We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a night's stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11500 Holiday Dr., New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Freeport, IL
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a night's stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was going to a wedding and needed a room for the night near New Buffalo and most everything was already booked. This hotel was convenient-right off the highway-plus minutes away from Lake MIchigan and downtown New Buffalo. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. Pretty good selection for breakfast. If you need to stay in this area-this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbumi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review, We were glad to know how you enjoyed your stay
with us in New Buffalo, Mi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
31
47
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Marys, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel was conveniently located to the highway and to the attractions in the area. As far as cleanliness, it wasn't the best. We found trash from the prior occupant around the floor and the chairs had hair and dust on them. We didn't want to use them. However, the beds were clean. The complimentary breakfast was adequate. We were surprised at the real bacon on the bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Annie801,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so glad you liked the convenient location of our property. I would like to apologize for the issues you had with the cleanliness of your room accommodations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here one night in July on the way back from Detroit in order to avoid rush hour traffic into Chicago. It's not fancy or charming, but for what it is I think it was pretty nice. It's spotless and comfortable with nice public areas, including the pool which was clean and pleasant. I guess it's a bit weird for some that it's right off the lobby but it didn't really bother me. The water temperature was comfortable and it wasn't crowded when I went for a swim before dinner. Our room was huge with a big bathroom, but we had an accessible room so I'm not sure what a regular room would be like. The little buffet breakfast was fine, not a big selection but a decent enough variety of stuff and what I had tasted good. I'd say it would be great for kids. The eating area was really crowded when I went down, but I took my breakfast back to the room anyway so it didn't matter to me. The ladies at reception were very nice and helpful as were the housekeeping ladies I ran into. The biggest problem is the elevator--since it's also the service elevator you can stand there waiting for it forever. The hotel is waaay out of town so I'm not sure I would pick it for a weekend in New Buffalo, but again for families with children it's probably a better option than say a B&B, although I thought it was a bit pricey for a Holiday Inn. We ate at Jimmy's for lunch and it was really good, terrific drinks and delicious sandwiches. It's on the way into New Buffalo, a bit outside of town and I'd highly recommend for a nice quiet bite to eat.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room if you want to avoid the loooong waits for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Old, musty, bad smelling hotel. The air is heavy with a combination of air fresheners, must, and pets.

I have allergies, but believe it or not this was the best option (because all the other hotels use down feathers and I am allergic). Staff did follow through on a few simple requests, like vacuuming the curtains and shampooing the carpet. I appreciated their efforts, but I literally felt sick the moment I opened the door to the room. Even my husband, who does not have allergies, could feel the heaviness of the air. We ran the air conditioner for an hour and I still felt horrid, so we left at midnight and went across the street to the Comfort Inn. I was on the verge of an asthma attack.

I asked for my money back the next day and was refused. Melody was rude seemingly implying that because she followed through with the housekeeping requests I should have been fine. She doesn't seem to quite get that asthma is a medical condition. I felt the hotel should have at least refunded me 50% and get Melody a little training working with people.

Comfort Inn, on the other hand, was quite clean, new and decent for the money

Room Tip: When they say they never have pets on the third floor, don't believe them. This is the pet hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear emilyjj,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you about the old, musty, bad smell and the poor customer service provided by our front desk which was unacceptable. I understand the discomfort this caused you. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft wayne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Clean rooms with decent breakfast. Location was excellent. Near casino, right off highway and yet only 3 minutes to town/beach. we had family of four in two suites. Price was too high for space but we traveled at high use time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

A co-worker and I stayed here for two nights while visiting customers in nearby Michigan City. My room with a king bed was large and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Probably had the most comfortable pillows I have used in awhile. Only negative was the large number of families with small children that stayed at the hotel the week we were there. Not an ideal place to stay during the summer months for a business traveler unless you don't mind the crowds or some noise. I though the hotel was a little overpriced as compared to other HI Express hotels. There are a number of good restaurants in New Buffalo that are very close-by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed in a King Suite. Very clean, nice room. Staff was nice. Price was good. Breakfast bar helpful for us slow risers except its over at 9:30. I think that's just so you don't show up at 10:30 and stay til 11:30. We never were rushed out. Pool was decent. Looked at a few other places we were thinking of staying and they looked a bit run down. The Harbor Grand looked very nice but too pricey for just sleeping there. Bed, pillows comfortable and clean. All in all very satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator. Book a King Suite, nice to have fridge and microwave. Third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo

Address: 11500 Holiday Dr., New Buffalo, MI 49117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of New Buffalo is a premier hotel in Harbor Country, offering excellent accommodations in a resort atmosphere near the shore of Lake Michigan, within 1 1/2 miles to the beach. The convenient location at exit 1 off I-94 is close to the new Four Winds Casino, The Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets in Michigan City, Indiana, Warren Dunes and less than an hour's drive to South Bend and Notre Dame University. It is a great location for visitors arriving to or leaving Chicago, approximately an hour from the greater Chicagoland area and within close proximity to the Michigan Wine Trail, including Tabor Hill, St. Julian, Free Run and The Round Barn, as well as other wineries. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast, free local phone calls and free high-speed Internet access. Visit New Buffalo, MI, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo Hotel New Buffalo
Holiday Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.