycles, breakfast delivered to your door, DVD's, pool/hot tub, internet, coffee/tea 24/7, smores on the patio and a staff that really wants you to enjoy yourself.

We use this facility as a base for exploring all the area has to offer, beaches, shopping, casinos, winerys and more. On one day we drove to nearby Michigan City and caught the commuter train to Chicago for the day. Less than $8 each way and it drops you right at Michigan and Randolph.

On checkout, their final question to us was "What can we do to make this better for you?" With that kind of service attitude, we will be back.

Room Tip: The harbor view lower level rooms have private patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We are a family of four with limited time to travel; however, we wanted to go somewhere for spring break. We picked The Harbor Grand since it is only about 100 miles away from our home in the suburbs of Chicago. Pros of staying here: wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, indoor pool and hot tub, walking distance from several New Buffalo restaurants and shops, close to major area attractions, free s'more kits by the fire pit, free bike and DVD rentals, 24-hour Ben and Jerry's for $5 a pint, and being a vehemently NON-morning person, I cannot stress enough my appreciation for the FREE continental breakfast in a picnic basket that was punctually delivered to our door every morning. I truly appreciated the unique touches of this hotel. The cons: I felt the room we stayed in was small (it was a harbor view room with two double beds and a private patio); beds felt stiff (althought it didn't bother me and no one else complained); the walls are thin (although it didn't really bother me after the first night); there isn't a real closet (it's an alcove with detachable hangers which I usually associate with cheap motels); the bathroom was large and spacious; however, it seemed unfinished to me because there were no towel bars by the sink to hang towels, no ledges by the bathtub to put soap and shampoo on, no towel/robe hook on the back of the door (there is one by the tub), and no clothesline on which to dry swim suits. However, these were minor (some even might even say quite petty) inconveniences; in truth, we were rarely in our rooms and only to sleep. Overall, we greatly enjoyed our stay at The Harbor Grand, would recommend it, and have made reservations for a summer weekend. Our kids (ages 12 and 8) really liked the hotel and spent a lot of time in the pool. One caveat is that we stayed at the hotel off-season: rates are considerably lower ($109-$199+/night compared to $300-$370+/night in season) and we have been told that the population soars from 3,000 residents to 5 to 10 times that number during the season. Not sure how pleasant it would be during a hot crowded summer. I guess we'll find out!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was our first time staying at Harbor Grand after staying several times at MarinaGrand witch is just down the street. Both hotels are terrific! The room at Harbor Grand was larger than Marina Grand with a living room and separate bedroom.I would suggest asking for a harbor view room because the others face the parking lot. This would be especially nice in the summer. There are restaurants in both hotels that have excellent food. However, the Harbor Grand restaurant doesn't open tll 5:00.We arrived early and walked over to Marina Grand to eat. As I said both restaurants are excellent. With lots of amenities and a short walk to the beach, it's great place for couples and families. We'll return again.

Room Tip: Great for a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was my 4th time at the Harbor Grand - it is a great jumping off place on my trips to Michigan. As always the room was terrific, the view is great, the pool is one of the best at a hotel and the breakfast is yummy. I actually visited the bar downstairs for the first time this visit and that was equally nice. Glanced at the menu and they have some nice items.

This place is one of my favorites. Highly recommended - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor above the pool for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Took one hour to get here from Chicago. The hotel is wonderful and a fair price for what you get. We stayed in a room with harbor view. The bed was a little hard, but comfortable for me. The fireplace was a nice touch but made the room very hot, but was nice with window open (I guess a huge energy waste!). The bathroom was nice with the jacuzzi that fits mostly just one person (we did manage to squeeze two in). The complimentary breakfast was nice - mostly continental, but brought to your room. Hotel has many nice touches. You can Ben and Jerry's for $ 5.00 a pint to take to your room (cheaper than in the local store!). We ate at the restaurant and it was good, but the space is small and you better reserve, if interested. We also ate at the their sister restaurant in the Marina Harbor Hotel to which you can walk. Enjoyed that restaurant much better. There are a lot of fun things to do in the area for a couple of days. Really enjoyed Three Oaks. There was one of the greatest antique/galleries there with nice modern stuff. Could have bought the entire store. The brewery/distillery there was fun to explore. We also used the hotel pool which was fun a little bit. If you need a quick break for a decent price, consider staying here.

Room Tip: I would go for a room with Harbor View vs. one of the suites which have a view of the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Harbor Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbor Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.