We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor Country” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18800 Laporte Road, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Country Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Harbor Country”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lobby and pool area appeared very nice, however, room was a different story. Peeling wallpaper, dirty bathroom floor, uncomfortable beds.
We checked in late, 9:00 p.m. and only one car in parking lot, when we came back later that evening, there were 3 cars. Noticed other hotels in area with full parking lots.

Room Tip: Not worth it. Would not stay again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    25
    14
    19
See reviews for
23
38
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I must admit that I was skeptical making my reservations based off of other reviews but I was pleasantly surprised by the Harbor Country Hotel. The staff is very helpful and nice. The pool area was great (the have painted a beautiful mural on the walls). The rooms were clean and I do agree that they are a little out-dated but it looks like the hotel is making improvements. For instance our room had a new tub surround in the bathroom. There is free wi-fi and they have a free continental breakfast which is nice (I find it funny when people slam the continental breakfast-bagels and coffee people!). My recommendations are as follows: new bed mattresses as they are not the most comfortable and all new linens, towels and phones for the rooms. This hotel also offers a AAA discount which was great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as part of a wedding party from 1st-4th June, and i have to say i throurally enjoyed the place!
The rooms were a little dated, but comfortable with all needs met, coffeemaker, iron, hairdryer etc.
The maid service wasnt every day, so one day we had to tidy the room ourselves.
The air con works great, and the beds were comfy, tv has several channels, so there is always something to watch, if thats what you came to do.
Breakfast was continental, so there is something to suit everyone, its not a luxury breakfast, just something to grab quickly while going somewhere, coffee is on tap throughout the day in the lobby.
The staff i came accross were all lovely and willing to help, bar one, a tall brunette who looks surly and mean, however when she was approcahed she was helpful. There are several who will go above and beyond to be nice and helpful, one even opeened the swimming facilities so that me and a group of friends could use the hot tub after hours! (we are talking 3am here)
The place has nice grounds and i found it a pleasure to stay in, i cannot understand what these bad reviews are all about....I regularly review the places i stay honestly and not in a petty way ( oh the door hinges squeaked, there was a stain on the ceiling) and feel this place is deserving of good reviews, everything is clean, the staff are nice and i had a lovely time here.
Also, because there were many of us i seen the insides of loads of rooms, and they are all pretty similar, clean, well appointed just a little dated.
One of the chairs broke in one room, but reporting this to the front desk had it resolved quickly.
I enjoyed myself an think its a decent place to stay, if you dont bad reviews put you off.

on a side note, i would like to mention the really nice, super cute employee who worked behind the front desk, always helpful and easy on the eye, was reading Men and From Mars, Women Are From Venus ( on his gf's instructions - Passive agressive much?!) I think managment need to recognise his hard work, he was an absolute pleasure to deal with.

Id come back in heartbeat, thank you to all staff who made our trip such a good one.

Room Tip: The restaurant just round the corner off the freeway, Jimmys is absolutely delicious!!! Try it, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay. It was kind of sad to see this because it was a nice facility but poorly maintained, with little or no service.
Let's see, I guess nothing major, but the expanded continental breakfast included refrigerated pancakes next to the microwave. There was cereal, but this morning, no milk. Not even in the service refrigerator. The breakfast area had not been cleaned, same dirty towel from yesterday.
In the room, the remote control didn't work on the TV. There was soap and shampoo, but from another chain. They didn't clean the room after the first day.
It was supposed to be no smoking, but on arrival the front desk staff (the only employee there) was outside smoking next to the front door. It was supposed to be no dogs, but there were dogs left in a room and being walked outside. The beds were OK and room fairly clean, it's just kind of too bad, its a great area, this is a pretty good facility, just needs service and maintenance. We seldom complain, this was just dissapointing. There are nicer places in the area, we won't go back here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stopped by overnight. Nearby motels were full but Harbour Country was available with some but not very many guests. The room was very clean, quite spacious and we slept well. Sheets, tissues, toiletrie items could have been more luxurious but overall quite acceptable. Long bench and luggage rack had room for 3 suitcases -- wish all motels would do the same. The breakfast was poor, however. Nothing good to be said for the bread items, tasteless orange juice, no hot items...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The hotel seemed clean enough, but the bed was uncomfortable (it sagged in the middle). I never had a problem with the staff personally, but checking in one night, and at breakfast the next day I could hear raised voices and what sounded like a manager going on and on about the hotel's money problems. The breakfast. Although it may meet the legal definition of breakfast, that was no breakfast. A bin of cereal, pitcher of milk and rubbery frozen pancakes you have to microwave. The orange juice was watered down, we waited 20 minutes for someone to refill the empty milk pitcher (because the only 2 employees were taking their smoke break together). The TV only had 10 channels. The upside: Good water pressure, and 3 minutes from a casino.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My friend and I decided to meet in New Buffalo for a girls' weekend. She favors very cheap lodging and I try to do more middle of the road, so we stayed in separate places. Since this was still the tail end of the summer season, rooms were scarce and high in price in the area. While not my first choice, I was favorably impressed with the Harbor Country Hotel in several areas. I was able to check in early, which I always appreciate, and on the day of my departure, I was given a late checkout without asking for it. The front desk staff was welcoming and helpful, giving suggestions on some events going on that weekend. I also liked the welcoming feel of the lobby, where there was a comfortable seating area, large screen TV and a computer free for guest usage. Breakfast was included in my room price, though since I was meeting my friend, I went out for breakfast and can't comment on the quality.

The negatives as I saw them were (apparently) no free WiFi in the room (I didn't need it this trip, but most people expect it); a mattress a bit soft and slightly sagged to one side, and no fridge or microwave in the room. I mention these items based mostly on the price paid ($160): at that price I'd expect those items in any room. Having said that, the room was clean, comfortable and spacious, the location ideal for our weekend activities and the staff a delight. I'd stay there again if I weren't able to get into the nearby Comfort Suites (where I can accrue points and status).

Room Tip: I asked for a room on an upper floor and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo

Address: 18800 Laporte Road, New Buffalo, MI 49117 (Formerly Harbor Country Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Buffalo
New Buffalo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.